We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only thing good about this place is the location”
Review of Pickwick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pickwick Hall
Ranked #599 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the only thing good about this place is the location”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

No doubt the location is excellent. It's right on the Piccadilly and Central lines on the Tube, and right next to the British Museum. However once you walk inside the place, you realize how run down it is. I wasn't under any impression that this would be a nice place. For how much it costs, I know I shouldn't expect much. BUT i did not it was going to be THAT BAD. I've stayed in old dorms and they are 25x nicer. The bathrooms are gross and moldy. This place needs some serious renovation. On another good note besides the location, the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elala5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    67
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
20
47
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We were led to believe that the Pickwick was a clean hotel. What we encountered was a filthy hostel. There was mold in the walls. Mildew was growing everywhere. The sink in the communal kitchen was covered in mildew or mold--completely black. Mildew covered the walls around the sink and food preparation areas. Food, bread and jam were left open all day and was moldy. Dryed human hair was stuck to the carpet, which was torn. One of the bathrooms did not work at all. Cold showers. The "high speed internet" was slow and did not work all of the time. Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lostis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I had stayed in Pickwick Hall for three time when I had trips in London.
The location is around 15 mins walking distance from Euston station,
10 mins walking distance to Russel Square station, and 3 mins walking distance to British museum. therefore it's easy and fast to reach major attractions in London. The Owner, Patrick, is friendly and helpful to answer my queries. I met some troubles on internet connecting in lobby with my laptop. His son is trying to solving the problem for one hour. the room size is adequate and equipped with washer, dryer, fridge and microwave oven. Breakfast is simple but sufficient and kitchen is free to prepare the meals.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaoChingLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I've stayed here a few times and it depends on which room you get and how many students, ozzies and kiwis are staying there. It can be noisy but it can also be quiet. Sometimes the room is clean and then other times not. It really is a bit of a gamble. The shower wasn't working one time I was there. Breakfast? Well, it'll keep you going for an hour or two. Perfect if you're broke.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BudgetBuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Unfortunately this hostel was the worst of our whole trip, but mostly because it was disgustingly dirty. The whole building itself is old, but the interiors were badly run-down. We had booked a double, but were given a room for four. Of the four beds, all of the bed covers had large blood stains and other stains. Even the walls had brown stains on them.

The bathroom was just as terrible. It smelled horrible (from the damp and probably because our room was in the basement), and looked so unclean I couldn't bear to use the shower.

Our disappointing breakfast was a choice of three types of bagged sliced bread (like Wonderbread) and jam/butter or cereal, coffee and tea, nothing else. The staff was eating fruit, but there was no sign that fruit was available for anyone else.

The woman on staff was a bit curt, but the older gentleman was really very nice and very helpful. He told us where there were good spots to eat, how we could save money taking the tube to St. Pancras rather than the Gatwick Express to get to the airport, directions to the museum, and let us keep our bags at the hostel after we had checked out.

The wifi is free, but was acting a bit wonky when we were using it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The hostel smelled of bad Indian food (or something). Moldy bathrooms and stained bedding, but I could tell it was cleaned. Free internet was nice and breakfast minimal. Location good, but there are far better places to stay in London for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeydoo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Don't get me wrong, the place is in awesome location, but if you can find a hotel or hostel close by, go with that. There is a reason why this place is cheap people. The showers didn't get hot, and the toilets worked half the time. The place was dirty too, stains all over the carpet and you could tell bleach has not seen the bathrooms in years. I found Patrick, the owner, to be rude and not very accomidating. Continental breakfast consisted of making your own toast and a glass of milk, if there is even any left in the fridge. If you like camping, this place would be ideal...

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paradigm207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,069 in London
137 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#485 of 1,069 in London
368 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#493 of 1,069 in London
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#516 of 1,069 in London
782 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,069 in London
1,232 reviews
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#701 of 1,069 in London
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickwick Hall

Property: Pickwick Hall
Address: 7 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pickwick Hall London
Pickwick Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing