We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
Ranked #858 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Ground floor room with a small window 2 Metres from the floor. Air conditioning had been disabled so roasting hot. No bedside light, no tissues etc. Advise booking early to get a good rate at the Premier Inn round the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Richard848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you want a hotel central for visiting the London tourist hot spots then I recommend this hotel. Ask for a quiet room. It’s close to the Thames, the Tower of London & St. Katherine’s Dock where there are wonderful eateries. Great location for walks along the Thames and being close to the tube & DLR it’s easily accessible to wherever you'd like to go in London.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank LinRecommends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A bit out of the way and up a bit of an alley, however the place is reasonably priced and is as one would expect from Travelodge, functional, clean and comfortable. Being next to a railway line you would expect it to be noisy, it wasn't. Although we were on the opposite side from it. The staff were great, friendly and helpful and the breakfast was quite satisfactory. I would consider staying there again especially as this hotel had aircon, a godsend in July!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank ConcreteLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Fairly standard Travelodge really, there's a few in close proximity and in particular this isn't the first you come across if you're walking from Tower Bridge/Tower Gateway.

Only some rooms have aircon and the hotel itself is a bit of an oven in summer. This is made worse by the fact that it's situated alongside the DLR and railway lines. They provide room fans which don't help much.

If you call ahead you can ask them for a city-facing room instead of a railway-facing room. You can even try to see if you can get an airconditioned room, but good luck with that.

The staff were pleasant enough with reasonably good customer service. Good room sizes for central London and a nice large shower. Overall, not a bad place, you just need to be forewarned.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a room that doesn't face the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Standard Travelodge but with great staff. Make sure you have the address as the taxi drivers get confused with so many close by. Easy walking to Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. Quick and cheap taxi ride to Liverpool Street Station for the Stanstead express. Book everything on line and in advance for discounts.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had just returned from a 3 week holiday to spain and 38 degree temperatures, to take our soon to be 13 year old daughter to london as a surprise, well what a surprise!!!!???
On arrival treated by a very nice young polish girl. Gave us our room, which had three fans in it( should have guessed what would happen). On opening our curtains we noticed a train line, more anguish. Anyway so as not to upset our two daughters age 17 and 12, went on our way to see the sights. On returning opened door to a terrific heat, no carpet cleaned( they let me drop cases off early before cleaning, so we could go sightseeing) as it was late came downstairs the following morning to complain to receptionist, different one this time, about being kept up all night by the trains, feeling as though we where in a blues brothers movie and how dirty the room was. At reception another couple complained so it wasn't just us, as in most cases we are happy holiday makers, but this was a disgrace. Been told I will get one night back( ok had to fight for it) asked that the room be cleaned this time. Following day about to check out told them again, I have just spent two days complaining. Some black guy lying through his teeth saying the manager will call me that afternoon. I laughed and said " yeh right when I am back in scotland". Still waiting!! But guess what head office hav'nt heard the last.
Whatever you do donot book here, yes rooms are good size, but if you want to star in the lead role of the " blues brothers" where your bed moves... Fine it's for you. Not me Thankyou!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived on the friday afternoon to be shown to our room by the receptionist. Upon entering the room it felt like we walked into a wall of heat. There was one fan blowing hot air around. We requested to be moved to a room with air con but told they didn't do air con. So I requested we be moved to a hotel with aircon. Again told travelodge dont do air conditioning. Something I know not to be true. Receptionist went off to see what she could do. On her return she was able to move us to a different room in the same hotel that had air conditioning? ??? Miraculous! ! This room was absolutely fine. Ive read some reviews on here saying about the train noise. We were on the track side and didnt have a problem with the noise at all.

The bed was the comfiest bed weve slept in and the shower fantastic.

Would stay here again if could guarantee a room with air conditioning!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank helenglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
The Whitechapel Hotel
The Whitechapel Hotel
#622 of 1,081 in London
260 reviews
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Aldgate East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Aldgate East

Address: 6-13 Chamber Street, London E1 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #858 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £47 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Central Aldgate East 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge London Central Aldgate East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Aldgate East Travelodge Hotel London
Comfort Hotel Tower London
Travelodge London
Travel Lodge London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing