We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty linen and basin.”
Review of Avonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avonmore Hotel
Ranked #906 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Refurbished and provided with the basic stuff, but I do not understand the average 4-star mark on the cleanliness. I came in my room and the basin was dirty with hair on the surface, the bed seemed perfunctorily made and when I looked inside there was actually hair all over and had to ask for new linen. 69£ (through booking.com) for an en-suite room in St.Pancras is ridiculously cheap, but the room was admittedly small (6m2) and located down in the basement. Overall, good value for money (wait: 69£ for a dirty small room in the basement? we should all boycott London!), but it was gross, admittedly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

When I arrived I stood at 'reception' for around 10 minutes to be greeted as there was no bell or contact number for someone.

The receptionist didn't speak much English, or at least their pronunciation wasn't very clear.

I was put in an attic room, which appeared to unlevel and to be frank creepy. To top it off it didn't even have a bathroom... The guy on reception mentioned nothing about this nor did he explain where the bathroom/s were!

After searching all floors for some form of communal bathroom but failing I then gave up and left with my bags as the 'receptionist' had again disappeared for over 20 minutes.

Stayed (didn't stay) on Business, July 2014.
£135 well spent.... NOT!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The large window in the room did not lock, and balconies were very close together. While I was on the second floor in a relatively safe neighborhood, I did not feel safe as a single traveler. In addition, room doors practically touched eachother (one room to another), which was another reason for a single traveler to feel unsafe. Internet did not work consistently, and staff was efficient but not particularly friendly. The bed was not comfortable an I could hear noise both from outside and from neighboring hotel guests. The room did not look like the pictures, and the bathroom was barely maneuverable.

I stayed in another hotel also in the area at a comparable price and it was significantly better.

I would not stay here again, but might look at other hotels in Cartwright Gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kssheppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked a quad room in a quiet crescent (thinking the room would be larger and would be quiet.
How wrong.
The room was small with a half partition containing 2 more single beds.
Walls were not soundproofed at all and could here doors banging, and people up and down stairs. and in the room above.Breakfast was just adequate but quality of food left something to be desired, had a far better late breakfast on the train home.Considering the cost of the room I don't think this is value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we got moved here as the hotel we had booked next door was flooded and we got a free breakfast.there was 3 of us girls in a triple room and it was spacious enough for us.shower was tiny and you had to go up 3 steps to go into it to use the loo.the hotel was clean,all staff were polite .the were only tiny soap bars in the loo so you would need to take shower gel.hotel is in excellent location and the pub just round the corner is nice to.would stay again for its location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel location is very good because of near Kings Cross, Euston and Russel Squre station, and Buritish Museum. And There are many Pubs, restaurants and shops around hotel.

Handmade breakfast was delicious and it was good for me to have many fruits.

When stay at London, this hotel is one of my recommend hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomoyukik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

As i entered the premises, I was greeted with nothing but the foul stench of a fishy natured smell! As if that wasnt enough the french receptionist smelt like she had a hard night on the garlic. Her vocabulary was diabolical to say the least.
At first glance the room was dark and dreiry. The shower must have been designed for a dwarf! I would have had more room washing oneself in a match box. I was awakened by the ghasty smell of swine meat and being from muslim descent I was highly offended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank joanneTireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#569 of 1,076 in London
576 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#456 of 1,076 in London
731 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#533 of 1,076 in London
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#548 of 1,076 in London
452 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#948 of 1,076 in London
291 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#572 of 1,076 in London
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore Hotel

Address: 57 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #906 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £80 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avonmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonmore Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing