We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaza on the River
Nearby Hotels
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,682)
Filter reviews
1,683 results
Traveller rating
1,134
311
124
68
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,134
311
124
68
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschino latinoriver viewbig benone bedroom suitelondon eyevauxhall stationpark plaza riverbankalbert embankmentwashing machinea small grocery storeroom servicefloor to ceiling windowsfull kitchenvictoria lineguest relationsstar hotelbuilding work
Filter
Updating list...
1,265 - 1,270 of 1,683 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This has to be the BEST place to stay IN LONDON!!! Pay extra for a balcony---it is so worth it! View of River Thames. The bedroom floor-to-ceiling windows looked up river and the living room & balcony floor-to-ceiling windows looked down river at Parlimentary, Big Ben and the London Eye. It is located across the street from the Thames Riverwalk on the Southbank between Westminster & Vauxhaul Tube Stations. The closest is Vauxhaul which is less than 1/2 mile away. There is a bus stop right in front of the building that takes you to the Vauxhaul Station...which is on the Victoria line. All of the staff is very helpful. The 24 hour room service was GREAT!!! We didn't intend to use it, but after a long day of sightseeing it was a nice option. The delivery was fast and the food was excellent!!! STAY HERE---YOU WON'T BE SORRY!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony. It is worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livengood2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2011

Dear Kansas City.
We are so pleased to read about your positive stay and experience while visiting Plaza on the River Club and Residence.
Looking forward having you back and please do contact myself directly if I can be of any assistance.
Kindest Regards
Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

we had to make an inpromptu trip to london for a weekend and wanted something close to town but definately on the river, we scoured some hotels and they were so expensive... the park plaza came in on budget and we are glad that we found it...

the rooms are great, clean, spacious and light, the hotel is so clean and the bar stays open late... one of the best parts is the restaurant, Chino Latino, we love sushi and the sushi and food here is extraordinairy, the menu is exquisite and the prices bang on...

added to that that you then jsut have to trot up to bed is just a luxury...

all in all, you cant do better for the money, location and food,

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frostyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Dear Frostyman,
Thank you for your review and for the comments on Chino Latino & Plaza on the River. We are looking forward to your visit in June.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I stayed at this hotel in August of 2010 with my husband and three children ages 4, 8 and 10 and it was a perfect fit for us. We wanted a hotel environment with the space of an apartment and that's what we got.The children had space to spread in the two bedroom and each room had it's own t.v. so no fighting there. We took the riverfront view which was awesome. No train noise. We could walk or catch the bus to the London Eye and Westminster. There are river tours nearby which take you straight to the Tower of London. There was a convenience store next door with groceries and fresh patries every morning which is a big help feeding kids when tired of restaurants. If I had one suggestion it would have been to change the colour of the carpeting in the bedrooms which were cream and starting to show a little wear, but the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BahamaBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the time you took to complete this survey. Looking forward to welcome you back to Plaza on the River.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We only stayed one night at Plaza on the River but really enjoyed it. The room was amazing and so spacious. The staff were very attentive and our breakfast the next morning was superb. We liked that it was served up to 11am so we didn't feel rushed at all. The location was very good and perfect for needs and we liked that you didn't have to check out until 12 noon which gave us extra time. The room was very clean and well equipped. We will definitely be returning in the future, hopefully for longer next time.

Sue & Dave Brown, Chelmsford

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

Dear Susan
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We do proud ourselves to delivery only the best service and to ensure all our guest's leaves satisfied and do hopefully return in the near future.
We looking forward in welcoming you back to the Plaza on the River Club and Residence.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

I feel like I have been to a lot of hotels in a lot of different parts of the world. Some of those were allegedly luxury hotels. However, as far as I'm concerned, the Plaza on the River outdoes them all. The room was, well, luxurious. The well-appointed and very modern bathroom featured many mirrors, a large shower stall with handheld shower head as well as the regular shower head (but can you call it "regular" at a hotel when there is excellent water pressure and real temperature control?). The tub had whirlpool jets. The remainder of the suite consisted of a small entryway, bedroom, kitchenette and sitting/working area. Both bedroom and sitting area had large flatscreen TVs, and the kitchenette was completely outfitted with cooking and dining utensils and pots/pans/dishes/etc. The kitchenette even had a dishwasher and a small combo washer/dryer -- and a lovely empty refrigerator, quite separate from the minibar! There was even a small stovetop; I know many of us don't undertake to cook and clean during vacation, the small grocery store just one door down from the hotel provided great material for nice snacks and it was terribly handy to have the refrigerator and microwave with which to take advantage of them. The washer/dryer were nice to have, too, and something we hadn't expected at all.

The bed was very comfortable, firm, with several different choices of pillows and a nice duvet.

For those from the US, there was a hair dryer provided by the hotel although the only plugs were in the sitting area or bedroom, with no mirror in sight. (The hairdryer was very handy as it turned out mine wouldn't fit into the adapter I had brought with me -- the single larger prong wouldn't go into the adapter). The desk in the sitting area did have a US-style 2-prong outlet. It wasn't marked 'shavers only.' We assumed it was 240 rather than 110 v but anything we plugged into it (the netbook, my hair straightener) were supposedly able to handle that, and nothing blew up! Oh, and loved the free wi-fi!

Although our room was not considered to have river view, since it sort of wrapped around the corner of the building, the truth of the matter is that both windows, bedroom and sitting area, had breathtaking views of the Thames. The view of the Vauxhall bridge in the deep of night from our cozy and comfortable 'apartment' is something that will be with me forever!

We did initially turn left when we came into the building, which took us to the Park Plaza hotel, which shares the same entrance. I have no idea what the rooms were like for that hotel, but it seemed more geared for functions -- there were several weddings celebrated there during our three-day stay. For the Plaza on the River, you need to turn right, up the small ramp to the single reception desk.

In addition to the grocery, we also are fans of The Rose, a pub about a block south of the Plaza on Albert Embankment, and the Riverside Cafe, just north of the Lambeth bridge and right on the riverwalk.

Room Tip: River or partial river view strongly recommended!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MysteryPoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Dear Poodle
Thank you for the time you've spend writing us these comments. It's great to always read such positive comments. Looking forward in having you back in with us on your next visit to London.
Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly if needed.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews