We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only good thing about this hostel is the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Ranked #449 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The only good thing about this hostel is the location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Arrived with 4 of my friends for a 4 night stay for Wireless festival. We weren't told about a £10 deposit for the key card and it took an age for the staff to get the right price for what we were meant to pay for our stay. Room is reasonable enough but pretty small for 5 people. Cannot stress enough how RUDE the staff are, any question you ask is met with a response which makes you look like you've asked the most stupid question in the world. Really unhelpful, poor attitude and just lacking any form of customer service skills whatsoever. Would not stay here again. Only positive was it was a short walk for us to the festival.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanneyk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    98
    99
    54
    51
See reviews for
24
57
75
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed in this hostel with 4 friends as we needed to be in close proximity to Hyde Park for a festival. On arrival we were told that we had to pay a £10 deposit each for the keys. This wasn't a problem but the staff were outright rude and unhelpful about it. When we arrived back one evening we were questioned as to why we all did not have a key on us. Why would each of us need a key to only be returning at the same time? It seemed silly really that we were told we must always carry a key on us individually. However, the rooms are clean but very basic and there is a severe lack of plugs. We had one plug with 2 sockets in the entire room. The rooms are also rather small for what you pay - 2 bunk beds in a 6 person room so you can imagine the height of the bed on the 3rd layer of the bunks. It is also rather noisy (but I admit we were also quite loud some nights). One thing that this hostel does have going for it is the location. It is close to the Queensway, Bayswater and Lancaster Gate tube stations which are great for getting about. Upon checkout, there was a massive queue with only one person on the desk. We were also told that if we wanted to leave our bags it would be £2 per bag for a space in the luggage room. I would have considered staying here again if it hasn't been for the rudeness of the staff and the small rooms. There was a loud argument between members of staff which was a total put off and very bad for customer service in my opinion and they were also rude to a man who was confused about what bed was his in a room. There is really no excuse for it!

Avoid!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanBanan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My question when I entered my room was, "How can you fit 9 people (with luggage) in one small and tiny room?"
The space is just too small! If everyone is not in their bed, the common space in the room is crowded and you can hardly have space to move around. The room has poor ventilation (small window) so it gets extremely stuffy and warm especially when all 9 people are in the room. We have to open the door the let fresh air in.

The free breakfast in the morning is so-so. They only give 1 free hour of wifi everyday but it's quite buggy sometimes; and you can only use it in the dining room and reception/pub area. The signal is too weak to reach the rooms.

Book this hostel only if you're desperate, on a shoestring and extremely not fussy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Great location, clean tidy rooms, feels more like a hotel than hostel, Staff really friendly and helpful, Good variety for breakfast. Thank you for a pleasant trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kraz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Rooms were pretty nice. Breakfast was ok. Would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Me and my partner stay here from Sunday til Tuesday over the Jubilee weekend. We booked a private double ensuite room. When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised to find that our booking included breakfast and free wifi. The room was on 3rd floor and looked out over the front of the building. For a hostel I was very pleased - it was more like a budget hotel! Bed was comfy enough, good sized tv, kettle in the room and bathroom was a good size and clean.
Breakfast was a help-yourself continental with toast, hot drinks, cereal + yoghurt. The reception was 24hr but we didn't find the place to be noisy at all and had a great nights sleep both nights! Great to see older couples and families staying there too, showed it was a decent place and not just a 'travellers rest'.
There was a grocery shop and a couple of deli/takeaways across the road that were open all day and most of the evening (if not all night, I'm not sure).
Two tube stations with 5/10mins walk and on a lovely side street near Hyde Park.
We were very happy and would definitely stay here again!! :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quincifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had a private room on the 4th floor. The hostel has an elevator, which is a nice convenience. Our room even had a TV, which shocked us. We also had a kettle and a fan, as well as a nice bathroom and a comfy double bed. The room was made up each day and the place was spotless. The staff were helpful, even when we had really stupid questions (and we did!)

The location is great, as others have mentioned - close to the tube, next to Hyde Park. What I also liked was the road where the hostel is, there are a few different little shops (convenience store, diners). 5 minutes down the road by Queensway Station is a road full of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#150 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
#484 of 837 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cranbrook Hotel
#6 of 10 in Ilford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Equity Point London Hotel
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#67 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hyde Park View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

Property: Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Address: 16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #449 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Hyde Park View Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 110 yrd from Hyde Park, this hostel is a 5-minute walk from Queensway Underground Station. It offers spacious rooms with an en suite bathroom and free WiFi access throughout. The dormitories at Smart Hyde Park View all have lockers and a hairdryer for guests to use. Private rooms are also available, with a TV and telephone in each. Free Wi-Fi is available in the common areas. There is a lounge bar for guests to enjoy, with drinks, snacks and a flat-screen TV. Continental breakfasts are served daily. There is a 24-hour front desk and free luggage storage for early check-ins. The property is set in a classic listed building on a residential street in the heart of London's bohemian Bayswater, one of London's most beautiful districts. Smart Hyde Park View is 875 yrd from Kensington Gardens, and Marble Arch and Oxford Street are within 20 minutes' walk. The Royal Albert Hall can also be reached in 20 minutes' walk, and Westminster and the Big Ben are a 10-minute Tube ride away. Westminster is a great choice for travellers interested in Shopping, Theatre and Monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smart Hyde Park View Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hyde Park View Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing