We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
Ranked #197 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
saraha1970
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Feb 11 on business.

Great location & room was perfect. Hotel bar & restaurant decent standard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saraha1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear saraha1970,

Thank you very much for your recent comment regarding your stay at POTR.

I was glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward welcoming you back whether for business or leisure in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    249
    80
    42
    27
See reviews for
514
379
66
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Plaza and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary and a lovely bottle of wine was left, complimentary, in our room.
The room was spacious with a sitting room/ kitchen, even free milk in the fridge. We had a lovely view of the Thames.
Staff were very polite and efficient.
I see one review rated the hotel as terrible - WHAT PLANET ARE THEY FROM.
I would rate this hotel (and we've stayed at 5 star hotel all over the world) as better than excellent.
Thank you Plaza for a great stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenDavison48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear MaureenDavison48,

First of all let me take the opportunity again to congratulate you and your husband on your 45th wedding anniversary.
I was happy to hear that you stayed with us during this special occasion.
I cannot thank you enough for your very kind feedback on your recent stay with us. I am really pleased to read that you were satisfied with our staff and services. I will pass your comments to all of our staff.

I truly hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you back soon.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lleida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This Hotel is amazing, the views to Thames river and Big Ben are fantastic! I recommend the rooms view to the river.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.All facilities were excellent quality, there was a dishwasher,Nespresso, microwave, fridge,washing machine.
The kitchen very well equipped with Nespresso capsules and snacks free. Everyday products are exchanged,water, nespresso capsules, and a chocolate on the pillow with a blast card with time the following day.
The baths are very complete.and comfortable.
The breakfast was also very good, the best in terms of quality.You can choose the full English,The continental breakfast among other.
Very recommended! I love it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laia7art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear laia7art,

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you found the hotel suited to your needs.

I will forward your comment to the Housekeeping and the Breakfast Chef.

Please feel free to contact me or the Guest Relations Team prior to your next visit to arrange accommodation for you.

I look forward welcoming you back at Plaza on the River Club and Residence.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

My family (made up of 4 adults) stayed here for 9 nights. Every day we came back to a cheerful smile from the receptionist as we got on the elevator. The rooms were quiet. The restaurant was pricey, but the food was wonderful. Subway/bus/train was a few blocks away. Several nearby pubs and small restaurants were also close. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Karen M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your dinner in our award winner Chino Latino Restaurant.

Please feel free to contact myself or the Guest Relations Team to arrange reservations for you and your family.

I look forward welcoming you back at Plaza on the River in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I booked this hotel as an overnight stay in London for my husband's birthday, based on reviews and on wanting a hotel with a view over the river and the London skyline. We loved it from the moment we arrived. I'd booked a one-bedroom suite but it wasn't clear from the web site information that this wouldn't have the iconic view of Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, so we upgraded to a two bedroomed suite with a balcony and it was worth the extra. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful, and there was a birthday card waiting along with a special arrangement of fruit, cookies and snacks - a really lovely touch. The location was perfect as we could walk right into Covent Garden, and the views at night over London were wonderful - especially from the balcony where we heard Big Ben chiming midnight. The suite was very spacious and the bed was huge and extremely comfortable. All in all, a memorable stay at an excellent hotel - thank you.

Room Tip: if you want a view of Big Ben you need to opt for a 2 bedroom suite. Otherwise, the view to the wes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nod63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Nod63,

I am truly delighted to know that you have found our hotel great and chose Plaza on the River to celebrate such a special occasion with us. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and your room.

This kind of reviews gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests.

Once again we would like to wish a Happy birthday to your husband.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in London soon.

Kindest regards,

Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

From the start our request for early check-in was granted. This is must when traveling with a 3 and 6 year old. All the major sites are in walking distance as well as the Underground and RER. The latter is perfect for day trips to Windsor and Hampton Court. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive to our needs. We would definitley stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Andrew B,

Thank your your feedback and the time you took to write to us.

We are very glad that you had a great experience and do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We booked a corner suite and could not have been more pleased with our stay. We arrived very early after an overnight flight and the wonderful staff was able to check us in to our suite, which was very much appreciated. Huge living room with beautiful view of the Thames and Big Ben, and a balcony to sit outside and further enjoy the view. Gorgeous bathroom with huge soaking tub. Very quiet hotel-great for a good night's sleep after lots of touring. Close to all major tourist attractions and a tube station. We were thrilled with the entire experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dexter232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear MelissaJay,

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the hotel.

It is comments like these that enable us to motivate our team to achieve greater heights.

Should you decide to re-visit us, please let me know so I can welcome you in person.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#391 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,694 reviews
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River - Club and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Property: Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#104 Family Hotel in London
#151 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River - Club and Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza on the River - Club and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing