We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smart Hyde Park View Hostel
Ranked #513 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed in one of the 9-bed rooms. I have read about the reviews before I went so I expected the worst, but it was OOOKKK, There is not much space but I guess it was good enough. Just don't expect 5 star, 4 star or even 2 or 3 star hotels. You get a bed and about 20cm of space to put your bags. But my biggest problem was the toilet. There is one toilet for 9 people. No hooks to hang anything. The shower is not adjustable so it just sprays everywhere onto the floor. Very poorly designed, whoever designed it, did not think about practical issues.

Staff were OOOOKKKK. Not that friendly. Didn't speak English very well some of them. They did not have enough pillow cases (...wth) but didn't seem apologetic, just shoved to me another bed sheet to use as a pillowcase.

They did not have enough city maps when I was there!! This is the first hostel I have been to that has done this. How do you travel through London if you have no idea where you are?

Location is excellent. Walking distance to tube stations, bus stops and Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens. You can even walk to Oxford Street (which I did) in about 30 mins. Unfortunately, that's about all that is good about the hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta K, Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We always take our guests feedback very seriously. We are sorry we run out of the free city maps and the pillowcases, sometimes situations like that are unavoidable but we do our best for them not to happen. Majority of our guests don't expect a hotel when we are a hostel and all our dorms have bunk beds in them. We are a proper hostel with a bar for young travellers on a budget. Hopefully you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Booked in for one night with some friends as we were going to a gig. Good central location but that's really all that's going for it. Got there and hit with a £10 deposit each for bed sheets, so £40 down before we even started out weekend. Yes we got it back but that's not really the point if you're staying at a budget hostel, the usual clientele of these hostels are poor youths to whom a tenner can be a lot. The 4 bed dorm I booked was underground and felt much like you were sleeping in a submarine. The clinical grey and blue decor did not help this. We had a window that opened on to what can only be described as a [--] heap, just a load of trash, wood panels and building materials chucked in a corner. The beds (two bunks) were comfortable enough to sleep in but what really tipped it was having a shower in the morning only to find that the only towel provided was covered in literal faeces! Classy. Be warned.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alexmc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta K, Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay fully but our organizational solutions are there for a reason: the windows on the ground floor don't open fully for better security of guests belongings, the security deposit is there for a key card and sheets and we mention it on all our booking platforms and we do not provide towels to the dorm rooms and we do not have a towel rental, you can buy new ones at the reception desk. So probably the towel you were using was left behind by previous guests. We apologize for all the inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The location of this hotel is very central ( as a hostel ) and is easily accesible both by the tube and by the bus (Closest Tube Queensway or Lancaster Gate). It is very basic with no riches as is expected of a hostel. The bathroom doesn't have any bath mats, and it's 5 pounds to rent a towel, so it might be best to bring a spare one before coming. It's breakfast is pretty basic, with toast and butter, and Kellogs and Milk and water as a drink. It isn't the best hostel I've been too, but compared to some hotel prices in London, I'd recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left of the building were a bit noisy from the outside so try to go for a room a bit mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierluigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel for 3 nights.
The location is excellent, accessible easily by foot from Bayswater and Paddington station.

The rooms are tiny, however they are clean and reasonable value for money.

If you want to see London and only need a bed an a light breakfast then this is for you.


Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stumpy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in one of the private double rooms just for one night while passing through London. The location was excellent (an easy walk to Paddington Station, Hyde Park and the Victoria and Albert Museum). The staff were friendly and checked us in quickly. The room was nicely and newly decorated and very clean, neat and tidy. The bathroom was also very nice. Certainly breakfast was nothing spectacular, but some cornflakes, a few pieces of toast and a cup of tea is absolutely adequate to start the day. We were very happy with the experience and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bohemianfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 10 days:

1. Perfect Location: best thing about this hostel/hotel is its location being very near to the Paddington tube/railway station and bayswater tube station, very silent and peaceful neighbourhood and all general need shops at walkable distance.

2. Value for money: The tariff is inclusive of a complementary breakfast and very well kept rooms. The prices can be seen on the site but this is the best one can get in this part of London, since I did a lot of research on hotels before my trip.

3. Reasonable Rooms: the rooms are small with a small attached washroom and not so spacy bed. But for travellers it serves fine as the only part of your day you spend here is your sleep time.

#Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g_gautam17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend in a double bed room. The bed was ok but the room was very stuffy and warm. Terrible if your there in summer. Our toilet barely flushed and required multiple attempts every time to flush it. This was also common with other guest we discovered. Our toilet also leaked water.

You can only get wifi downstairs in the common room which is also packed full of people almost all the time. There are no kitchen facilities also which is annoying.

The good points is that it was close to hydepark and many restaurants and subway stations. So for location it was good.

Overall the price you pay to stay here is really not worth it. Look elsewhere, there are better hostels then this in London.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_Kahuna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPVManager, Manager at Smart Hyde Park View Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hi Big_Kahuna2013,

We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. All technical problems are fixed right after we learn that they occurred so you should have contact the receptionist and this problem would be resolved promptly. About the heat in the room- we are also sorry, as we didn't expect a heat wave in London to last so long.

Hopefully you will give us another chance.

HPV Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#547 of 1,077 in London
801 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#64 of 930 in London
2,159 reviews
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#33 of 930 in London
1,238 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#145 of 930 in London
293 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hyde Park View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hyde Park View Hostel

Address: 16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #513 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £13 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Hyde Park View Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 110 yrd from Hyde Park, this hostel is a 5-minute walk from Queensway Underground Station. It offers spacious rooms with an en suite bathroom and free WiFi access throughout. The dormitories at Smart Hyde Park View all have lockers and a hairdryer for guests to use. Private rooms are also available, with a TV and telephone in each. Free Wi-Fi is available in the common areas. There is a lounge bar for guests to enjoy, with drinks, snacks and a flat-screen TV. Continental breakfasts are served daily. There is a 24-hour front desk and free luggage storage for early check-ins. The property is set in a classic listed building on a residential street in the heart of London's bohemian Bayswater, one of London's most beautiful districts. Smart Hyde Park View is 875 yrd from Kensington Gardens, and Marble Arch and Oxford Street are within 20 minutes' walk. The Royal Albert Hall can also be reached in 20 minutes' walk, and Westminster and the Big Ben are a 10-minute Tube ride away. Westminster is a great choice for travellers interested in Shopping, Theatre and Monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smart Hyde Park View Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hyde Park View Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing