We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient to Financial Center and District Tube Lines”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #81 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very Convenient to Financial Center and District Tube Lines”
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Apex City Hotel is in a very good location, near plenty of pubs (Hung, Drawn, and Quartered had the best fish and chips in the area), Tesco Metro for supplies, Tower Hill Metro station literally around the corner and a few significant tourist attractions such as the Tower Bridge and Tower of London. The staff is efficient and friendly with many language possibilities to ensure you are understood. Room rates are typical for England, breakfast is really substantial but it's pricey. You can go many places in any direction from the hotel and find lesser priced breakfast, granted it won't be as substantial as eating in the hotel. Continental breakfast is nearly 14 pounds, adding hot items puts the cost up to around 18 pounds. The rooms are modern with nice amenities, they are the usual smaller English hotel room. Bedding is nice, high thread count linens, fluffy towels, nice toiletries. My only complaint is that the water is not really HOT, nice and warm, but not HOT. Flat screen TV and DVD are available but not too many channels are offered. It's worth noting that the concierge associates are very knowledgable and helpful. Internet is included in room price. There is a very nice fitness center as well which is under-utilized so you should have no trouble getting on a machine. There is a complete set of dumbells for use.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,462
    1,063
    170
    39
    18
See reviews for
540
1,950
167
557
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2011

my wife and I had a lovely weekend staying at this hotel. Staff were professional while being friendly and helpful.We only have a minor complaint that is the window was very small but the room was lovely.We would definitely stay there again on our next visit to London.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susantee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My wife spotted a good deal on Travel Zoo for this hotel (£100 for a Saturday night) we got a complimentary room upgrade. The room was very spacious and totally modern with a large 42" plasma TV, great bathroom with walk in shower and large bath. The room was immaculate with everything you would expect. The bed very comfortable and there was no noise overnight.

The hotel is runn by very helpful staff for who nothing was too much trouble....it is located just 3 minutes walk from Tower Hill tube station.

We will definately go back to this hotel and will look out for others in the chain, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger_Coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Excellent hotel in a quiet area. Tower Hill tube station 2mins walk so no problems getting around. Staff friendly and professional, rooms are large. Will stay again when in London next time, a real find with a good value for money!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrostyFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

My wife and I have just returned from London, where we stayed at the Apex City of London Hotel, room 505 for two nights. The hotel is immaculate, and the staff could not do enough for us. I regularly stay in hotels on business that are booked via a booking agency, and I have to say: that in my view Apex City of London comes top of the list. We also benefited from your special festive break deal, saving about 40% on the normal rate – a real bargain! We can’t wait to return, all hotels should be like this!

Who stood out?
(1) There was one young man who served us breakfast (we didn’t catch his name, but I think he was quite new and still learning the job). He served us with a huge smile, and was very attentive – fantastic service!
(2) The concierge was very helpful locating us a great deal on a show (Dirty Dancing), that we thoroughly enjoyed.
(3) Reception let us have a late checkout (14:00) that allowed us to relax before returning home earlier today.

Could the hotel improve?
Probably not by much. However, personally we didn’t like seeing kitchen staff smoking near the front of the hotel (we are non-smokers). I should stress that this was a minor irritation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHANNEL iSLANDS
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This was the first time I'd stayed at this hotel but have stayed in London several times. This is certainly the best I've stayed in. The service, rooms and breakfast were of a very high standard. Location is perfect, 2 minutes walk from Tower Hill Tube. I will definitely stay here again if in London. The staff should be congratulated for their efforts as they go out of their way to ensure that travellers needs are catered for.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Staying at this centrally located hotel in London was a good experience. though the rooms were not that big but nicely decorated and equipped with all the facilities. I am often fussy for the bathrooms and the hotel reached my satisfaction level in this case too.

Moreover, the food served in the room was quite delicious. My husband took the spa and was quite happy with too. We got the hotel booked through ukhotels4u which proved to be quite convenient.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merycox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,068 in London
1,903 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#55 of 1,068 in London
3,464 reviews
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,702 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#113 of 1,068 in London
1,374 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,068 in London
3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#77 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing