We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great guest house”
Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #465 of 1,068 Hotels in London
winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great guest house”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

glenlyn is a real gem.great staff.great breakfasts. lovely rooms.very close to the high road and a few minutes from the tube. Also great price what more could ask. We have been coming now for two years and will continue to put our feet up here.

Room Tip: the best guest room in the northen line in barnet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    214
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
129
225
33
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Lovely guest house. Very clean with friendly and helpful staff. Free parking. Nice breakfast. Easy to get to and from London on tube. Would recommend. Good to get to from m1 and easy to find. Nice garden at rear of property. Shops and a good choice of cafes and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j-truecolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

My friend and I stayed here in room 17 (twin room) for 1 night. The white bedding was crisp and fresh, the wardrobe etc.. although dated provided plenty of storage.

Hairdryer provided, flat screen tv, Comfy (albeit very noisy and squeaky) beds. Laminate floor, nice bathroom with bath and decent shower over, lovely white fluffy towels, towel radiator, shaver point, mirror light etc.

Small niggle, the door was still very wobbly even when locked but apart from that nothing to complain about breakfast was lovely - better than I had expected - good choice of food!

And last but not least service with a smile- lovely young lady (possibly eastern european?) on reception who was there when we booked in late in the evening and there again early in the morning still with a smile. Didn't drink in the bar but the young man behind the bar again came accross as pleasant and friendly.

In a nutshell: would return.

Room Tip: don't think there is a lift, but for 2 fit youngish ladies with small cases it was no problem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had a very pleasant 3 night stay at the Glenlyn Guest House in late Sept. We liked that it was quiet and away from Central London, but easily accessible by Tube. It's a great spot to use as a base for exploring London. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and also tried some of the local area restaurants. The hosts were friendly and very accommodating, patiently answering all of our questions. Would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My mother and a friend of hers (both ~75) stayed here for 3 nights and had a great experience. The staff were very accommodating and really helped to make their stay special. It's very close to the tube and their are a number of good eating establishments nearby too. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! It is only a 30 tube ride from London, and a short 5 to 10 minute walk to the Glenlyn Inn from the tube station. Looking forward to staying with them again. My daughter and I had planned to stay with them for only 3 nights. That all changed when I had a medical emergency and had to spend 5 nights in St. Mary's Hospital in the middle of London. I called them from the hospital and asked Paul (the wonderful owner) to extend our stay for another night. He said that the room we were in was booked but offered to move us to another room. He really ment it when he said they would move us. When my daughter got back to the Inn on Saturday they actually moved all of our suitcases to another room for us. They put us in a room that had no stairs and a private entrance so my recovery would be easier. They even offered to arrange to send a car from the local car service company for my daughter . Since we had only been in London for one day she was a little concerned that she would get lost using the Tube (later after using it a few times we found it to be quite easy and convenient to use). Most mothers will understand how concerned I was at first having my daughter alone at the Inn while I was in hospital. After speaking with Paul I was totally at ease with her being their by herself. She was able to get food, groceries, money, ATM, as these were all only a five minutes walk away in a totally safe neighborhood. We ended up staying there for 13 nights. The front desk staff were very helpful. They helped us figure out our phones so my daughter could cal my husband back in the USA. They helped her with restaurant suggestions and directions and arranging car service. We were very well taken care of. The breakfast were very filling and had a large assortment of items to choose from. After the first day they knew without asking what kind of toast we wanted and it would magically appear on our tray. The dining room was very large and sunny and looked out onto the beautiful landscaped garden. We had our laundry sent out and it was returned to us that same day. The bartender was kind and a pleasure to talk with. A nice touch to have. The Inn consists of a number of Victorian houses that are now connected. So each room is different.Yes there are stairs but they helped with our luggage when we checked into the first room and then later when we needed to change rooms. The bathrooms were quite large and very clean. We have stayed in other places in the center of London that were 3 times the price with very small rooms and very very scary bathrooms. The bathtubs in both our rooms were quite large and you could actually take a nice long soak. The beds were really comfortable and the comforters were a nice touch. They rooms had a coffee and tea set up. The curtains were thick and blocked the sun so that I could get some needed rest. The windows opened and provided a nice breeze during the wonderful heatwave that we had while there. The price is very good. It is so worth the 30 minute tube ride to be able to rest in such a comfortable clean place. We look forward to stay here again on our next trip to London. Thank you so much Paul and family and staff. You helped make a very complicated vacation turn into a pleasant relaxing & exciting experience.

Room Tip: Take the local car service to and from the airport. Just call the Inn and they will give you the num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I think this is about the 5th time we have stayed at the Glenlyn over the years.
Always the same - Great service and really nice friendly staff.
Clean and comfortable rooms and very good food & drink
Look forward to our next visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#604 of 1,068 in London
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#650 of 1,068 in London
457 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#408 of 1,068 in London
209 reviews
8.2 mi away
London Guest House
London Guest House
#491 of 1,068 in London
237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge London Finchley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Property: Glenlyn Hotel
Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#268 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing