We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impression, very disappointing. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury
Ranked #963 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“First impression, very disappointing. ”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I have just arrived at the worst hotel I have stayed at in the past 5 years! Unfortunately it was booked for me by a work colleague and I didn't have the opportunity to check it out on trip adviser first. I have the delights of a single room where the eidth of the room is the length of the bed, it takes 4 steps to get from the door to the bed and if you dit on the toilet your feet are in the shower!!! On the plus side I have tea, coffee, bottled water and biscuits an I may be impressed with breakfast, I can't wait!! The reception area could really do with redecoration as could the outside of the halls and the hallways. I can't say I am looking forward to tonights stay as the traffic noise is substantial. I would cheer myself up by turning the tv on but cannot find the remote!! However free wifi mrans I can watch tv on my laptop, always look for the positives.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    84
    101
    85
    132
See reviews for
65
110
58
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham,UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Tiny,noisy rooms ten feet from a main road. Paper thin internal walls and poor secondary double glazing.Avoid at all costs. Immediately booked into another hotel. Worst ever seen by me in London. Don't be fooled by the claims on the website.Nothing more to say.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Finland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had booked a double room in a 4 star hotel, and arriving (@ 1 a.m.) was given a tiny room with a queen size bed (120cm wide) for two.

The room was cold as hell, there was a draft from the window and the bad was situated under the window and in a way that you had to climb over the other person to get out. Not suitable for non-couples. The stairs leading up to the room (4th floor!) were narrow and steep, with no elevator of course, and we were offered no help with the luggage, so I eneded up carrying up both our bags. The shower was so small there was hardly any elbow room to wash your hair.

This was not what I paid for, so I made a strong complaint after checking in. They said they would look into a possible change, which did not happen until after 2 nights, since we were given conflicting instructions on what to do, and even asked to hoist the luggage ourselves back and forth between the lobby and the room "just in case something opens up". I declined, and they eventually did take care of the luggage.

Halfway through our stay, they did manage to move us to a decent room with a proper double bed and a normal size shower. After that, we enjoyed our stay fully. I asked for a refund upon leacing, but did not get any compensation. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatjaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this for a business trip and I guess it was cheaper than other 4 star hotels.
Location was good as my venue was 10min walk away. Only took 10mins to walk from Euston station.
Staff were friendly.
The room was the tiniest I have ever stayed in. The double bed took up half the room and I had to place my case on the bed to access the wardrobe. Tiny desk that couldn't take A4 folder portrait way. Tea/coffee facility in the room was standard. The shower room was compact, but the shower had minimal flow. The toilet paper was reasonable and not the cheap newspaper stuff often used!
There is no lift so if you had any disability or a heavy bag then you're stuffed.
My room was roasting when I arrived as the radiator had been left on full with the window open! Even a few hours later with the heating off, the room was still hot and it was difficult to sleep. You can hear the street outside but then it is a city hotel.
Breakfast was acceptable and service was efficient with pleasant staff.
The wifi was very slow so I used my 4G as it was much much faster.
For a business trip where I needed to bed down for the night, it served a purpose, but I won't plan to stay here again unfortunately.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel is located less than 10 mins away from Euston station which was great since we arrived close to midnight. Had a family room, which was a bit cramped but for all the time you spend in the room anyway it wasnt really a bother. Bottled water was complimentary which was a nice touch, as well as the usual coffee and tea. We stayed here 3 nights and did not try the breakfast, so cannot comment on how good or bad it is. Rooms could be doing with a lick of paint and a freshen up.The price we paid for 3 nights was pretty expensive for what you get but you,ve got to remember that it is London. Would stay here again especially for the location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_SandraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We were on the 14 floor for a weekend in London. The room was lovely, particularly the view from it. This hotel is in a great location, it is the second time we've stayed @ this hotel. Breakfast is plentiful. I would certainly stay here again. The staff were friendly & accommodating.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mardge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had the family room, large double room with a sofa bed. Room was very clean and quiet, it was at the back of the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Complimentary tray included biscuits and bottled water as well as the usual tea and coffee. Plentiful shower gel/soaps and towels with a nice big walk In shower. Excellent full English breakfast along with all the cereals, fruit, juice and yoghurt available for you to help yourself.
Location was great. 10 minutes walk from Euston station, 10 minutes walk from British Museum and only another few minutes walk from Covent Garden.
Only problem I'd anticipate is no lift and plenty of stairs though the reception staff would help with bags etc.
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, away from the main road are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#863 of 1,069 in London
46 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#648 of 1,069 in London
219 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#124 of 1,069 in London
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#81 of 1,069 in London
1,762 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#543 of 1,069 in London
344 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#133 of 1,069 in London
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury

Property: Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury
Address: 75 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #963 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel- Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing