We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
128
117
96
56
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
117
96
56
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower hillfamily roomhandy locationlight sleeperbrick lanebudget hotelwould stay againbed was very comfortabletube stationwetherspoonspubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a family room. As soon as we entered reception we were greeted by Shantell who made us feel welcome straight away. We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our family room it was huge !! Thought we had made a mistake when we saw how close it was to the railway tracks but found with the windows closed we slept very well and the fans provided in the room helped as it was quite warm. But all in all we would definitely stay again next year. Every member of the Travelodge team were chatty and pleasant especially the reception staff. Thankyou

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night on 3/7/14. The hotel reception was wonderfully clean and the staff were so friendly from the moment we arrived until we left, helping with any questions and offering extras (fans and condiments) We were given a room on the railway side, which I was hesitant about though with the window closed you could hardly hear the trains going past. However, one downside was the heat within the room even with a fan on it was very hot, yet with the window open though you could hear the trains we didnt particularly find it a problem and slept the night with the window open.
The room itself was of a good size and was extremely clean, especially the bathroom, which was a relief considering some of the reviews I had read before we arrived. The view was nice, we were able to see the Shard building from our room as well as other sights.
The hotel is very close to a Wetherspoons which was very nice and is of a decent price aswell as a tesco across the road if any essentials are needed.
Although a little tricky to find to begin with, I cannot give enough praise to how clean and friendly the staff were, it was a wonderful stay for what I feel great value especially in London, and I will definitely be staying again!

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for an even numbered room for quieter external noise, however, we didnt particularly find it a problem.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HopeGeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is the cleanest Travelodge we have stayed in with the most professional staff. Breakfast is good value and we were able to leave our bag for the rest of the day after checking out. We were in a twin room with very comfortable beds.
The only problem we had was the external noise as we were at the front of the hotel. This would probably only be a problem if you are a light sleeper like me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

the service at this hotel was excellent,the room was lovely clean,comfortable and spacious(which was fantastic for my family of four) you could also see the shard building from the window, the hotel was a little hard to find, but location was very good in relation to where we were going, the staff were very helpful and friendly, The breakfast buffet caters to everyone's tastes(including my two disabled children who are fussy eaters and also ate for free with a paying adult) i would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to everybody,(just make sure you have a street map to help find it)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The website says "Due to the central location, as you might expect, some external noise may be heard." This is very deceiving, it is actually on a very quiet street, but right next to 4 railway lines and 2 DLR lines! We had a room on the railway side and it will keep you awake until past midnight and again from about 5am. They really need to do something with the Windows as it is too loud, maybe an extra set of windows would help, but you do also feel the trains go by.

The general area the hotel is in is good, very close to Tower Bridge, Tower of London and St Katherine Docks. It is only a 5-10 minute walk from Tower Hill Underground, even closer to Tower Gateway DLR, but with a bit of a dodgy underpass to go through at the start of Chamber Street, in the evenings we actually chose to walk down Prescot Street, with the Premier Inn on, and either come back up from the opposite end of Chamber Street or there is a little passage part way down which bypasses the dodgy dark entrance to Chamber Street. There is a Wetherspoon and a Tesco Express nearby which is handy.

The rooms (I say rooms as we had to move from 209 to 303) are far too hot, 27deg C overnight, even though nighttime temperatures were around 15deg C. The corridors are even hotter! The Air Con manages to drop that by only a degree or two, but it stopped working on the 2nd night so we had to "sleep" with the Windows open, big mistake being next to a railway line. We were moved for the 3rd night onwards, again, a railway side room, Air Con still only managing to bring the temperature down a few degrees, but at least this time we had a fan, albeit noisy and rickety. One peculiarity with regards to the AC operation, you have to put it on the sun symbol mode for cooling, not the snow flake as I would have expected and pretty sure as is the same on all other AC I have used. There is no mention of this in the room.

With regards to the "refurbished with fresh new look" they are stretching the definition of refurbished I feel. In the bathroom, the floor covering, shower paneling and wall tiling is new (the grouting looks a bit rushed though) but the fixtures and fittings are old, the toilet seats in both rooms are in need of replacement. The carpet, wardrobes, tables, the TV are old, marked etc. The bed (maybe just the mattress, not sure) is new and very comfy though.

For some reason, the first room 209 didn't have a bathroom mirror! Oh, and even though they have safes in the room but they are not operational.

The Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is good value, if a bit limited on choice. Could do with some more fruit options and maybe extra pastries too.

I certainly wouldn't choose to stay here again, but it was quite a bit cheaper the the other Travelodge and the Premier Inn at the time I booked, for obvious reasons it now appears.

Room Tip: I think the odd numbered rooms are on the railway side, if you are unlucky to get one of these, prepare for a broken nights sleep...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews