We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Ranked #454 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have stayed in many, many hostels over the years and this is the worst I've experienced. I originally booked for 8 nights and left after 3 despite losing money, I couldn't stay any longer. The rooms are tiny, with about a metre in between the stacks of beds, absolutely no room to open luggage. It is incredibly stuffy and hot. The bunks are triple stacked and made of metal that creaks and groans anytime anyone moves an inch. The bunks are also very short, I'm 1.6m tall and my feet and head touched both ends of the bunk, any taller and you would have to bend your knees out the side. The bathroom was dirty, with the toilet only working half the time (the staff didn't care when informed of this). There was no soap in the bathroom. The staff allowed someone who was obviously drunk to check into our room at 4am, this person was then sick everywhere which went uncleaned for hours. The wifi only works in the foyer, there are no comfortable seats here. Multiple times when passing through the foyer people were complaining about broken showers and toilets, these complaints were always dismissed by staff as "being part of an old building". I was advised by staff I could obtain a refund (except for 2 nights that I forfeited) however the staff couldn't process this as they didn't know how to do it, I was advised to return the following day. When I returned the following day the staff still didn't know how to process a refund and were unable to contact anyone that did (including the on call manager). I then had to return again in which I asked to speak to Michael the Manager who dismissed me, refused to speak to me and simply told his staff to give me my refund (the same staff who claimed they didn't know how to do this twice previously). This place is in a good location but that alone does not redeem all of its other faults. This is not even a place you could claim is just to sleep in as sleep is all but impossible. AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank myfavouritescar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    98
    99
    54
    51
See reviews for
24
57
75
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this hostel and was pleasantly surprised at what we found. We had a private room with all the amenities, very comfortable and clean. The 2 girls on the front desk [ 13/07/13] were very helpful and although we arrived early they allowed us to leave our heavy cases in the locked luggage locker.
Breakfast was continental , basic, help yourself. The 2 girls working in the breakfast bar could have been more pleasant and at least smiled once or twice. The tube station and bus stops were in easy reach and various shops within the area.
We would defiantly use this hostel again.

Room Tip: go private room ..........clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

My friend and I were very disappointed with this place; it has a good location, good bathrooms and is clean but that's pretty much all it has going for it. The breakfast is awful and the bunk beds are 3 tiered ones. Our room had 6 people - 2 triple tiered stacks and if anyone opened their suitcase then no one could walk around the room because it was so small and narrow. Thankfully we were only there for 2 nights - 2 other guys in our room found a different hostel because they thought it was so bad as well. I also thought the staff were a bit useless and rude

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Everything and everybody was nice and perfect for us (two 21-year-old girls) :) i would absolutly recommend this hostel :)
The breakfast was really good, there was as much coffee/tea/toast/jam/butter/cheese/ham as you wanted, also yogurt and breakfast flakes!! The stuff was very friendly and helpful, you could talk to them anytime. The location is great, a 4 minutes walk from tube station "queensway" :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-explore-discover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

The good things...
It was clean.
Its about 10 mins walk from the station and about 3mins walk from Hyde Park in pleasant area of London.

The common room area is cozy, and small with plenty of DVDs and books to kill a spare few hours if needed.

Most rooms have their own bathrooms.
Lockers in rooms at the bottom of the beds.
Fairly clean for a hostel.


The bad things...
I had to swap my bed with a pregnant girl (I didn't mind) there was no way she could of climbed onto the top level of a 3 level bunk bed, it was even too high for me, as the steps up are badly designed and it is very easy to slip on them.

The breakfast was dreadful, the worst hostel breakfast ever, water, a bowl of jam, a bowl of the cheapest butter and white toast.

You need CASH to get a room card (door key) and you need CASH to get a locker key or a towel there is no cash machine near by, so make sure you have at £50.00 CASH on you just in case you want these things.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy20102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPVManager, Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hi Happy20102010,

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. Just to straighten up your comments: we require £10 deposit for the keys during the check in and we have it stated on our website and every booking agent websites. Our aim is to supply cheap and affordable accommodation to our guest at unique locations. We also offer free simple continental breakfast to our guests.

Hopefully your next stay with us will be more enjoyable:)

HPV Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balatonalmadi, Hungary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed twice so far in this hotel. Must say that we had bad experience in The Windmill in Acton and after one night we find this one.
Everyone very helpful, nice receptionists we got what we asked for! The price is good for this great location!
Top floor far right side of corridor from lift is really quiet. Which is great if you stay for a few days.
Shops and attractions can be reached easy.
We always walk cross park to reach the right bottom corner, where we shop at TKmaxx, Zara etc...
If We go to London we will stay here instead any other, because it is safe, dont want to have any more horrible night!
hope this helps!
Great travel to everyone!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms on top floor, far right from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSzab0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

my boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in September and were a bit apprehensive about staying in a hostel. However, it turned out to be really great, our room (double suite) was nice and comfortable, with a tv, fridge, kettle, desk and nice decent sized bathroom. It was clean and we had a large window to open which looked out over the rooftops on the other side of the street. Staff were friendly and accomodating, many of them appeared to be travellers from other countries as well. There's internet access in the lobby (you have to pay for) and free wifi in the rooms, however our wifi connection didn't work. Breakfast (included in the room price) is not bad to get you started for the day- toast, cereal, ham, cheese and tea/coffee. Reception is open 24 hours. Overall, given london is such an expensive place to stay in, I would definatley recommend this place (in a private room, can't comment on the bunk bed rooms) it's only a 5-10 minute bus ride to Oxford street or a 2 minute walk to a tube station. The kabab/curry place across the road is delicious and the people there are super friendly.

Room Tip: suites upstairs facing the main road allow you to open the huge window and let in some fresh air whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola_gorgonzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#150 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
#493 of 837 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cranbrook Hotel
#6 of 10 in Ilford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Equity Point London Hotel
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#68 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hyde Park View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

Property: Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Address: 16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #454 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Hyde Park View Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 110 yrd from Hyde Park, this hostel is a 5-minute walk from Queensway Underground Station. It offers spacious rooms with an en suite bathroom and free WiFi access throughout. The dormitories at Smart Hyde Park View all have lockers and a hairdryer for guests to use. Private rooms are also available, with a TV and telephone in each. Free Wi-Fi is available in the common areas. There is a lounge bar for guests to enjoy, with drinks, snacks and a flat-screen TV. Continental breakfasts are served daily. There is a 24-hour front desk and free luggage storage for early check-ins. The property is set in a classic listed building on a residential street in the heart of London's bohemian Bayswater, one of London's most beautiful districts. Smart Hyde Park View is 875 yrd from Kensington Gardens, and Marble Arch and Oxford Street are within 20 minutes' walk. The Royal Albert Hall can also be reached in 20 minutes' walk, and Westminster and the Big Ben are a 10-minute Tube ride away. Westminster is a great choice for travellers interested in Shopping, Theatre and Monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smart Hyde Park View Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hyde Park View Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing