We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and would definately return!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Apex City of London Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel and would definately return!!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed in the Apex City of London hotel February 2011 to celebrate my birthday as part of a theatre package.

We arrived earlier than check in, but as we arrived to ask if we could leave our luggage there, the receptionist looked up our rooms and said they were ready for us so checked us in. This was 3 hours prior to check in and made us very happy indeed.

The rooms were very nicely presented. The only downsides were a scratched table in one room and the carpet was slightly stained in the other. However, they were very clean. I had emailed previously to ask if we could have 4 champagne glasses in the room, but this had not been actioned.

We then left the hotel, but mentioned to the gentleman on reception about the champagne glasses. He then arranged for some to be sent up and also gave us 2 complimentary umbrella's to use as it was raining.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay there. The staff are very friendly. We will be returning again later in the year!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieP1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,430
    1,050
    164
    36
    18
See reviews for
521
1,932
166
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We thought the Apex City of London was excellent value. Very friendly reception staff. The room (the most standard grade) was thoughtfully planned, very clean and quite spacious.
Well located for any business in the City. Would return there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epicure55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were very nice and clean, but they weren't that big which was ok. Great location right near the tower of london and very close to the tube. The staff was very helpful when I had any questions on where to eat or what to see. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toni1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We chose to stay at this hotel based on all the good reviews it received from other travelers. It was a bit hard to find, but when we walked in, it was a very relaxing ambiance. We were greeted with a smile from the front desk, and we got checked into our room quickly. When we arrived to our room, it was on the 1st floor. I have a thing againt staying on the 1 floor (I don't know why), so I immediately called the front desk and asked them if we could be put on a higher floor. They said there was an upgraded room available on the 4th floor and we could have it at no extra charge. They sent someone up to take us to the new room, and he was there withing 2 minutes. When we arrived at our room, we were dumbfounded. The room was huge with a sofa, office desk, mini-fridge, flat screen and a king bed with a shower and bathtub! The room was very clean, and there was complimentary flat and sparkling water in glass bottles along with cofee, tea and cookies. My fiance was hesitant to take the water since they were so high class looking, he thought we would be charged for them, so we called the front desk and they said they were included in the rate. Each time we came back to our room at the end of the day, there was always new bottles of water. We loved it! The hotel is a 3 minute walk away from the tube, and a 5 minute walk to tower bridge and the tower of London. It is pretty far from the other attractions, and thats why I gave it a 3 for location. The only creepy thing to me was that our room had a view of a cemetary ( a very, very, very old looking cemetery). Overall, I recommend this hotel if you want to have great service from a wonderful staff and relax after a bustling day in London.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingbugs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The reviews for this hotel are justifably good. We had a room on the 7th floor with a view of The Gherkin to the left and Tower Bridge to the right. All staff very pleasant and room clean and spacious. Would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTravel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

My husband & I always stay at the Apex when in London and have recommended several friends to stay there too, which we would not do unless it was top dollar! From walking into the hotel to a warm welcome, the hotel staff are friendly, accomodating and aim to please. We have stayed in many hotels in London on business and liesure and find the rooms to be more spacious and better equipped than anywhere we have stayed at similar room rates. We have also had the pleasure of staying in deluxe, superior deluxe and in a suite and always found a consistently high standard. If there is a minor problem it is sorted out without fuss! Our last stay for Christmas and New Year was no exception, Susannah and the team made our family welcome, they upgraded the rooms for our son and daughter and our friends (foc) and nothing was too much trouble! Rooms are contemporary & modern, amenities in the rooms actually work, showers are great! As a light sleeper I usually struggle in London Hotels, due to the noise, but not this one - it's quiet, curtains actually shut properly and beds are really comfy. Looking forward to my next stay already!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0gan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I am a regular at the Apex, going both for work and for leisure. It used to be one of the very best hotels in London. But recently the service has been in terrible decline. The reception are now rude and inefficient, the room service slow and error-stewn, and the general atmosphere one of neglect and depression. I hope the management can get this sorted out soon and restore a once great hotel back to its previous standard.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marc017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertFlinter, Manager at Apex City of London Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your constructive comments. I am very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectation set at previous stays. While I am naturally disappointed to receive such comments, I can assure you that I and my team are taking immediate action to rectify any shortfalls in service. I do hope that you wil visit us again and have your faith in our hotel restored.

Kind regards

Robert Flinter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,067 in London
1,870 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,393 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#119 of 1,067 in London
1,301 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#245 of 1,067 in London
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of London Hotel

Property: Apex City of London Hotel
Address: 1 Seething Lane, London EC3N 4AX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
#84 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of London Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of London Hotel provides memorable stays in the heart of London. It’s known for its friendly and warm welcome from check-in right through to check-out. You’ll be well looked after during your stay with a team on hand to answer all of your questions and help plan your visit. The hotel is located in central London, close to Tower Bridge, and is just a 30-minute trip on the DLR from London City Airport. The natural light that filters through floor-to-ceiling windows in the contemporary restaurant, lounge and bar area makes this hotel a great place to meet, eat or relax. Each bedroom features a 40” LCD TV with Sky channels and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi for all of your personal devices. You’ll also get complimentary Elemis toiletries and a hair dryer in your room meaning you can travel light. The hotel has three meeting rooms available and a Technogym featuring cardio and weights equipment making it perfect for business stays away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apex City of London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Of London Hotel London
Apex City Hotel London
Apex City London Hotel
Apex Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing