We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel was nice but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel was nice but....”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff was friendly and prompt however the restaurant and bar staff although friendly showed little to no urgency. The hotel was well kept. Was in walking distance to the tube and dlr which worked out well for the convention I was attending.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Crimson1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,382
    1,037
    160
    35
    18
See reviews for
502
1,903
165
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here with my partner just before Christmas for the second time, the service and cleanliness was as good as the first however, quite disappointed with the food. It was gorgeous on first stay last September but rather disappointing (and expensive for what was served) this time. Breakfast (Continental) was just fab, no need for a full English with so much on choice. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We went to the hotel to celebrate our recent wedding anniversary and to visit our son who lives in London.
Location is great if you don't need to be in the centre of the city and don't mind travelling into the heart of the city. Saying that there is still plenty of places to eat with in walking distance either side of the river.

As it was our anniversary we were upgraded to a deluxe room with a large balcony and a view of tower bridge. Along with the complimentary bottle of Prosseco what better start to a weekend away.

The room was clean and well equipped and all guests get complimentary Wi-Fi which I think is an essential.
We tried to use Guest services to book a nearby restaurant but it was closed. However they suggested that we could walk over to the other side of the river and we were not disappointed by their recommendation.
This is a great priced hotel with a good location

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for a weekend in January. Absolutely beautiful room, clean and lovely accessories (Elemis bath products). Very handy to have a fridge in the room too.

Amazing view of Tower Bridge out on the balcony.
Very comfy large beds.

Great shower and separate bath.

Room service excelled. Lovely food and prompt service.
Breakfast was also very good - lots on offer. Very tasty cooked breakfast.

Easy walk to most places with Tower Hill tube station a very short walk away. Reception organised a taxi for us which came as scheduled.

Gym looked well equipped - but did not use

Could not fault the hotel. Will stay here again on our next trip to London

Room Tip: top floor. upgrade to balcony room with lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda82012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We visited the hotel for my birthday weekend. It is in the City of London and the whole area is fairly quiet at the weekend, so if you are after nightlife this may not be the best hotel for you. The hotel itself is well suituated, only a few minutes walk from Fenchurch street station and Tower Hill tube station. We were given a free upgrade to a deluxe room when we checked in, which was spacious and very comfortable. Service was excellent throughout our stay and the atmosphere fairly relaxed. Breakfast was good, but fairly steep in price, luckily ours was included in our room rate.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chuckiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a delux room with a balcony.
Beds are large and comfortable. Elemis toiletries provided and very appreciated! Bose sound system and ipod dock there for use also.
Only a two minute walk from Tower Hill Tube station. The area is very quiet so you do need to get the tube into the centre of town for dinner/going out but nice to come back to a good sleep in a quiet area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AileenM0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Spent a one night stay at this lovely hotel. Very close to major attractions and stations for getting around. Hotel staff were very professional. We sent a message to the hotel letting them know the reason for our stay was a special occasion and they upgraded our room, left a bottle of bubbly on ice in our room and hand wrote a note wishing us a special stay with them. Lovely toiletries provided, plus dressing gowns and slippers. Bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. We plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are celebrating a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lougrali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#43 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#52 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#250 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#119 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing