We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment”
Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #493 of 1,067 Hotels in London
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Apartment”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during the Olympics. We needed a place that would accomodate the 5 of us, and found the apartment to be perfect! Because the apartment was so comfortable, we could have easily stayed here much longer, and if we are ever in London again, probably will. Breakfast was very good, the staff was very helpful, and the location was quiet and close to the underground.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    212
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
123
224
33
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Point, NC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I booked two rooms for five nights for my wife, son and myself in June before my son began a study abroad program at Oxford. Based on what I had read I wanted to be out of central London for a couple of reasons. I could get two rooms here for less than what I would have paid for one in central London and the hotel was really more of a collection of converted Victorian houses than a hotel. It felt like a guest house just as it is called. The area is not packed with tourist and I could get a better sense of real life in London. There were also a variety of bars and restaurants to choose from that again were not tourist traps. There was shopping in the area, including a grocery store which was the main place that we went to pick up things that we needed. I had read about the Northern line trip and it was a nice five minute walk to the tube when we went into the city. I will warn you, however, it is a bit uphill walk back to the Glenlyn so after a long day out my wife did not look forward to the walk up the hill to the hotel.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and I liked being able to leave the key at the front desk and not worry about carrying it around all day. Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed it each morning. We found enough variety for our tastes even though they had the same basic spread each morning. The breakfast area room was also very lovely in the morning. The first afternoon when we arrived was unusually warm for June and both of my family members complained about the lack of airconditioning. The staff was quick to find me a couple of fans and that really helped. With the fans and being able to open the windows it was not uncomfortable just not what we are spoiled with having coming from the US.

The other complaint that I got from my family was the flights of stairs that we had to walk. We were on the third floor at the end and back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard. This area was quiet and if we were only packing for a week in London would have been fine. Since we were staying for an extra week in Ireland and my son would be at Oxford for a full summer session we had several pieces of heavy luggage that we had to haul up to our rooms. There were no elevators and the stairs were a bit narrow. I considered this a minor inconvenience which was more than offset by the seclusion that we had in this part of the hotel and having two rooms joined by a small hallway. My family may not have totally agreed. We may have actually preferred one of the apartments but they were booked and I did not get to see them.

Once we were settled into the rooms however they were excellent. My son's room was actually larger than the room that my wife and I shared but having two rooms gave us plenty of space. The beds were comfortable and except for getting used to the lack of air-conditioning the first night I slept fine. The rooms were clean and housekeeping did a good job of keeping them that way.

We did use the recommended transportation on a couple of occasions and they were very friendly, available on time (very early on a couple of mornings) and the only problem we encountered was actually finding the college were my son was staying in Oxford. I suspect that is not a usual trip for them. As an aside the bus trip back from Oxford was very easy and I probably should have just done that both ways but I did not want to haul luggage on the tube.

Overall I would have rated my stay as excellent but rated it as very good based on the comments from my family members. If you want to be in the center of things in London pick a central hotel and pay the cental prices. If you want a good clean "guest house" and not feel that you are in the middle of tourist central this is a great place to stay. I would be more than willing to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarheeltraveler4509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Lovely place to stay,found the staff very entertaining food was exceptional quality,would recomend to anyone,noise was slighty much off road but so tired with all our activities it didnot materr,plrnty to do with the olimpics being on aswell,so overall very nice and again wud recomend to anyone

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozzer1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here for one night only prior to a trip to the olympics.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms (2) clean and well equiped with lovely white bed linen and towels. Although we had to leave at 6.30am we were offered and given a continental breakfast by the night porter. The guest house is withing easy reach of the underground and we were able to leave our car in the car park until we returned to collect it on our way home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill65hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

All the family met up here earlier in the year. Three of us had an apartment for three nights and our guests were free to come and go. We lived in the area for years, and it was good to be back in Finchley among the shops and restaurants we knew.

The staff were very accommodating with camp beds, extra bedding etc.and it was all good quality. My daughter was taken ill while we were there, and was allowed to stay on for a few extra days at a reduced price until she was well enough to travel home.

The well designed rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The kitchen and bathroom were clean, up to date and stylish, although a few more mugs might have been ideal! TV's everywhere but best of all, french windows from the sitting room to the garden, where I could have a sneaky cigarette.

The breakfast buffet was very good, plenty of choice.

We did have a problem one night with noise from the apartment above, but a member of staff was there within minutes to speak to them.

We felt it was very good value for money and would happily stay again any time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, ND
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

A friend and I stayed at this bed and breakfast for a few days after a 7 week trip around Europe. We were very impressed. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a room on the second floor, and they had somebody to help carry our bags up and down the steps. They were also very knowledgeable about the area and were able to direct us to where we needed to go. The room was very large and clean compared to other rooms we had stayed in throughout Europe. The beds were very comfortable and breakfast better than any breakfast we had while in Europe. There was no air conditioning, but they had a fan in the room which worked just fine. The city center is a little far away, about a 30 minute tube ride. It was worth staying outside of the city center though because it was a quiet residential area and only a 5 minute walk to the tube station. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to anybody!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great hotel. Have stayed here several days during July for about 4 years. Service and staff are excellent. Room is on the small side but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is a very good "English Breakfast". Close to tube station, so access to downtown London is good but a bit far. Parking on site.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#599 of 1,067 in London
87 reviews
8.2 mi away
London Guest House
London Guest House
#503 of 1,067 in London
233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#655 of 1,067 in London
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#393 of 1,067 in London
207 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
2.4 mi away
Hendon Hall Hotel
Hendon Hall Hotel
#444 of 1,067 in London
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Property: Glenlyn Hotel
Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#268 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing