We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Really pleased with our stay at apex city of London, great location, comfy spacious bed & a good size room. We would definitely stay here again.

If you are coming on a Friday/Saturday night the restraunts around the area get very busy so I recommend that you book unless you want to wait until 10pm to have some food!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lucy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,430
    1,050
    164
    36
    18
See reviews for
521
1,932
166
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Purchased from Travel zoo, so had the room at a discounted rate. It was beautiful, great facilities, furniture etc were really lovely. Staff couldnt have been more helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I always stay at an Apex when I am in Edinburgh so I thought that I would give the Apex London a go. Great Hotel lovely polite friendly and helpful staff. I only wish Apex were all over the UK as I would always chose them. Excellent value for money and consistently excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely double room that was very spacious for London hotels. The bathroom was huge with a bath and seperate shower with Elemis toiletries. Only criticism was the sink has nowhere to keep the soap and it was impossible to put it down - we had to use a glass in the end! We had breakfast in the restaurant which was okay but I object to being auto charged a tip for someone to deliver me cold, burnt toast and a pot of coffee. Breakfast was good quality and tasty.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NikkiandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Saty for the business trip. The only really good thing about this hotel is a location. Close the tube and London City. A new building is constructed nearby and works are starts at 7.30, so it was really annoying when you try to sleep after hard drinking night with clients. Right at the check-in is was charged for the whole stay + extras which i might teke.... And tugether with all that - even a breakfast is not included. That is something i never met even in 3 start hotels.

Room Tip: Probably there are none as from the one side of a hotel a new building is constructed and on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Christian V

I am sorry that you feel that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. While it is true that there is building works taking place near the hotel, the times and volume of noise is strictly controlled by the City of London. We do also have many rooms that face away from the new building sites. It is our standard practice to authorise a credit card on arrival for the amount of the room and any extras. This also facilitates a smooth checkout for many of our guests. I can only apologise if it was not explained fully and correctly to you on check in. While we do not include breakfast in all of our rates to give customers flexibility, there is always the option to include breakfast in a rate.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Kind regards

Robert Flinter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the end of November as a late wedding anniversary getaway/Christmas shopping trip. When we arrived at the hotel (just round the corner from Tower Hill tube station), the door was opened for us by a member of staff on the door and we were greeting by a very friendly, very efficient receptionist. We received a £10 voucher to use on drinks or food as we had booked directly through them and a month in advance. Our room wasn't quite ready as we arrived around noon, but she took out number and text us when it was ready. We left our bags at the front desk and they were waiting in our room when we arrived back at the hotel.

The room we booked was a Superior Double Room with small balcony for £129 for the night, when we got into our room, we were actually given a Deluxe Double room with seating area and huge balcony with seating and parasol at no extra charge! The room was spacious, there were complimentary crisps, biscuits, jellybeans and drinks and in the bathroom there was an array of Elemis products to use. The bathroom was big with a walk-in shower and seperate bath.

The room was air conditioned which was a little noisy but not enough to keep us awake, and the room was soundproof. There wasn't much lighting in the room itself, but there was in the bathroom.

Before heading out for the evening, we headed to the bar for a drink before deciding where to go and ordered a bottle of Bollinger. The staff were very friendly and attentive, they even brought over a dish of nuts and a some strawberries. Very nice touch.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, we popped into The Liberty Bounds, Tower Hill round the corner.

All in all, a very ejoyable stay and have been recommending to friends. It's the attention to detail and attentiveness of the staff that make a lasting impression. Very good value for money (if booking in advance and directly through the hotel). Will definitely be staying there next time we're in London.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe Double for extra space, seating area and balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have stayed many times (over 50) at the Apex London Wall, and enjoyed it. This was my first time at the London City venue and it was terrible.

In summary: it was a corporate booking secured on a corporate credit card. My wife arrived before I did and was forced to allow pre-authorisation (for the wrong - higher - amount) on her personal credit card. Entirely inappropriate.

When booking , directly with the hotel, I was asked if I wanted a quiet room, and answered yes. Had they said that this would be in the basement, with the only natural light from a filthy skylight at one end of the room, I would have objected.

The quietness was a fallacy. Neither my wife nor I slept all night as the heating / air conditioning unit started and stopped, whined noisily and generally made a racket all night.

There were urine stains behind the lavatory seat.

£312 entirely wasted and a complaint is on its way.

Room Tip: Ideally choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertFlinter, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear aj t

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations or compare favourably with our sister property.
I would like to apologise for any confusion regarding your wife's credit card upon check in. We normally authorise a credit card for the room rate plus extras on check if the account is to be paid directly. If this was not explained sufficiently, I apologise, and I can assure you I will follow up with the team.
I appreciate you pointing out the issue with the air conditioning unit and other issues and I can assure you that we are dealing with it and it is not indicative of our normal standards.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Robert Flinter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,067 in London
1,869 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,394 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#119 of 1,067 in London
1,301 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#245 of 1,067 in London
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing