We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #77 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
England
2 reviews
“The nicest hotel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 22 October 2009

This hotel is in a fantastic position, close to the Tower of London and very close to several tube stations. The Reception staff were most helpful with maps and directions and various suggestions to make the most of our stay in this lovely hotel.

The rooms are outstanding with several little touches that really improved our comfort, the bed and bedding were amazingly comfortable, and the breakfasts were truly out of this world, I have never stayed in such a friendly and luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,433
    1,050
    164
    36
    18
See reviews for
521
1,933
166
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Friends and I stayed at this hotel in September, had the basic room. Very modern, but rather impersonal I thought. Breakfast was lovely as they come and take your order from the breakfast menu - nice to be looked after by someone rather than the buffet style for a change. Lovely young man on duty the first morning and then it all went a bit pear-shaped on the second morning, had to ask a couple of times for someone to take our order and then ask again for tea/coffee/toast etc, but not that big a deal. What I will say is that the shower was hopeless. It was like a hand-held style that I would say at best, dribbled! Not sure I'd go back to be honest, not sure why, just didn't bowl me over. That said, I would recommend it as it was a nice, modern hotel and they had a good offer on at the time, which I think has been extended, so worth checking out.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Special-treats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester,
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We recently had a weekend break in London, using the Apex as our base.What a good choice we made. We has a standard room and it was more than adequate, Comfortable, clean, convenient and very friendly staff. After long days sightseeing the local Wetherspoons is very convenient half way betenn the Tube and Hotel. for a nightcap.
Can't wait to go again.
Keith & Debbie, Manchester.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITHANDDEBBIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I recently stayed at the Apex hotel for my boyfriend's birthday, where we came to London to relax and to see a show.
I booked online with Late rooms (and got a v. good deal). We arrived in London and after much Tube hopping we left the station to find the hotel was 2 minutes walk away in an ideal location (brilliant)
On our arrival checking in was quick and hassle free. We have a choice of which floor and smoking or non-smoking then we made our way upto the room. It was small, but cosy, was spotless and very tidy, it was excellent.
We didn't eat at the restuarant or drink at the bar, as the food was a little pricey, but this was to be expected!
The hotel had free internet access. The staff was attentive and extremely helpful and even when we asked for directions to the show, they recommended the cheapest way and most convininet way to travel.
We checked out 2 days later with a smile on our faces. Again, the checking out was quick and hassle-free, and they'll even store your bags for you until you need to depart for home.
The only that was annying was the location of the plug sockets. They were behind the TV which was a pain when using the iron and also when using the hairdryer as the cord wasn't long enough.
Other than that it was fantastic, I would definately go again and would recommend it to friends and family (they should visit late rooms first though)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TillyFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This is a nice enough hotel, well situated in a quiet road and close to underground and bus stops. No complaints about the room, again nice enough with a decent size bathroom, although the view was of a huge brick wall! As we were only there for a one night theatre break we weren't too bothered about that. However, on returning to our room after the theatre, we ordered some supper from Room Service. This arrived fairly promptly, but a short while later Room Service rang through and asked my husband if he would go down to Reception and pay for it, as they had failed to ask us for credit card pre-authorisation when we checked in. We felt this was an unreasonable request considering it was getting on for midnight and were trying to enjoy our supper, but he reluctantly went and Reception did apologise, but it was pretty annoying all the same. We decided to heed the hotel's warnings that the restaurant gets very busy for breakfast at the weekends, so we pre-ordered breakfast in our room for the next morning, and requested for it between 10.00-10.15. It arrived at 09.40! My husband was still in the shower, so by the time he had finished, his breakfast was cold. What is the point of asking what time you would like your breakfast delivered, if Room Service are then not going to take any notice?!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Only a few mins walk from tower hill station on the victoria tube line, 5 mins walk from the DLR stop. Nice modern hotel. pret a manger 2 mins away if breakfast isn't included in your rate. Stayed on the 4th floor. Room was a little small ( standard for London) but was spotless clean. large bathroom with walk in shower. Staff were very helpful and allowed us to check in early on the day of arrival. Breakfast was fine - standard buffet selection. Bar was quite pricey - though there are a few bars within a few mins walk.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank easyg0ingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I loved this hotel. Great location (2 min walk to Tower Hill tube station), friendly & helpful staff, modern & large rooms. The best breakfast - everything from a full fry up to pancakes & waffles..amazing! I could not fault this hotel. The only small thing i didnt like was the bedroom windows are locked and the only way to open them is call reception and someone will come to unlock them but they dont leave the key with you so you have to call them again to lock them! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLouD1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
1,871 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,394 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#118 of 1,067 in London
1,303 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#242 of 1,067 in London
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing