We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Booking.com
£86
Agoda.com
£69
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,210)
Filter reviews
1,210 results
Traveller rating
248
346
271
153
192
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
248
346
271
153
192
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hyde park privacy curtains own bathroom kensington gardens twin room short stay location is great enjoyed my stay breakfast was included underground station tea and coffee min walk oxford street dormitory bayswater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 1,210 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2011

After reading the other reviews this hostel has received I felt compelled to come on to tripadvisor and let you all know my own opinions.
We stayed for one night in June of last year and I cannot fault it! We paid £8 each(!!!!) so cheap that I will admit to being a bit worried as we walked inside but all my worries quickly disappeared. The staff who met us were warm and helpful, got us checked in swiftly and were very polite and professional.
There was just one flight of stairs to our room and on entering I knew straight away we had done the right thing in coming here. The room was basic (as you would expect for £8) but it was clean and comfortable and the biggest plus for me was that we also got an en-suite bathroom - BRILLIANT! Plus you get a free breakfast!!!!!
Though it may not be that close to London's main attractions, Bayswater hosts a varied choice of restaurants and a few very nice little pubs. I would definitely stay here again!
In fact, I'm looking at booking again for the end of this June.
Don't let people's negative comments put you off coming to this place!!! Just remember you get what you pay for and if its clean and comfortable what more can you ask for!?!

Room tip: Go for one of the dorms - cheap and en-suite!!!
Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Linz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SmartHydeParkView, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it! We're glad to hear there were some positive aspects to your experience at our hostel and we're really sorry to hear that there were other things that you weren't happy with. We're always listening to guest feedback and working hard to improve. We'll be looking into all the points that you've mentioned and trying to find solutions for them. We hope you enjoyed your stay in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

A gang of drunken guests kept us awake one night. Staff was not in control. The in-charge staff made little effort to know their guests and stayed behind the sign-in desk, a sure sign of the "I'm in charge" attitude. I welcomed some of their suggestions, such as the cheapest way to get to the airport. But the name "Smart" hostel is misleading and I got the feeling that all the owners (whoever they are) t wanted was my money, Over-priced. Their hotel-hostel connotation needs to be looked at. Either you are a hotel or a hostel. Location was okay.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Resort802645
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SmartHydeParkView, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2019

Thank you for your feedback, first of all we apologize if you did not received what you expected. We take guests feedback so seriously to improve our services. We're really sorry to hear that there were other things that you weren't happy with. We're always listening to guest feedback and working hard to improve. We'll be looking into all the points that you've mentioned and trying to find solutions for them. We hope you enjoyed your stay in London. HPV TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Can't say anything about the hostel part, I booked one of the "hotel" rooms. The rooms were bigger than at the most of the hotels in the same price range, but you could hear everything from the street even at third floor level. The bed was squeaky, walls are paper thin as usual, tv had no remote but the room had a bathtub. Free wifi was a bonus.

It has a good location, few minutes to Queensway and just a stone throw to Hyde Park. It doesn't look very appealing, though, but it's not a dumpster like Wake Up, either.

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TitusSB, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2011

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We chose this hostel in late August, after an extended search. All the other places we considered had more minuses, like they were very far from the center, they were to expensive for what they were offering or they had terrible reviews. With Hyde Park View things were not great, but they were good on all aspects.
We did find the address pretty hard, but after that we realised that it is very easy to find once you know the place a little. It is a 5 minutes walk from Bayswater tube Station, which was great and the area is quiet and clean. We were a party of 6, and we had reserved 3 double rooms ensuite. On arrival only 2 of the rooms were ready, but that was because we arrived 3 hours before check in. They gave us the keys to the rooms that were ready so that we could use them for our luggage. When we got back at night the 3rd room was ok, so we settled in just fine.
The rooms were small and basic, but very clean and well heated. The breakfast, which was included, was basic, but ok. If I ever go back to London, I will most definitely stay in the same place.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkk2chane1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TitusSB, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2010

Thank you for your review, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This hostel has two big problmes from the beginning:
1) its name
2) how to find it
In fact, on the door is written the hotel is not called Smart Hyde Park View but a total different name ( that now I do not remember sorry ), then the zone is central, quite close to Piccadilly Circus but you have to find the hotel. We hired a taxi and since on Internet there was written the hostel was in a certain address we sent the taxi driver there, he left and then we noticed there was not hostel, since it was a mew! So one of us staied there with the big baggages and the other went in the main road to ask for information, some receptionist of a hotel told us that the hostel closed ( we were so disappointed since we already pad a deposit ) but luckily she was wrong, it was a totally different address, quite close to it but since we did not know that zone of London we could not know it and, being with many big baggages we needed to hire a taxi once more, so we spent a little fortune just to find the place! Then we found it, it is nice from outside and also the reception area that has information about the local zone and about the main tourist places of London, one receptionist called Monika was particurarly nice and helped us with one of our luggages that was really broken. You can leave the baggages in the baggages room for free when you stay there or for 2 pounds per item if you don t lodge there. There was a breakfast room that during the day was used by people to play board games, watch tv or simply chat. The place is divided in two: one is for the hostel and one for the hotel. We had a room in the hotel so we used the lift but hostel has not lift. Anyway we did not go in the hostel so can not comment on it. The room was not that big but for this quality of hotel is pretty big, we had a double bed and sleeping there was not that good since the bed was totally uncomfy but we were so tired we slept anywway. There was a restroom in the room, the cleaning was not the best but there were not bedbugs. Breakfast is free, it is served from 8 to 10 in the morning. The zone is pretty nice since is well linked with buses and tube to the rest of London and to the centre but during the night is calm since is a residencial area and almost all the hostel or hostels need to respect the "silence rule" after 10pm. You can find places to eat in a short walk and by bus in about 20 minutes you can reach the famous Piccadilly Circus without even changing the bus number! We paid the room 70 pounds as a discount we found on internet, but since we staied in better places for that price, is not a big deal. If you just need a place to sleep and do not care much about the comf of the bed, then go with it, it is nothing that horrible, if you are a little flexible and want to play hide and seek to find the hostel ( we got lost one evening since the streets around it are all the same!).

Date of stay: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superstarintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SmartHydeParkView, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Hyde Park View, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it! We're glad to hear there were some positive aspects to your experience at our hostel and we're really sorry to hear that there were other things that you weren't happy with. We're always listening to guest feedback and working hard to improve. We'll be looking into all the points that you've mentioned and trying to find solutions for them. We hope you enjoyed your stay in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews