We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced”
Review of Avonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avonmore Hotel
Ranked #908 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is well overpriced (£396 for two nights), threadbare carpets tatty exterior. We were put in an attic room (no lift) where the stairs were treacherous, fire door was at the edge of the top stair. Bathroom was very small and scruffy. Room was clean but floor very uneven. Breakfast poor.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Avonmore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

This hotel is clearly a holding area for the travellers using St Pancras. Guests arrive banging and crashing at all times. Very noisy neighbours first night and at 11pm I had to bang on the wall for them to be quiet. Didn't work!
Nights 2 and 3 sleep was broken by the elephant in the room upstairs (who must hold the record for jumping in and out of bed in any one night ) and people lugging suitcases up the stairs
(the room (12) is next to the stairs) Walls are paper thin and the hotel is a bit jaded and dirty.

I booked a single room which was very small yet the bathroom was a decent size. I'd asked for a top floor room but his wasn't available.

Plus side is the area - a quiet crescent close to the buzz of Tavistock Road and for me, 10 minutes from work so I can avoid the tube!

If you're only staying one night this place might be ok but not for 3 nights and when you have to up for work at 6am

Room Tip: Don't stay for more than night and avoid rooms near the stairs
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed for one night. This is cheap (bearing in mind the location!) and cheerful. The location is key. Don't expect luxury.
Room was spacious and clean... Although the bathroom was very small
Reception staff were welcoming.
Breakfast was much better than expected. Cooked to my order, with HP brown sauce!! Very pleasant.
If you are looking for luxury, service and facilities then get your credit card out and stay somewhere with more stars.

Great value. Highly recommended for a one night stay en route to st pancras station etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wader77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

the hotel was recommended to us and their website was very promising. after arriving we found out it was even less than a hostel. no real staff (a foreign student opened the door), dirty room and bathroom, close to a railway station. after immediate complaining we accepted the offer for a refund and stayed. the manager next morning was not really cooperative, only finding excuses (renovation, change of management, etc).

Room Tip: don't choose, stay away from this "hotel"
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joop v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Had a great stay in the Avonmore hotel. Loved the location and free wi-fi. Room was small but comfortable and was serviced daily. Lots of tea and coffee available. Room was very warm but opening windows helped.

Room Tip: Level 3 is the highest (and quietest) floor but has very steep steps, so not suitable if you have lo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Normally stay in the Harlingford a couple of hotels down but this was the only one available. Room was immaculate no complaints there. Not enough tea bags for a 2 night stay and 2 people. One receptionist very unapproachable would have been nice to be able to chat and relate seeing as on a mini break and not familiar with london. Cheap bed and foam pillows which caused lack of sleep. Breakfast was standard staff obliged to special requests. Not comfortable with leaving key at reception every time we went out and no communal sitting room. The cost was overpriced for what we got for a 2 night stay wouldnt go london again unless we could stay in the harlingford. One of the receptionists needs to work on his people skills. Speaks perfect english but not very friendly and quite hostile. Had to ask for hairdryer in the morning too as one not in room!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kateellen170490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We arrived at the hotel at night and no one even opened the door for us or offered to help with our bags.The room felt dirty and we had to ask for fresh towels and remind them to clean our room--they didnt change the provided tea cups and plates that were on the table (even after we asked) so we had to wash them ourselves after each use.
Then, someone stole money from our suitcase--which we had put in a purse inside and covered by clothing--but even after searching the room multiple times and then talking to management, nothing got solved. The manager tried to blame us for it and didn't apologize or offer to compensate us for our stay. After we had complained about that, we basically got ignored by the staff as if we offended them.
Also, when the cab came to take us to the airport, the front desk person just gave the man our room number and sent him to get us. the cab driver even said that the front desk didnt ask for details or anything, just upon hearing our names, he sent him straight to our room. So unprofessional and unsafe!
Overall, it was THE WORST experience with a hotel ever!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daisy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#563 of 1,072 in London
570 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#442 of 1,072 in London
730 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#519 of 1,072 in London
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#555 of 1,072 in London
449 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#950 of 1,072 in London
289 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#467 of 1,072 in London
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore Hotel

Address: 57 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #908 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £71 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avonmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonmore Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing