We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room was so unsanitary it gave me nightmares”
Review of Pickwick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pickwick Hall
Ranked #597 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Unfortunately this hostel was the worst of our whole trip, but mostly because it was disgustingly dirty. The whole building itself is old, but the interiors were badly run-down. We had booked a double, but were given a room for four. Of the four beds, all of the bed covers had large blood stains and other stains. Even the walls had brown stains on them.

The bathroom was just as terrible. It smelled horrible (from the damp and probably because our room was in the basement), and looked so unclean I couldn't bear to use the shower.

Our disappointing breakfast was a choice of three types of bagged sliced bread (like Wonderbread) and jam/butter or cereal, coffee and tea, nothing else. The staff was eating fruit, but there was no sign that fruit was available for anyone else.

The woman on staff was a bit curt, but the older gentleman was really very nice and very helpful. He told us where there were good spots to eat, how we could save money taking the tube to St. Pancras rather than the Gatwick Express to get to the airport, directions to the museum, and let us keep our bags at the hostel after we had checked out.

The wifi is free, but was acting a bit wonky when we were using it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Isabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

The hostel smelled of bad Indian food (or something). Moldy bathrooms and stained bedding, but I could tell it was cleaned. Free internet was nice and breakfast minimal. Location good, but there are far better places to stay in London for the same price.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honeydoo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Don't get me wrong, the place is in awesome location, but if you can find a hotel or hostel close by, go with that. There is a reason why this place is cheap people. The showers didn't get hot, and the toilets worked half the time. The place was dirty too, stains all over the carpet and you could tell bleach has not seen the bathrooms in years. I found Patrick, the owner, to be rude and not very accomidating. Continental breakfast consisted of making your own toast and a glass of milk, if there is even any left in the fridge. If you like camping, this place would be ideal...

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paradigm207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Lovely hostel. Free breakfast was just what was needed to get a good start on the day. Rooms were just right. A mirror with sink, desk, chest of drawers, fridge and microwave were in the room as well as two towels per person and a bar of soap. The hostel had free internet access and a comfortable environment. The washrooms were just fine and the showers were clean and working properly. The walls are very thin though and I did not sleep the best as the street noise was quite loud.
Overall, it was a nice hostel and a great place to stay if on budget!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magicandrea18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We spent 5 days in this hotel , and it was terrible. The walls were full of mould. It was actually to harvest the mushrooms in the corner and cook a tasty meal out of it.
In addition to this the walls had huge cracks and the windows didnt close proberly --> it was very cold .
the fridge and microwave oven were completely useless and it was impossible to sleep while the fridge was plugged in.
breakfast was very poor
staff confused
shower disgusting
shower curtain green of mould
carpet full of stains
bed sheet dirty
never ever again

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptainCha0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We spent 7 nights with my husband and his children at the Pickwick. Arriving in the middle of the night wasn't a problem as there was a night porter to escort us to our rooms.
We had booked two rooms, we were staying on the top floor with shared facilities which was ok for us.
The rooms were not cleaned daily, we had to ask them to hoover our carpet, the towels weren't changed during our stay. The beds were comfy, we had one room facing the back and another facing the front of the building. The location of the hostel is the best, near to Oxford Street, Covent Garden or any of the city centre sights. The location is very quiet in the evenings, safe to walk in the streets at night, a lot of pubs and restaurants in the area, close to two tube stations, one bus stop just in front of the hostel.
Breakfast is ok, just toasts, coffee, tea, jam, butter, cereals, milk. But there is a micro and a fridge in the room, and you can make your lunch or dinner in the breakfast rooms kitchen. Unfortunately there isn't a TV in the rooms, it would have been nice to watch the news in the mornings. The two computers in the lounge were always occupied by two American ladies in the mornings or in the evenings, so impossible to use them.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeppis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Wanted a hostel in the vicinity of the west-end, so I could walk back in the evenings after seeing a musical. Also wanted to be able to cook my own meals, so I wouldn't have to dine alone in a restaurant
The Pickwick Hall accommodated me in both. Don't go there if you're really all for cleanliness. Because it's tidy and clean for the eye. But don't look up to close. The showers and toilets were clean though.
In the central living room there are two computers which are online the whole day. As the permanent residents all have laptops, the visiting tourist can use these computer without having to queue.
I liked my stay there. The living in students are a group within a group. And as it is with groups sometimes they open up and sometimes they don't. No big deal.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbiebobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
LSE Rosebery Hall Residence
#684 of 1,076 in London
176 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,076 in London
1,251 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#606 of 1,076 in London
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#572 of 1,076 in London
990 reviews
Caring Hotel
#546 of 1,076 in London
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickwick Hall

Address: 7 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: £35 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Pickwick Hall London
Pickwick Hall Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing