We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #489 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I've stayed at the Glenlyn many times over the past few years and have probably been booked into most of their rooms by now. As a place to stay on business trips its been perfect. Considering where the hotel is based the value for money is excellent.

The hotel has all you need after a day of work - rooms and linen are clean and tidy, staff are friendly, and the bonus is the free breakfast!. Some reviews have mentioned the old furniture but that seems to add a bit of character to the rooms after a few visit - better than sterile hotel chains.

Location is good for London as its only a short walk from Woodside tube station, and a number of bus routes. If driving parking can be hit and miss in front of hotel, but there is usually on-street parking available at night. Being just off a major road into London is useful as well.

Hotel doesn't serve evening meals but there are a number of options nearby.

I've been fortunate to stay in one of their apartments which would be ideal for a family staying for a trip to London who don't want to eat out each night. The apartments are fully kitted out flats, and have a higher standard of fittings and furniture than the hotel rooms.

The only downside is this hotel is very popular so trying to book at the last minute I often missed out!

Room Tip: All the rooms are slightly different but note there is no lift. For a spot of luxury go for an apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delphwood_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    210
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
122
221
33
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week-end - two couples. We had a function in the local area.
The hotel is nicely situated near transport links, the bedrooms were very pleasant, the beds luxurious. There is a nice lounge to relax in and a separate bar and breakfast area. It was a bitterly cold week-end but the hotel was well heated. Everything was spotlessly clean. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to do everything they could to make us feel welcome and to help us in any way they could - above and beyond anything we have experienced in any other hotel., It is a family run hotel - and the individual attention we got made us feel like very special guests.
The breakfast was excellent, nicely cooked, very pleasant service and a good choice. We would highly recommend this delightful 'one off 'hotel/guest house to anyone. There is parking outside on their forecourt where we left our car. The friendly receptionist was very happy to book a mini cab service for us when needed, which worked well The whole weekend was a pleasurable experience..

Room Tip: we upgraded to a family room which had a king size bed plus a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

As a birthday treat, my two daughters and myself came to London to watch a show and stayed for one night in the family room. My girls chuckled as I kept commenting on how beautiful and white the bedding and towels were! The King size bed was excellent but I was relegated to the smaller bed, which could have done with some sort of brake on, as when I sat up in bed it slid across the floor and a bedside light beside it would have been a nice touch.

The room itself was in need of a little TLC but overall was spacious and very clean.

The breakfast room is lovely and had a great choice but we found the self service hot food a little luke warm, the staff were friendly and efficient.

Just a couple of minutes walk away is the high street with supermarkets, restaurants and plenty of other shops if you happen to need anything. The Woodside Park tube station is literally 5 minutes walk away, so it made getting into the centre of London so easy.

On our next visit I would definitely book again with Glenlyn

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenR098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 3 nights for the London IMATS. It was an easy 4 mile drive from the guest house to Alexandra palace and the hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly, they went on their computer for us to look up maps and parking details at the convention. There was a friendly member of staff at reception 24 hrs a day. There was a tradition english breakfast buffet availible every monring which is basic but delicous and the kitchen staff were also very friendly and helpful. The location was supringly great there were many restaurants and shops on the door step. We will be staying here every year for the IMATS. The room was clean and we slept well. Good value for money. Recommend!

Room Tip: twin room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The hotel is conveniently situated for Woodside Park tube station, only a 5 minute easy walk away (though it is slightly uphill on the way back) Only stayed one night but the friendly receptionist allowed us to leave our car there for the full 2 days - saving us finding & paying for car parking. The furniture in the room had a few chips & there was only a bedside cabinet on one side of the bed. The rest of the building, however was immaculate - never have I seen staff so obsessed with cleaning!! There is a very pleasant and very reasonably priced bar area, and an excellent self service breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Briatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I visited Europe and needed one night in London before my flight back to the states. We booked the Glenlyn. It was our best stay for the entire trip. They upgraded us to one of their apartments for free due to vacancy. It was a wonderful surprise!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford on avon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

£12 in a taxi from here to the darts at alexander place ,short walk up the slight hill to the hotel from the tube ,very clen and tidy ,good breakfast ..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#594 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#651 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#421 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
London Guest House
London Guest House
#501 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
10.6 mi away
Church Street Hotel
Church Street Hotel
#453 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hendon Hall Hotel
Hendon Hall Hotel
#420 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Property: Glenlyn Hotel
Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#268 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing