We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break away ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #85 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here at the end of July and had a fabulous time. The staff, as mentioned in most reviews, are amazing . We had just arrived and headed up to our room when we got a knock at the door and presented with a birthday cake and card for my husbands birthday. We also got a free upgrade on check in too. Very sweet and most appreciated. The room was beautiful, all mod cons and no complaints at all. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. The location is brilliant, close to London bridge and the tower hill tube stop. Lots of nice places to eat close by too. I recommend All Bar One on the corner. We had a lovely breakfast there one morning, really good French toast!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D, General Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Joanne S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to London to celebrate such a special occasion. We were delighted that you enjoyed the quality of your complimentary upgraded room product and the added extra of a birthday cake for your husband's birthday. We hope that these little extras went some way in making the stay that bit more special.

Thank you very much for such glowing comments regarding our team. We are very fortunate to have such committed and passionate people working with us and they were delighted that their efforts in ensuring a personal approach made for a memorable trip.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon and do remember when booking to visit our direct website for our best rates and package deals.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 3,990 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here in a family room and we weren't disappointed. Comfy beds, spacious enough rooms. Loads of complimentary items, rooms cleaned daily and always asked if we needed anything else if staff caught us in our room later on in day. Ate 1 night in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the food and ordered b/fast in our room on our last morning. Came on time and was delicious (only thing we didn't like was the scrambled egg my daughter ordered but then kids got free b/fast so that made up for that) All staff were polite and really lovely to talk to. Overall I can't fault this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Family Deluxe room on 5th floor was facing a building site but we were not bothered by view as out m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I booked the Apex City Hotel to celebrate my partner's birthday, upon arrival at the reception we checked in and were greeted with a warm welcome by friendly staff who were very customer focused. We were also very pleasantly surprised when they advised us that due to celebrating my partner's birthday they upgraded us to a superior suite for free!

Upon entering the room, it was lovely, a balcony with the a view of the tower bridge in the distance, very comfy bed with excellent technology and shower facilities.

We let the room to explore London and on our return they staff had place a box of chocolates and a card in the room to wishing my girlfriend a happy birthday, it was a very thoughtful gesture.

I also requested, prior to booking, that they source a birthday cake and bring it up to the room in the morning at 9am. At 9am the next day we had a gentle knock on the door, allowing me to sneak up and get the cake, candles and all to surprise my girlfriend, they didn't even charge for the cake even though I was willing to pay!

Overrall, a very pleasant experience, friendly staff, extremally customer focused - would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireFarmer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Really nice hotel in the middle of the city. If there was any criticism than it would be around staff and technology. So I could not have a conference call easily as my phone did not work The offered me that I can call out without any charges. The bar staff clearly needs to step up a gear (not all of them). This means, that I waited one day 30 minutes outside the bar without anyone noticing. I then had to go inside to tell them that I was there. The food is good when you order it from the real dinner menu and not from the snack menu. (From 6 pm). One Morning at breakfast they did not notice that I did not have any coffee and I had to ask them if I could get some. And finally: I had a very dark room, so maybe explore first what room it is you are getting (and what the view is). But I also met staff that went over the odds to find me addresses of Restaurants, etc...

Room Tip: Ask for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marybee1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The City is underserved with decent places to stay. Sure... there's a few hotels in the same area as the Apex, down towards Tower Hill (the likes of the Novotel, the Grange and the Double Tree) and there's the Tower Bridge Hilton over the river if you're willing to travel a bit further..... but for me the Apex clinches it (and I’ve stayed in them all over the last few years). Here's my reasons..... it’s close to the action, you can be on Fenchurch Street in less than a minute and most places in the lower part of the City inside of ten. It has a good restaurant and bar if you want to eat-in (the burger is always good, but the a la carte is nice too), and it’s close to a few good pubs and eateries if you want to go for a wander (ranging from spit-and-sawdust joints like the Hung Drawn and Quartered - 2 mins walk, through the high street chains like Wagamama, Pizza Express and GBK - 4 mins. and a couple of white table cloth places like Brasserie Blanc - 1 min round the corner). For those coming to sightsee rather than work – it’s a short walk to the Tower of London, the river taxi pier and Tower Hill tube. It has a decent enough gym in the basement, which is never too crowded and has free weights as well as CV equipment. The bedrooms, even the lower end ones, are spacious and the bathrooms all have a large walk-in shower with decent toiletries to avoid bringing everything with you. The staff are super-friendly, from the team behind the desk through to the guys in the bar and restaurant. So, if you’re looking for the best of the hotels in the city / Tower of London area then, for me, you can’t go wrong with the Apex.

Room Tip: Higher floors have some balconies, which are nice (but I think you have to pay). The newer side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank west_dan_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in a City Double Room for a weekend away. Very nice and spacious room, in a central Location. Nice modern hotel with all the facilities you would expect. Perfect location for exploring the city of London. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlin_5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for two weeks in July 2014. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable. Large selection of TV channels and DVDs you can borrow. Good location and base for my many meetings during the working week. Many restaurants to choose from during the week in the area but it is very quiet at the weekend with many of the restaurants and shops not open. Close to the Thames and underground stations. The staff were very attentive and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NyonAdvisor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#64 of 1,077 in London
3,651 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,077 in London
2,012 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#65 of 1,077 in London
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#235 of 1,077 in London
2,944 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £104 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing