We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pride”
Review of Village Soho

Village Soho
Ranked #324 of 1,288 Nightlife in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Village has become a firm fixture on Soho's gay scene since opening in 1991. The Village was the first of its kind to be opened in London and since then there have been dozens of bars who have copied its successful formula. The Village really does offer something for everyone 'all under one roof'. The upstairs 'Soho Bar' dance floor is where all the snap crackling pop, chart and commercial dance action happens, with residents Heidi Liscious & Robyn Banks, plus our gorgeous gogo boys on the bar! Descend into the basement club, where you'll find the best in chunky funky deep house & tech with the cream of London's dance scene DJ's, Paul Heron, Gordon John, Massimo Paramour, JJ Gullo & Gonzalo Rivas on rotation. Through to the 'Cafe bar' you'll find a more relaxed vibe with lots of seating & comfy booths. Further more, head upstairs to the new 'Cocktail Lounge' where you'll find another bar with luxurious booths, chandeliers and a stunning view of all the action right up Old Compton Street. We are now open from 3pm on Friday, Saturday & Sunday, and you are also very welcome to take your drinks al fresco onto Brewer Street where you can drink in the afternoon sun :) Pop in & say hi!
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

I would like to say a huge thank you to Ben And Lukas and the rest of the staff at Village who made Gay Pride something else. My partner and I just came back to the UK from Greece and spent 2 fabulous nights and the whole of Saturday at pride in the bar. The atmosphere was something to remember. We look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Thank Humptyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageSoho, General Manager at Village Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Humpty
thank you for your positive review yet again. I have passed your comments on to the 2 bar staff and they greatly appreciate your kind words.
Please contact us the next time you are in the city and we would like to show our appreciation with a few drinks on the house.
regards
Stuart
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Well what can I say. We are three females couples on a night out in Soho visiting some of our old haunts from the days before wedded bliss!
We returned to The Village and were REFUSED entry!, were we drunk..NO, were we dressed inappropriatley? ..NO...The reason we were refused entry is because we didn't look gay enough!! Absolutely ridiculous, the door bouncers just flatly refused, we though they were joking at first and laughed and said it's OK, we're married...too each other etc but they weren't even open to listening, just turned away and blocked the door! We won't ever return there again there are plenty of GAY FRIENDLY alternatives!

2  Thank Starider1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageSoho, General Manager at Village Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Starider1969
I would like to sincerely apologise if you feel that you have had a bad experience at Village.
Our aim is to provide only the best customer experience and service.
I have spoken to the manager on duty that night, who was stationed at the front door at the time as well as the doorman involved.
Our entry policies at the venue are set on the advice and following from discussions with Westminster council and the police.
We also have a view of maintaining the venue’s identity and integrity - as we have done for the past 21 years .
As such, we as licensees fully reserve the right to refuse admission for any reason.
Although the policies may sometimes seem unfair to some, they are considered best practice for the venue and the customers inside at that time.

Every licensed venue, be that gay or straight, has a specific door policy which is drawn from advice from the local authorities and police.
Both are therefore fully aware of the policies at Village and continue to support and commend us on our safe and diligent working operation.

I can assure you that any licensed venue, irrespective of the established sexual orientation of its patrons, has an obligation to make reactive decisions on the door of who is admitted entry depending on the people already inside the venue. This is to maintain the desired atmosphere and dynamic of the night.
I can also assure you that each policy and decisions made regarding entry will differ from venue to venue.
Any venue has to keep a sensible balance of male/female patrons inside(and I’m sure that you will agree that in a gay bar this is particularly prevalent). They all, however, serve the same purpose – to stay true the individual venue’s identity and integrity - as well as regarding the safety and enjoyment of the patrons already inside at that particular time.

It is very clear in your email that you believe the reason for you and your friends not being admitted was because of your sexual orientation. Your sexual orientation (apart from being no one’s business but your own) was in no way involved in the decision process on the night and it never would.
All that aside you and your friends were not refused entry. The doorman pointed out to your party upon entering that Village is a gay bar, to which one of your party took offense to being informed.


However, we hope that this incident has not deterred you from returning to the Village and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a bar ! Go here when I am in the area. Always a friendly crowd. Went on a monday and stayed late as it was rocking there. Cabaret and karaoke. The host Baga Chios had a grouo of american visitors dancing and joining her on stage to sing ! The village bar looks down the length of d compton street which is famouse in its own right. Turn right in leaving and its one or two minutes walk to the heart if china town which has some late night restaraunts. So you can really make a night of it !

Thank DEREK70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageSoho, General Manager at Village Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Derek70
Thank you for your review and your positive feed back.
We are delighted that you enjoyed both Bagga Chips and the venue.
Id like to add that Bagga is now also our resident Karaoke host every Tuesday so please come along to support. If you do choose to enjoy Village again please let me know in advance and we will be happy to show our appreciation by offering a few complimentary drinks.
Thanks again
Stuart
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

It's dark dingy and feels a bit seedy. Lots of middle aged men lingering around starting for to long at half named bat staff.
Do yourself a favour and avoid!

The only thing going for it is it's open later than a few other places in the area...

2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I love it here, from the moment you step through the door you can tell that this going to be a place that you are going to have fun! The staff make you feel comfortable and are friendly and chatty, the music is pumping and the men dancing on the bar are hot! Great night out, thanks :)

Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageSoho, General Manager at Village Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Hi Laura K
Thanks for taking the time out to write a review and giving Village positive feedback. We are happy you had a good time at Village and look forward to your return.
Please feel free to contact me when you are planning to come to the venue next and I will be happy to show my appreciation by offering you and your party a complimentary drink to show our appreciation.
Kind Regards
Stuart
GM
I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Soho also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Village Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing