We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #84 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2009

I have stayed in many hotels over the last twenty years and the Apex stands out as a beaconof excellence in an otherwise sea of mediocracy. The hotel is located within a very short walking distance of Tower Hill tube station which is well served by the CIrcle and Disrtrict lines. The rooms and public areas of the hotel are the cleanest I have ever seen, and the young staff are a credit. This is the only hotel I have tsayed in where I cannot find fault. This is the only hotel to stay at if in London.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwna2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,872)
There are newer reviews for Apex City of London Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,881 - 2,887 of 3,875 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2009

I stayed at the Apex City of London hotel for a weekend break sightseeing 27th and 28th March 09. Clio in Reservations had been extremely helpful with my booking, and I found the rest of the staff to be very friendly and helpful also. Bathroom was spotless, with a huge deep bath, which was wonderful, a great shower, and the toiletries were lovely, and plentiful. Bedroom also very clean - the bed was huge and very comfortable - I had a great night's sleep both nights with no outside noise at all. There was a fridge and safe in the room - both of which I was glad to use. I had paid the extra for the full breakfast when I booked, and you could have it in your room if you wanted (which I did the first morning - it came at the requested time and everything was nice and hot) although the fare laid out for the Continental breakfast also looked delicious so I would probably just have that next time. Location is excellent; just 2 mins walk from Tower Hill tube and lots of buses, and a couple of nice pubs nearby which also serve food. I was out sightseeing every day and it was lovely to come back to such a peaceful room, soak in the bath, and relax with all the extra cushions provided on the bed! I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend the hotel to friends and anyone I know travelling to London. The weekend rates are very good for such a high standard of accommodation, and very good value for London. Rates during the week are higher, though, as being in the City of London which is still largely a business district, it attracts business visitors through Sun to Fri. All in all I could not find fault with anything about this hotel; I really enjoyed my stay there and will definitely book Apex City of London hotel on my next trip to London!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

You would be hard pressed to find a place in London that has a better location and rates than the Apex. It is located down a quiet lane within very easy walking distance of Tower Bridge and Tower of London! The rooms are quite nice, nothing to complain about. I paid for a deluxe room and got upgraded to a junior suite which was awesome! The only down thing is the food there is crap and finding something as simple as water or a coke can be at best a frustrating task! Overall, it's tough to think of a better location and better price, especially considering it's London where expensive is the norm!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seahawksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

This was our second stay at Apex, and again it was perfect. Booked same Deluxe room, very spacious, clean, full of light. Like the previous time, the airco was a bit too cold but there was an extra heating device in the room this time which provided enough heat. Personnel very kind, bar is nice, we did not try the restaurant though.
Location is very good, though not as central as Piccadilly or Covent garden, everything is accessible with the tube, a short 3 min. walk from the hotel. There are also bus lines going to the center of town.
For the price (booked early on internet at a very interesting rate), we never had a better stay in any other hotel in London. I will definitely go back to Apex every time I go to London, and I always recommend it to all friends and family !

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

The apex is conveniently located and offers a better value than other hotels in the city. the staff is nice, freindly and helpfull and does it best even if the hr policy of the hotel seems to consist of employing non hotels professional which english needs to be polished. Rooms are great, especially the so called luxury which are junior suite at very affordable price for London city. Free Wi-fi internet in the room. Great food at the restaurant as well as in room service.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pprhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Great hotel, situated opposite to the Tower of London and a couple of minutes walk from Tower Bridge and a tube station, close to a few bars and restaurants which was handy, fairl close to the rail station that brought us from London city airport. Friendly staff, big room, comfy bed and nice interior.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanM240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Just returned after 3 day City Break at the Apex. Having arrived in the City at 08:00 worrying about baggage showers etc we were delighted to have our room available at 09:30 (how rare is that) A chic modern hotel 5 minutes walk from Tower Hill underground. Reception staff attentive enough to sort a slight hic in our booking very quickly . Although we didn't spend much time there our room was spacious with huge bed big plasma screen and all mod cons Definitely one to be used again in the future. Only criticism bar prices where we got caught just once but wont get caught again

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobfromFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#58 of 1,073 in London
3,574 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,073 in London
1,971 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,073 in London
3,774 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#107 of 1,073 in London
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#78 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £119 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing