We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenlyn Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Glenlyn Hotel
Ranked #488 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet location, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We wanted to be close to London but to stay in a quieter location and this hotel was perfect. The tube station directly into London is just at the end of the road so it was really easy getting to and from the centre. Camden town is also only two stops away. The hotel was in a leafy suburb and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating and made sure we felt welcome. The beautiful leafy gardens are peaceful and relaxing, really nice to sit in and enjoy the cooked breakfasts, which were also great. The hotel had just built some apartments at the same location and we would definitely return here on our next London trip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    210
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
122
221
33
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Breakfast was top notch, buffet style.
Comfortable clean room, larger than expected for London.
Tube station close by. Sainsburys at the top of the street on the main high street, as is a good pu to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank molotolotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from her graduation at the Middlesex University and we had chosen to stay at the Glenlyn Guest House which looked superb and Victorian looking.
In fact we were not disappointed because it is close enough to the centre of London ( Woodside tube station is down the same road) and it only took us about 30 to 35 minutes to the covent garden and thereabouts. As for the Middlesex university it is two bus trips away ( 125 to Finchely central station and 143 to University) Same goes for the large shopping centre Brent Cross. The 143 stops outside it.
The hotel staff gave service with a smile, the owners and their granddaughter are charming, the hotel smelt of cleanliness and was spick and span. They served a full English breakfast or Conitinental. My only problem was that the mirror the bathroom was too high up ( I am 5ft 1) so they said they will do something about it.
It was also a pleasure to lounge around the garden since we had mediterranean type of heat throughout our stay.
I had recommended it to 6 others at the same time and they were very very satisfied too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for Eminem concert. Stayed in triple room, great room, really clean and spacious. Five minutes walk to Woodside Park station to get back into Central London, £8.00 top up on Oyster card allows you to travel all day on trains, buses, underground. £35 for cab back from Wembley. The conservatory and gardens are lovely, great breakfast. Would stay here again, great value compared to other London accommodation, recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Me O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at this guest house for 2 nights B&B during the 2014 London Marathon. We found the staff to be welcoming and friendly and there was a variety of choice for breakfast but the room we had was at the very top of the building, up about 4 flights of stairs, which was really small and uncomfortable and it was extra warm during the night despite leaving the window open.

The only saving grace was that the tube was only down the road so not far to travel and there are quite a few places to eat and drink round about, including a nice Italian, Costa and MacDonalds.

Not overly impressed with the venue considering the price however it was cheaper than others during the Marathon so can't complain. Would stay again but ask for a room lower down.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor - practically the loft just converted
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chezndale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night, it was ok for the price. Clean and not too run down at all. Some rooms a bit pokey with
no windows you could see out of but wouldn't see much anyway. Breakfast fine and staff good. I would stay there again if I needed to stay in the area again

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We've just returned from our third visit to Glenlyn - a family run hotel in North London. The staff are very friendly, helpful, cannot do enough to make your stay as good as it can be. There are the odd places where the decor could be touched up, but the place is spotless and ultra comfortable , with a bar available when you return from pounding the streets of the capital and need a little chilled glass of something. Breakfast excellent as always. Great place, great price

Room Tip: Just let the staff know your requirements, they will do their best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#595 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#654 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
3.5 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#422 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
London Guest House
London Guest House
#503 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
10.6 mi away
Church Street Hotel
Church Street Hotel
#460 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hendon Hall Hotel
Hendon Hall Hotel
#421 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlyn Hotel

Property: Glenlyn Hotel
Address: 6 Woodside Park Road | North Finchley, London N12 8RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in London
#154 Family Hotel in London
#268 Romantic Hotel in London
#321 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from Woodside Park Tube, the good-quality Glenlyn has good access to the Wembley Complex, Alexandra Palace and Central London, without the Central London prices. At Glenlyn there is free parking and free wireless internet. There is a high standard of comfort and service, and good links to the M25, M1 and A40. Glenlyn is outside the London Congestion Zone. The welcoming North London Hotel is family-run and offers modern yet cosy rooms. There is a private bar, a garden and a conservatory where good breakfasts are served. A new addition to the Glenlyn is our recently refurbished apartments, perfect for families and guests requiring the extra facilities and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glenlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlyn Guest House Hotel London
Glenlyn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing