We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - great breakfast and fantastic room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - great breakfast and fantastic room”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights for a birthday weekend to London. We were upgraded to a delux room and it was fantastic. There was lots of space and the sofa meant that one night we chose to have room service and chill out with a DVD. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but we were early but we went for a bite to eat at all bar one and they sent us a text to tell us our room was ready. The small touches like the water, chocolates and the duck make this place feel far more expensive than it is. I would definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

I would upgrade to the full breakfast rather the choice was excellent. I really enjoyed the pancakes, eggs florentine and the braveheart breakfast.

The location is good although the circle line is never the most reliable! The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misscoolkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,430
    1,050
    164
    36
    18
See reviews for
521
1,932
166
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

While the rooms were very comfortable and large by London standards, they were also quite noisy due to full glass windows on a street with constant roadworks. I complained but they were overbooked so I couldn't move rooms. I began to get frustrated with the staff because I'd had an absolutely amazing experience at the Apex London Wall, and was really hoping this hotel offered the same quality of service and care. It did not. Registration was confused, no one knew how to answer simple questions.

Would not stay here again, rather, hope to get into the London Wall location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Fantastic stay in a great hotel. Staff are welcoming and professional from the moment we entered. Room had all that we needed. Breakfast was fantastic, great choice and a very welcoming team who's customer service could not be faulted, especially Eric the supervisor.

Will return

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mugga12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

If you're looking for a quiet, clean, modern, nice place in the City of London at a price that's much lower than its competitors, this is your place.

I spend a weekend here, and will definitely come back. The rate was outstanding compared to similar area hotels--I paid around £95 (plus taxes) per night. I've spent more twice that for hotels in the City of London that weren't as comfortable.

The room had a very modern and attractive decor, with very comfortable bedding, a large and very nice flat-screen TV with DVD player, a sofa, nice other furniture, and a luxurious bathroom with a separate tub and large walk-in shower. By London standards, the room was quite large. The only thing it didn't have was, curiously enough, a window--this was a ground-floor room and the only opening to the outside was a skylight. But while it was a bit dark, it was also quiet and cozy. I felt very much at home there.

The room also featured free wi-fi internet access. This is a true rarity for nice hotels like this, which (unlike cheap places, where wi-fi is often free) so often gouge their guests for internet access. And the wi-fi signal was strong and fast.

The hotel and the room were immaculately clean, and service was excellent, except for one little hiccup: There was hardly any toilet paper left on the roll when I checked in, and there was no extra roll left. It quickly ran out, and even then the housekeeped did not leave a new roll and I had to go to the front desk to ask for one. This small blemish aside, the service was good.

I don't often eat in hotel restaurants because they tend to be both boring and overpriced, but arriving late on a rainy evening when other nearby places were closing I decided to try the hotel's restaurant, Addendum, for dinner. I'm glad I did. The food was very good, and the prices were quite reasonable, especially as compared to most other hotel restaurants.

All in all, I can wholeheartedly recommend the Apex City of London. There's a reason it's highly-rated on this site.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This was our second stay and I cannot fault this hotel. We arrived early and our room was ready. We had an excellent rate booked through the hotel for a deluxe room with continental breakfast. The room was large, clean and very well equipped. I had requested a high floor which gave us a view of the top of Tower Bridge! This hotel is so convenient for the Tower of London which is literally just across the road. The only drawback as far as we were concerned was the tube was once again completely messed up due to 'engineering works' which meant a longer walk from Bank Station whilst Tower Hill was closed but the weather was fine so it was not a problem. When Tower Hill station is open the hotel is just a stones throw away. We had a bit of a hiccup with the breakfast as the reastaurant manager got confused with our breakfast deal and remember to ask for toast when you sit down otherwise you may get it at the end of your meal ! We love this hotel and will definintely return again. The Apex London Wall is also extremely good in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stayed here for a long weekend - the service was great, the room nice (good shower). The hotel is well-placed on the District/Circle lines. The view - well, we were round the back so there wasn't one, but who cares about that sort of thing?
The main problem was that the room was very warm (throw-the-duvet-on-the-floor hot), and the air conditioner was very noisy. With the window open, the sound from the air-conditioning machinery in the light-well outside was a combination of Niagra falls and a taxiing jet. Not the end of the world, but a bit of a shame that such a basic requirement (undisturbed and comfortable sleeping) wasn't met. (We stayed in October when it was cold outside - I daren't imagine what it would be like in summer...)

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We have previously stayed in Apex Edinburgh and was impressed with it so decided to stay in the London version. Reception were amazing allowing us to check in early and upgrading us for free. The location was great for us, really close to the city. St Katherine's dock and butlars wharf are a must!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charding81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,067 in London
1,869 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,394 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#119 of 1,067 in London
1,301 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#245 of 1,067 in London
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing