We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-pick your room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
Ranked #740 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pre-pick your room”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Fairly standard Travelodge really, there's a few in close proximity and in particular this isn't the first you come across if you're walking from Tower Bridge/Tower Gateway.

Only some rooms have aircon and the hotel itself is a bit of an oven in summer. This is made worse by the fact that it's situated alongside the DLR and railway lines. They provide room fans which don't help much.

If you call ahead you can ask them for a city-facing room instead of a railway-facing room. You can even try to see if you can get an airconditioned room, but good luck with that.

The staff were pleasant enough with reasonably good customer service. Good room sizes for central London and a nice large shower. Overall, not a bad place, you just need to be forewarned.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a room that doesn't face the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    101
    77
    37
    81
See reviews for
101
85
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Standard Travelodge but with great staff. Make sure you have the address as the taxi drivers get confused with so many close by. Easy walking to Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. Quick and cheap taxi ride to Liverpool Street Station for the Stanstead express. Book everything on line and in advance for discounts.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Had just returned from a 3 week holiday to spain and 38 degree temperatures, to take our soon to be 13 year old daughter to london as a surprise, well what a surprise!!!!???
On arrival treated by a very nice young polish girl. Gave us our room, which had three fans in it( should have guessed what would happen). On opening our curtains we noticed a train line, more anguish. Anyway so as not to upset our two daughters age 17 and 12, went on our way to see the sights. On returning opened door to a terrific heat, no carpet cleaned( they let me drop cases off early before cleaning, so we could go sightseeing) as it was late came downstairs the following morning to complain to receptionist, different one this time, about being kept up all night by the trains, feeling as though we where in a blues brothers movie and how dirty the room was. At reception another couple complained so it wasn't just us, as in most cases we are happy holiday makers, but this was a disgrace. Been told I will get one night back( ok had to fight for it) asked that the room be cleaned this time. Following day about to check out told them again, I have just spent two days complaining. Some black guy lying through his teeth saying the manager will call me that afternoon. I laughed and said " yeh right when I am back in scotland". Still waiting!! But guess what head office hav'nt heard the last.
Whatever you do donot book here, yes rooms are good size, but if you want to star in the lead role of the " blues brothers" where your bed moves... Fine it's for you. Not me Thankyou!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taunton, somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived on the friday afternoon to be shown to our room by the receptionist. Upon entering the room it felt like we walked into a wall of heat. There was one fan blowing hot air around. We requested to be moved to a room with air con but told they didn't do air con. So I requested we be moved to a hotel with aircon. Again told travelodge dont do air conditioning. Something I know not to be true. Receptionist went off to see what she could do. On her return she was able to move us to a different room in the same hotel that had air conditioning? ??? Miraculous! ! This room was absolutely fine. Ive read some reviews on here saying about the train noise. We were on the track side and didnt have a problem with the noise at all.

The bed was the comfiest bed weve slept in and the shower fantastic.

Would stay here again if could guarantee a room with air conditioning!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helenglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Air conditionin units in hotel however broken and waiting on parts apparently.....
temp of room was around 28 degrees and supplied with a cheap fan. Was booked in for 6 nights and spent 4 of them in what can only be described as some form of torture. Staff were lovely and arranged 2 new rooms for us. Practically on the kerb of the railway which had works going on at 2am which equated to living beside a pneumatic drill. overall ruined a family break and best part was returning home for a decent sleep

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deganwy, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here this week on a family break, I made an error in the dates of our stay and arrived a day late. We thought the receptionist had sorted everything out and we could stay till the Friday as firstly intended but a flurry of phone calls on the Thursday afternoon informed us we had to check out and vacate our room. As you can imagine this came as a shock we had to hotfoot it through Central London in a blind panic, wee then told there were no family rooms left but we could book a twin room at an inflated rate. The problem could easily have been avoided if the receptionist was clear on checking in and this was the most stressful experience I have been through in a long time. My son burst into tears in the lobby as he thought (quite rightly) we were being thrown onto the street. An another note if you are the same side as the railway line it is MEGA noisy and you've no chance of any sleep. Breakfast was ok for the money but if you could be bothered going elsewhere there are plenty of other options near by for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel room the night before my graduation as it was the only hotel in central London that offered family rooms for 3 adults. It is centrally located but it is right behind a major train station with DLR and national rail trains going past every minute. The minute we walked into the room, it was like walking into a sauna. There was no air con. There were already 2 fans going and the staff placed a third one in on our request. Of the 4 windows, only one opened and it only opened about an inch - I was told by the staff this was 'health and safety'. They claimed the hotel was full and they couldn't move us to a different room, however this is debatable as we didn't see many other people in the hotel.

It was impossible to sleep in the heat, the fans did nothing except blow hot air around the room and we couldn't have the window open due to the noise from the trains. At 2:30am, we were finally getting off to sleep when a train decided to stop outside to do some repairs!! The noise was deafening, at first we thought it was a drill or something because the hotel was practically shaking. I went downstairs to reception and was told that TFL are meant to inform the hotel if they plan in doing repairs but on this occasion they hadn't - the staff were friendly and apologetic however no amount of apologies was able to make it possible to sleep in that room. We had to be up at 7am the next day and the train didn't move along until well after 3.

I think this is without a doubt the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. The manager Shantell was very apologetic in the morning and gave us a full refund for the night, however it was a moot point by then as we all had a very long day at a graduation ceremony ahead of us and had no more than a few hours sleep each.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the front of the hotel. I would recommend ringing up prior to booking to check you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sllew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
City of London
Travelodge London Central Bank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Aldgate East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Property: Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
Address: 6-13 Chamber Street, London E1 8BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #740 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Central Aldgate East 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Central Aldgate East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel London
Comfort Hotel Tower London
Travelodge London
Travel Lodge London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing