We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel soooo much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #83 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2008

I previously stayed here in June 2006 and thought it was one of the best hotels so I rebooked in as I thought highly of it before!
The staff attitude: nothing is to much of a bother to them. They are polite, well mannered and would go out their way to help you!

We had a deluxe king room and was bigger than what I imagined!

We paid a good rate for the hotel, we ae re booked in for 4 weeks time!

Its in a great location ... to catch tube, buses and the thames clipper which I highly recommend rather than tube as you get to see some sites of london. (which was recommended by a MET officier!)

I love this hotel... roll on 4 weeks!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkle_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,182 - 3,188 of 4,168 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2008

Quick check in, easy to get into room. For a London hotel, in the centre, the room was a good size. The bathroom was huge for the UK, with a large shower and a separate bath. The shower was a power shower - the first in the UK? What bliss!!!

Room nicely decorated but in business neutral style, not the stuff that memories are made of. Comfy bed. Didn't like the pillows. Location a bit empty at the weekend, but easy to get to livelier places and there was an excellent Italian (no pizza) within walking distance.

Excellent, if I needed to be on that side of London, would book again immediately.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cal1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Had a brand new room, in the brand new wing of the hotel. The room was clean, as it should be, being it was brand new, and was quite comfortable. The TV was at kind of a strange angle to the bed, but wasn't that much of a concern. The bathtub was huge, but unfortunately could not get water hot enough for a bath - although the shower was hot. Room service was prompt and prices were reasonable. Located just steps away from Tower Bridge tube station. Great location for a business trip, but might not recommend for someone vacationing in London.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissambz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Well located, close to London Tower, a bit far from tourist center (45' walking, which in fact is nothing!).
Staff very very friendly, helping us in any moment.
The room was confortable and very clear.
It's a fair price for quality received, which is not very common in London!.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank INDIANU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Apex in October whilst visiting our daughter. At £115 per night the hotel was extremely good value by London standards. In a very pleasant location near the Tower of London and St Katharine Dock the hotel is convenient for many of the more interesting London's sights and only a short Tube trip to the West End. Our room was a good size with a very large modern bathroom, a sofa and a good quality TV/CD/DVD set up. Unusually for London there was very little traffic noise as the hotel is situated in a quiet side street. We would definitely recommend this and we have booked it again for our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brillo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

A very nice hotel, great location, nice rooms with loads of rooms, however makesure you get a room with a view! I only stayed for one night and had to make time to see the local attactions of London Bridge and Tower of London, both within 5 minuets walk, the only let down was the price of (GBP) £230.00 per night, but you do have to pay for a good hotel in London.

Will I stay there again, probably not unless I win the lottery!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank robclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel that was in a good location and we delighted with the Apex! About a 3 minute walk from Tower Hill tube station we found the Apex. We arrived quite early and were able to check in and leave our bags before heading off exploring for the day. All the staff we encountered during our stay were friendly and efficient. We had previously stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Southwark and paid much the same price for the Apex but the difference in standards was huge. The hotel is bright and modern with super kingsize beds and fabulous showers! We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel as we were out and about all the time but the hotel would suit those who want to hang around a bit more as the bar and restaurant areas are very inviting. There is also a gym for those feeling energetic. We had a continental breakfast included in our rate and this was very substantial with cereals, breads, pastries, fresh fruits, meats and cheeses on offer. We had a look at the cooked menu and this was substantial offering everything from Kippers, eggs benedict etc to pancakes, french toast and the full english! We didn't sample the restaurant in the evening but it looks good and has excellent reviews. All in all I'd recommend the Apex to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in London. Take time to visit The Hung Drawn and Quartered Pub around the corner. It's pretty quiet around London on Sunday's but we found Wetherspoons down the road to be very welcoming!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnymac74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#52 of 1,081 in London
2,083 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#68 of 1,081 in London
3,804 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#232 of 1,081 in London
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £117 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. Dedicated conference and meeting rooms provide well-equipped and convenient venues alongside a 24-hour gym. Plus, PURE Spa & Beauty offers you the chance to relax and be pampered with a wide range of treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing