We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine but not amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #85 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The hotel was modern, clean and fresh. Breakfast was very good. Staff pleasant and very helpful. A nice hotel but perhaps a little too business orientated the bar area is small and not very atmospheric. Nice room though with some nice touches. Good location. Room service menue was a bit limited.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123456hj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,839 - 2,845 of 3,925 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2009

Very nice quality hotel in a very conveient location for the City of London. Also not badly placed for tourists as the Tower of London is just nearby, along with good transport links to the rest of London.

Check-in was not great though - they put us in a smoking room without asking us. But when I complained they upgraded us to a nicer room to apologise. Apparently the whole 2nd floor is smoking, so watch out for that. Also that first room was very dark, so try and get a room higher up!

Our upgraded deluxe room was very nice (see attached pictures from phone). Widescreen (CRT) tv, free internet (ok speed) and a big bathroom with separa shower. The bed was super-king, but a bit uncomfortbale (could feel the springs). Room service was ok quality and delivered quickly. Lots of good chain restaurants in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlpb13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

The Hotel is ok. Booked through 800-Hotels and received free breakfast. We used "Addison Lee" for LimoService for 76,00 from Heathrow, clean & fair. Location is a bit off the usual tourist tour, plan an extra 10,00/taxi trip to get to the PicCirc. Unreliable (free?) Internet Service proved to be very frustrating. They were unable to solve the problem. We need to be in touch around the clock. Too bad.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VidaLocaRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I was quite skeptical when I booked the hotel. After numerous reviews of dozen and dozens of London hotels, I had an impression that there is no way to get a nice hotel, with decent size of rooms and bathrooms, with A/C and in good location at my price range. I was so delighted when I entered my room at Apex of London. Very modern, clean and beautifully designed, good size of the room and bathroom. Bathroom had a bath tub and separate shower with all the modern appliances, granite counters, and big size toiletries. Free WiFi! Location just great – close walking distance to the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, and Themes River walk. Bus, Tour buses and tube stops just around the corner, and also river boats just next to the Tower. Nice restaurant downstairs and bar. Surprisingly quiet place although just steps from the major busy street. All the staff was very attentive and pleasant. Will definitely stay again. Planning trip to Edinburgh, hope Apex hotels there are as good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The hotel is located right by the Tower of London and lots of restaurants, pubs and cafes. The hotel staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly; we arrived too early to check into a room on our first day but were able to leave our bags and when we returned that evening we were told that we had been checked in as soon as a room became available so all we had to do was to take our key and head straight to a room. Breakfast is served in a nice café / lounge area which looks out onto a small park opposite the hotel. The room we stayed in was spacious, with a huge bath and huge shower and even came equipped with a rubber duck.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airluigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

On 20 July 2009 we stayed just one night at the Apex and were delighted with both the hotel and the service we received. The location is good at just 2 mins from Tower Hill tube station. The double room we had was well equipped with a good firm bed. The iron and ironing board in the room is a useful touch. The air-con is good for the summer months. The hotel has good facilities for leaving luggage before check-in and after check-out. All staff were professional and friendly. We'll absolutely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choosewisely_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Convenient yet relatively peaceful location. Great rooms and excellent service - nothing too much trouble.

I ate alone in the restaurant and did not feel uncomfortable -very reasonable prices for London and better quality than most hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeezerWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,076 in London
1,991 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#57 of 1,076 in London
3,607 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#235 of 1,076 in London
2,912 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#106 of 1,076 in London
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#80 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £113 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing