We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Comfortable Surrounds, Average Atmosphere and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pickwick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pickwick Hall
Ranked #570 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Location, Comfortable Surrounds, Average Atmosphere and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

First of all, I would definitely recommend this place for a short stay. Why? Because the location is really awesome. It's a great jumping off place to explore some really great places in London such as Soho, China Town, Trafalgar Square and many other places. Plus, the neighborhood is just nice. Totally safe, clean, good. I was a little put off at the beginning because the woman at reception told me the money that I had just gotten at the airport was fraudulent. It turned out it wasn't (had it checked at a bank later), but that left a bad taste in my mouth. Other than that the room was fine. Nothing to write home about, but completely adequate. The showers, although not very aesthetically pleasing were clean and, as others have mentioned, had hot water and good water pressure. The included breakfast was basic, but well presented. Overall, I think this place was great value for money in a very central location and would recommend it. Enjoy :)

Room Tip: Didn't get to see any of the rooms other than my own, but apparently I was lucky to stay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SMETravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    64
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
17
45
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garve, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed at the Pickwick Hall for two nights in July and we were really happy with all aspects of our stay. It is fairly no frills as it's a hostel but it's clean and the room was a good size and the bed was really large and comfortable. There was also a fridge in our room which was a nice idea.
There is also a shared living room with lots of sofas/chairs and a TV and we were invited to bring food in there if we wanted to. The kitchen was light and airy and clean and tea, coffee and toast were provided too.
The (shared) showers were private with proper locking doors and really hot water.
The lady who checked us in couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. I can't believe how great this place is for the price, with it being so central.
Absolutely plan to stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook a little garden. Our room (4) was at the front and had a little balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SotOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very nice and friendly place.
Great, big rooms, very clean (also the shared bathroom!), quiet, supercomfty beds. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Some restaurants and a supermarket are close by. It's also close to Russel Square tube station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan831984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paia, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Followed the precise directions off webpage off Tube to find the Hall-- make sure you look for the number 7 above the door, because otherwise it's not labeled on the road.

Checked in with the man (can't remember his name)- he was super duper friendly and helpful. Stayed in the shared room once and a private room once. Both rooms had shared HOT shower and toilets. Old building, very London, but clean. Breakfast included in the morning was cereals and milk, toast and jams, tea/coffee. The other woman working the check in/breakfast was super duper nice and helpful too. We left our baggage at the Halls for 2 days while we trained around Europe and came back. Very secure site. No street noise for sleeping, slept very well. My only concern was that the rooms were somewhat stuffy/no air circulation really or fans. Location is unbeat, we walked to Covent Garden, British Museum basically next door, etc etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maui N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I chose Pickwick for its location, price and reasonable expectation that I'd be able to sleep soundly. I was not disappointed. As a bonus, I was welcomed with personal interest and intelligence. Breakfast was simple but well done. Toilets and shower were clean and worked well, and the place gave evidence everywhere I looked of the daily attention to detail that is key to maintaining decent standards. Internet on free desktop PC in common room worked well. I would stay there again without bothering to sort through the mass of hostels and private offerings in London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gpmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very nice hostel and a perfect location in London ! Clean rooms and bathrooms and very friendly people. Good Internet access and kitchen and living room available. I recommend it for young people, it's a very good value for money. We loved it ! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This lovely hostel in an antique building in Bloomsbury offers everything a traveler expects: a warm, helpful staff, comfortable, clean rooms, a common living room and a home-like kitchen. The neighborhood is beautiful and central, the hostel is a walking distance from Covent Garden, Soho, and other interesting places, and around the corner from the British Museum.

Room Tip: The suite downstairs, with a window to the yard is comfortable for one person, and still convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avitalgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#685 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#575 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickwick Hall

Property: Pickwick Hall
Address: 7, Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pickwick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick Hall London
Pickwick Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing