We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Plaza on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza on the River
Ranked #244 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Plaza and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary and a lovely bottle of wine was left, complimentary, in our room.
The room was spacious with a sitting room/ kitchen, even free milk in the fridge. We had a lovely view of the Thames.
Staff were very polite and efficient.
I see one review rated the hotel as terrible - WHAT PLANET ARE THEY FROM.
I would rate this hotel (and we've stayed at 5 star hotel all over the world) as better than excellent.
Thank you Plaza for a great stay

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaureenDavison48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear MaureenDavison48,

First of all let me take the opportunity again to congratulate you and your husband on your 45th wedding anniversary.
I was happy to hear that you stayed with us during this special occasion.
I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. I will pass your comments to all of our staff.

I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,526)
There are newer reviews for Plaza on the River
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

This Hotel is amazing, the views to Thames river and Big Ben are fantastic! I recommend the rooms view to the river.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.All facilities were excellent quality, there was a dishwasher,Nespresso, microwave, fridge,washing machine.
The kitchen very well equipped with Nespresso capsules and snacks free. Everyday products are exchanged,water, nespresso capsules, and a chocolate on the pillow with a blast card with time the following day.
The baths are very complete.and comfortable.
The breakfast was also very good, the best in terms of quality.You can choose the full English,The continental breakfast among other.
Very recommended! I love it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laia7art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear laia7art,

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you found the hotel suited to your needs.

I will forward your comment to the Housekeeping and the Breakfast Chef.

Please feel free to contact me or the Guest Relations Team prior to your next visit to arrange accommodation for you.

I look forward welcoming you back at Plaza on the River Club and Residence.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My family (made up of 4 adults) stayed here for 9 nights. Every day we came back to a cheerful smile from the receptionist as we got on the elevator. The rooms were quiet. The restaurant was pricey, but the food was wonderful. Subway/bus/train was a few blocks away. Several nearby pubs and small restaurants were also close. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Karen M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your dinner in our award winner Chino Latino Restaurant.

Please feel free to contact myself or the Guest Relations Team to arrange reservations for you and your family.

I look forward welcoming you back at Plaza on the River in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I booked this hotel as an overnight stay in London for my husband's birthday, based on reviews and on wanting a hotel with a view over the river and the London skyline. We loved it from the moment we arrived. I'd booked a one-bedroom suite but it wasn't clear from the web site information that this wouldn't have the iconic view of Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, so we upgraded to a two bedroomed suite with a balcony and it was worth the extra. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful, and there was a birthday card waiting along with a special arrangement of fruit, cookies and snacks - a really lovely touch. The location was perfect as we could walk right into Covent Garden, and the views at night over London were wonderful - especially from the balcony where we heard Big Ben chiming midnight. The suite was very spacious and the bed was huge and extremely comfortable. All in all, a memorable stay at an excellent hotel - thank you.

Room Tip: if you want a view of Big Ben you need to opt for a 2 bedroom suite. Otherwise, the view to the wes...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nod63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear Nod63,

I am truly delighted to know that you have found our hotel great and chose Plaza on the River to celebrate such a special occasion with us. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and your room.

This kind of reviews gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests.

Once again we would like to wish a Happy birthday to your husband.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in London soon.

Kindest regards,

Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

From the start our request for early check-in was granted. This is must when traveling with a 3 and 6 year old. All the major sites are in walking distance as well as the Underground and RER. The latter is perfect for day trips to Windsor and Hampton Court. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. We would definitley stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Andrew B,

Thank your your feedback and the time you took to write to us.

We are very glad that you had a great experience and do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We booked a corner suite and could not have been more pleased with our stay. We arrived very early after an overnight flight and the wonderful staff was able to check us in to our suite, which was very much appreciated. Huge living room with beautiful view of the Thames and Big Ben, and a balcony to sit outside and further enjoy the view. Gorgeous bathroom with huge soaking tub. Very quiet hotel-great for a good night's sleep after lots of touring. Close to all major tourist attractions and a tube station. We were thrilled with the entire experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dexter232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear MelissaJay,

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the hotel.

It is comments like these that enable us to motivate our team to achieve greater heights.

Should you decide to re-visit us, please let me know so I can welcome you in person.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We just stayed in the 2 bedroom balcony suite with river views, and we absolutely loved it. The room was modern and elegant with incredible views of the Thames and Parliament/Big Ben. And the location, while not as central as Knightsbridge was absolutely fine- 10 minutes away from everything. We took a double decker bus accross the road to the Tower, which was really fun.

I highly reccomend the hotel for a family looking for a luxury experience in London.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wyckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Wyckham,

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to read that you have your enjoyed your time with us whist visiting London.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Gabriella Kolber
Assistant Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#386 of 1,073 in London
5,357 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#163 of 1,073 in London
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#104 Family Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
#183 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £176 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing