We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second 2week stay”
Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #483 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Second 2week stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Once again the Glenlyn worked out for my wife and I. We enjoy the 10 minute walk to the tube and the 30 minute ride into the heart of the city. For the experience we took the double decker into Victoria Station ( well over an hour) but sitting in the front seat on the upper deck was great fun.

Breakfast is the same every day, but it has a good choice of full English, fruit, cereal, juices, pastries, tea, coffee, and more.

Staff are very nice, helpful. The hotel kept our bags for a few nights while we did a side trip to York.

Bed was comfortable, rom temp was rusted with het and the opening of the window.

We climb stairs easily, thankfully, as there is no elevator. We'll be staying here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EdwardJHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    212
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
123
222
33
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

we stayed here as going to a concert at the alexandra palace. absolutely nothing negative to say about the hotel apart from the breakfast times which finish at 9.30am. as we were out late the night before it would of been nice to have a little lay in followed by a leisurely breakfast but instead we had to set our alarm clock to get up and ready. but the breakfast was very good quality and lots of choice. very impressed considering the price of the hotel!.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26smiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed in this hotel twice now and we will continue to make this our go to place when we visit London.

We love the fact that there is free parking, or just parking in general! The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from a tube station, which makes traveling into London a breeze. The area is a nice little suburb and a few minutes walk will lead you to local stores, restaurants, and pubs for those days where you just want to relax in your room.

The first time we stayed here we actually got upgraded to one of their apartments. This was a pleasant surprise. When we entered the apartment we were absolutely amazed. The bedroom was spacious and the bed was very comfy. The kitchen and the living space was also magnificent. The floors for the kitchen and bathroom were even heated so feel free to walk around happily barefoot! There was no tub in the bathroom but there was a big shower that felt amazing. The apartment even comes with a washer and dryer. Since we weren't expecting to be in an apartment in the first place, we didn't use the amenities but if you want a nice place to stay that has a lovely kitchen, washer and dryer, and a back garden space then I would recommend the apartment.

The second time we stayed here we were in just a basic room. The rooms are quite small but still quite nice. We got a room that shared a wall with the front of the building, so we got big lovely windows that really made the room nice. I'm pretty sure the double bed was just two twin beds pushed together (you could feel the crack in the middle) but all in all it was still quite comfy. The bathroom was quite small and the shower didn't quite work like a shower. It seemed like the thing the shower faucet was attached too just wouldn't stay up so if you tried to take a shower, the water would just hit the wall making it impossible. So in the end, we just had to take off the faucet and shower by holding it. In the morning, the building was kind of noisy. I think there was some work being done because men kept carrying items in and out of the building, which was slightly annoying but nothing too bad. The room was still pretty nice for the value.

What I love best about this place is the complimentary breakfast. They have it set up as a buffet style with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, mushrooms and tomatoes. There were other things too like fruit and cheese and yogurt. They serve you tea or coffee along with toast. The breakfast area is also very nice and overlooks the back garden. You won't be disappointed with the breakfast!

All in all, this hotel is very nice for the value. If you come to London with a car and you want to be able to take the tube into London, this is the perfect place. We will certainly come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalleAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Recently enjoyed a second stay in this guest house. This time I was accompanied by my wife and her sister. They bought thought it was great. Clean, comfy beds, good bed linen and soft towels. It's very close to the High Street with lots of places to eat, coffee shops, Boots, Argos, newsagents etc. Very close to the tube as well. Yes, it is a little basic,and the rooms could do with updating. However, if you want somewhere near the Tube, clean, quiet, comfortable, with a good breakfast and good value for money, then you cannot go wrong here. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reflecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the Glenlyn overnight 23rd to 24th August. We usually go to Travelodges or Premiere Inns but wont be doing so again when we visit London! The welcome was warm and the staff couldn't have been more friendly. The hotel was spotlessly clean, as was our room. The room had character and masses of drawer/wardrobe space, situated at the back of the hotel and overlooking their lovely garden. We will definitely return to the Glenlyn next time we are visiting London

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

On arrival we were told the hotel was full so we'd be staying in one of the apartments next door. The apartment was lovely but quite dusty & some of the untensils could have been cleaner. Breakfast was nice. Lovely hotel generally. Good location & very nice thai restaurant near by.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorningsEleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very basic b&b , lots of narrow stairs to lug bags, no one to help. Bathroom not great, terrible shower in bath. Breakfast ok ,standard.
Best thing about hotel was parking and proximity to the northern line tube.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#598 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#645 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
8.2 mi away
London Guest House
London Guest House
#501 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#407 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hendon Hall Hotel
Hendon Hall Hotel
#435 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Property: Glenlyn Hotel
Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#268 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing