We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Gettaway Spot; Must Love the Circle Line”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #89 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Gettaway Spot; Must Love the Circle Line”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a fabulous week at the Apex City of London. The Jr Suite on the 6th floor was very, very nice, totally spotless, huge bed in a large bedroom, separate living room with all the amenities including a Bose sound system. (Of note we didn't hear a peep out of any other guests) Our room overlooked St Olaf's churchyard alas. So we missed the Tower Bridge view. Room service was prompt and well done - meal showed up quick and hot. Addendum restaurant was just fine at the end of the week when we just couldn't face another packed pub or trip on the tube battling crowds. As a tourist you're going to have to love the Tube since getting to central London locations is going to require line changes. No elegant way to get back easily so plan accordingly. But the hotel was an oasis of calm - despite the construction across the street that has removed the garden - right adjacent to the Tower. The staff was friendly, courteous, professional, and very helpful. Even brought us a pot of tea while we waited for our car to carry us to Heathrow. Overall a very nice experience and we would certainly go back. We did eat breakfast elsewhere (Liberty Bounds is around the corner, cheap and plentiful for a full English.) as others have noted. You WILL enjoy yourself here.

Room Tip: If you want a view I guess you're going to have to ask outright for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,493
    1,090
    176
    39
    18
See reviews for
567
1,976
170
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sundeland tyne and wear
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

An amazing hotel. Spotless throughout. Beautiful bathroom with lovely products to use refilled daily. Beds really comfortable. No noise overnight. Two minutes walk to tube makes it a perfect location. Came for my daughter's birthday and they made her feel very special with lots of touches.
Will definitely be back. Do not hesitate to book this is an honest review

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank janetteproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

There aren't many critical things to say about this hotel, I certainly never had any about the accommodation or staff, I had a great time there and would recommend it. I just recommend you eat out to save money and get larger portions if that's your thing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulemwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

If you want a bit of luxury & to spoil yourself this is the hotel. Super big bed to lose yourself in.Was a bit expensive but ideal if you want that little bit extra. Ideally positioned near Tower Hill tube & handy for DLR too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila_and_Allan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Location was brilliant
Staff were really friendly

we stayed for my wifes 30th birthday. The hotel upgraded us and gave us a free birthday cake on arrival which was a very nice touch. The facilities were excellent and the location was a couple of tube stops from everything. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Right from coming through the door they could not have been more accommodating. Lovely room, with complimentary extras, a great touch. We had booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package, the meal choices from a set menu. This was the only time I felt a little disappointed but only because the bar had been raised so high by them. Only two starter choices and three mains, food was a little lack lustre on presentation, but flavour was good. Restaurant was cold, a few of us kept our coats on whilst dinning, and the chairs were a little low for the table. However overall the service was exceptional in the restaurant and the bar. I have given the same feedback to the hotel and was pleasantly surprised to receive a personal email back a rarity these days. Would highly recommend, but would have dinner of the a la carte menu. Oh and location, right next to Tower Bridge is an added bonus, with underground five minutes walk away.

Room Tip: A higher floor may give you a view of Tower Bridge, but not certain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliflump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We choose the Apex to have a week-end break and we were not disappointed. I told them when I made a booking that we were coming for a special occasion so they gave us a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room, nice start! When we entered the room, we found a welcome card and a box of chocolates in our room!! The room was spacious and nicely decorated, we had a sofa to watch the TV and they have a selection of DVDs you can watch free of charge. We had a very good night sleep, the bed was super comfy and the room quiet even if it was overlooking the street.
I booked a package with breakfast and dinner and we really enjoyed the food we had in the evening. I especially liked the soup of the day (cauliflower) and the crumble (pear). The staff were friendly and helpful, the atmosphere of the restaurant is calm and relaxing, exactly what I was looking for.
The breakfast was definitely one of the best experience. We had the full English breakfast included so we could choose a dish from their menu. I had the egg benedict and my partner the egg florentine, both were excellent, on top of that we had all the food they have on the buffet (pastries, selection of breads, cheeses, cooked meats, fruits, etc). In many hotels like this one they usually put scrambled eggs and bacon on the buffet, that's why I really liked the choice of a la carte hot dishes.
We wanted to visit the tower of London after breakfast and asked for the opening time, they directly offered to storage our bags. It was very convenient so we didn't have to carry our bags during the visit.
The location is perfect, few minutes from the tower and tower hill station.
So altogether it was a very good stay, nice hotel with friendly and attentive staff, I will definitely recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilou1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#59 of 1,069 in London
3,517 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,069 in London
1,934 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,069 in London
3,733 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,069 in London
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing