We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was brilliant. Good sized room, and bathroom with complimentary elemis, and drinks and snacks. The continental breakfast was lovely and staff very helpful. I think the location is the best bit, so close to Tower Bridge and The Tower of London and good eateries and bars. Wonderful stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,382
    1,037
    160
    35
    18
See reviews for
502
1,903
165
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a lovely wedding night but no thanks to the hotel. We had asked for a bottle of champagne to be in out room but nothing. This was on the special request form when booking. Maybe the hotel don't read them.
Check in was ok. No hassle. Room seemed lovely. Until we tried to open the window for some air. Some dozy notice about asking a member of staff. TO OPEN A WINDOW. Laughable.
We flopped on the bed exhausted and the next thing is some one is knocking at the door. Obviously we didn't answer but low and behold she let her self in. Dunno what she said as she was foreign and we couldn't understand a word. Why do hotels employ people that can't even speak the language ? Anyway, half asleep I grunted at her and off she popped.
The TV took about three hours to figure out. Bed very comfy. In fact the room was great, bar the windows. Breakfast was superb. Fresh, hot and perfectly cooked. Location suited us perfectly but we would not stay there again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolanrex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the Apex this Valentine ’s Day and had a wonderful time, Having stayed at her sister Hotel before, we knew the high standards Apex hotels provide and we weren’t disappointed.
We were on the top floor looking out onto Tower Bridge and the Thames. The room was excellent, with an espresso machine, robes etc...., and they kindly placed flower petals on the table and bed to mark the special day.
We also had some friends from Canada that came over to England and we recommended that they also stay at the Apex, Unfortunately they booked much later and they had a smaller room than ours.
The only criticism I have is in the restaurant, I would not recommend it. The food was cold and had to be sent back and we were rushed to place our order. Having said that I would return, I just wouldn’t dine there.
Unlike her sister Hotel the Apex London Wall, the Bar area isn’t as nice. But is available and as always the Staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Try and book the Balcony. Although I wasn't impressed with the Resturant the other staff more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtriangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Initially very disappointed with room - view of what can only be described as a building site 5 paces away! Reluctantly complained, and after some discussion we were shifted to another room. After visiting friends came back to find water was stone cold. In the morning, complained again (I'm in my 50s and have only done this once before) and were moved again... to a lovely room. People who dealt with complaint were extremely professional and very understanding. From then on in no issues at all and breakfast, drinks etc were super. These things happen and in a very busy hotel you have to understand they sometimes happen to you! No grudges and would stay again on the back of an impressive customer care philosophy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I won't bore with a long diatribe, suffice to say this hotel is easily the best hotel I have stayed in in London during the last 40 years. Great room with a massive balcony, unbeatable restaurant with a magnificent breakfast. Good bar, and the service was magnificent, probably the most helpful staff I have eVer encountered. The reception staff are exemplary.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony, and look out for bargain offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location of the hotel was perfect for tourists visiting London as it is close to Tower of London and the public transportation.
Breakfast was good.
Room was a decent size for being in the city.
Bed was too hard for our taste.
Bathroom: No ventilation so it felt a little stuffy and had a slight moldy odor.
WiFi was great and worked everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited London May 3 through 7 and had a wonderful time. Hotel was extremely nice and hotel staff very attentive. Location was perfect. It is well within walking distance to Tower of London. Very near underground station and several very good restaurants in the area. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#43 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#52 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#250 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#119 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing