We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, price and calm atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pickwick Hall

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pickwick Hall
Ranked #562 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, price and calm atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I chose Pickwick for its location, price and reasonable expectation that I'd be able to sleep soundly. I was not disappointed. As a bonus, I was welcomed with personal interest and intelligence. Breakfast was simple but well done. Toilets and shower were clean and worked well, and the place gave evidence everywhere I looked of the daily attention to detail that is key to maintaining decent standards. Internet on free desktop PC in common room worked well. I would stay there again without bothering to sort through the mass of hostels and private offerings in London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gpmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    64
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
17
45
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very nice hostel and a perfect location in London ! Clean rooms and bathrooms and very friendly people. Good Internet access and kitchen and living room available. I recommend it for young people, it's a very good value for money. We loved it ! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This lovely hostel in an antique building in Bloomsbury offers everything a traveler expects: a warm, helpful staff, comfortable, clean rooms, a common living room and a home-like kitchen. The neighborhood is beautiful and central, the hostel is a walking distance from Covent Garden, Soho, and other interesting places, and around the corner from the British Museum.

Room Tip: The suite downstairs, with a window to the yard is comfortable for one person, and still convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avitalgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I spent two nights on my own at the hostel. I spent the first night in a four bedded female dorm. No bunks, just comfy clean beds soft towels and some travellers to share stories with. I had a room to myself on the second night and it was a lovely room looking out over the pleasant street below. The staff are very friendly and it was great to discover that Patrick, the owner gives talks on the Vikings at the British museum every fortnight. This a rather special place with plenty of character and I would very much like spend some time there again. The price is too cheap for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This place is just 2 minutes walk from the British Museum and 15 minutes walk from Oxford Street. Easy to get to from Heathrow Airport – just grab the Underground from the airport, get off at Holborn, and Pickwick is a 5 minute walk away.This is an older style building but kept very clean. It is very quiet – most guests seem to be over 40. There is breakfast available included in the rate, cereal and toast plus tea or coffee. Breakfast is a good way to meet other guests.
There are some nice touches, such as a desktop computer and printer freely accessible in the sitting room, so you can print out boarding passes for onward flights etc. Be aware that there is no lift – if you have limited mobility, you might find the staircases a challenge. Also, the shower on the 3rd floor took a while to get hot. But I really liked this place. Super good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David_Hindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Everything about this is nice. The location is superb, the building is classic and beautiful. The showers and toilets were close to the room and clean. The room itself was spacious and nice all round - there were even nicely-folded towels on the beds with a soap bar. The staff is lovely, very friendly. Breakfast is excellent value for money as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yourai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kozina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

It was our first staying at this hostel, and i am 100% sure, that when I will come back to London, I will be staying here again. we arrived like 1 am in the morning and altouhg they do not have a reception, that is open all night, there was a super nice girl waiting for us. also the owner, Patrick is super nice. the rooms are big enough, the toilets and the showers are clean. they also have a kitchen and a dining room, and also some kind of living room. we felt like we were at home. the breakfast is simple but good. i must emphisise also that the hostel is situatet in excelent location. the british musem is like 5 min walking away. and covent garden, soho and piccadilly are like 15 min away. there is also a bus station and metro.
the price for the room is very low for this part of London.
I can only reccomend!
I

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#568 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Venture Hostels
#676 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#452 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickwick Hall

Property: Pickwick Hall
Address: 7, Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Pickwick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick Hall London
Pickwick Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing