We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service at a hard to beat price”
Review of Plaza on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza on the River
Ranked #260 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

If it were not for the typical English oddities, this review would have begun with a five star rating for this really great five star hotel. While they definitely deliver an experience worthy of a five star hotel, it is the little disappointments that can quickly ruin an otherwise exemplary performance. If the management can rectify that certain lack of attention to detail (e.g. towel racks, batteries in gadgets), Doubletree will be giving Red Carnation a run for their money.
One thing to keep in mind is that there are no major business around the hotel, so unless you don't mind a nice walk such as a brisk 10 minutes to the nearest tube station (Vauxhall), use the cabs waiting in front of the hotel (a big plus!). If, however, a nice walk is your thing, there are plenty of attractions nearby. Even Victoria station isn't out of reach.
In sum, the Plaza suites are clean, well equipped and provide great value.

Room Tip: Use their upsell offers (small additional fees for extra features) when availability is low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gekkoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Gekkord,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to our Hotel.

I have shared your comments with the Engineering and Housekeeping Team regarding your comment about the towel rack and batteries. All feedback is being reviewed and actioned accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza on the River Club and Residence in the future, should your travels bring you back to London.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

Last night in London before flight back to Oz could not have been better. Greeted at door by Concierge who escorted us to the check-in desk, 2 glasses of Moet whilst signing in, brilliant. Self catering apartment top quality and dinner at Chino Latino was excellent. Well placed and within walking distance to Westminster Abbey, Tate Gallery etc. Would not hesitate in staying again on next visit to London.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IloveParis57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear lloveParis57,

I hope you had a safe flight back to Australia.

May I take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed your rather short stay at Plaza on the River and the Restaurant.
I was delighted to read that your arrival was smooth from the warm welcome from our Concierge Team to the check in.
Your remarks in relation to the staff and hotel are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Plaza on the River Club and Residence in the future, should your travels bring you back to London.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We went to see the Jersey boys at the Prince Edward theatre.

We had valet parking which was excellent although this hotel will shortly be losing the car park.

Suites are nice and extremely clean.

Bed soooo comfy and you have evert thing you need.

When we got back from the theatre our bed had been turned down and the bin had been emptied and the towels replaced.
Bathroom facilities are superb as is the linen and towels.
Plenty of toiletries provided.

Lovely complimentary cocktail too and a free continental breakfast for one of you, the other needs to be purchased.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sanfairyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear sanfairyann,

Thank you for your comments.
I am delighted that you found the hotel suited your needs. I will ensure you positive comments are passed on to the Housekeeping Team to appreciate their hard work.

Please feel free to contact the Guest Relations or Concierge Team prior to your next visit, when we can give you information about the nearby parking facilities.

I look forward welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and me had the good fortune to stay at this amazing hotel on the day of the River Pageant had were given a two bedroomed apartment. The apartment's facilities were short of nothing, all the kitchen areas were fully stocked with everything you could wish for. A washing machine, microwave, full crockery and cutlery sets, glassware, pots, pans etc. We were only staying for the one night, and had the good fortune to have the view we had. However, without hesitation, we would return to this really excellent hotel. The staff were so attentive, particular thanks to Franziska and Sofia, who looked after us so well. Thank you ladies you made our experience truly unforgettable. We also dined in the Chino Latino Restaurant in the evening and once again the service was fantastic, along with the great food. We have been coming to London for many years and have truly come accross somewhere that delivers a 5* service. Wll done Park Plaza Riverbank, we will see you again. - Tracey & Keith

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to the Riverview apartments, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TraceysTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear TraceysTravel,


Thank you for choosing us for your Jubilee weekend and your review. It was our pleasure to welcoming you at our hotel.

I read your review with great pride and look forward to sharing it with all the team, in particular Franziska and Sofia whom you have highlighted for their service.

I will ensure our Chino Latino Team is also receives a copy of your comments as an appreciation of their hard work.

Should you return to Plaza on the River to celebrate any special event or just for a short getaway as part of a holiday, please feel free to contact the Guest Relations team to arrange the reservation for you.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel on a Friday night whilst out for a friends birthday in London.
I paid the upgrade cost for a room with a view and didn't regret it - stunning view of the rRiver Thames with the Westminster Bridge just behind and the houses of parliment.
The location was fab because you have easy access to everywhere from Vauxhall station which is a 5 minute walk away and connects directly to Bakerloo and Victoria
Staff were lovely and very friendly
Accommodation was lovely - honestly not my cup of tea in terms of the interia decor design but it was really well kept, immaculately clean and nice and spacy
Overall I would really rate this hotel, if I need accommodation in the city in future, this will be first stop to see if they have availability

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Laura K,

Thank you very much for your review. Let me take the opportunity to wish Happy Birthday to your friends again on behalf of the Plaza on the River Guest RelationsTeam.

It makes me extremly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you had a great experience with all our facilities and the lovely view.

We do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We desired a room that was outside the "crush" of downtown London yet still convenient to walk into town and theater district. The Plaza on the River is a combined hotel and residence type of hotel. Although we thought we had booked in the hotel (very trendy), we were guided to the suite side and offered a studio apartment. We requested a Thames River view and were told that if we were willing to wait a couple of hours, they could give us one. Wow, was that worth the wait! A one-bedroom suite, at no additional upcharge, overlooking the Thames and the Parliament building. It was a beautifully appointed apartment where, if one wished to, the amenities were all there to use the small kitchen.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the breakfast, that we decided to include in our stay, was generous, offering both hot and cold options and varied. Good option in expensive London.

The only restaurant on the premises is beautifully appointed, but the asian focus,while artistic, was not great and also expensive. There are not a lot of dining options in the vicinity, so that is the only inconvenience. It is a walk into town if you don't want to use a cab. Great way to walk off the fish & chips!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Thames River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelguruDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear TravelguruDanville,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your liked the apartment overlooking to the River Thames.

I will pass your comments to the Guest Relations Team as an appreciation for their hard work.

I’m very surprised that you were unimpressed with our Chino Latino Restaurant, we’ve received nothing but positive comments previously, however, your views are appreciated.

Please feel free to contact our Concierge Team in the future for recommendation for a great range of restaurants in the area or try our unique In room dining experience.

I look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for our Minimoon just recently and found it fantastic. The service you receive from the off is second to none and that did not stop there.

Shortly after arriving in our room, we was sent chocolates and a congratulations card on getting wed. They even upgraded us when they found out we were honeymooners (for free).

Food service in the room was wonderful and we did not find that you felt pressured to give a tip. In fact the waiter left pretty fast and left use to enjoy our food in which we did. They were wonderful across the entire stay and more than willing to bend over backwards to help you in any way.

I personally cannot find any fault in our stay and would highly recomend it to anyone and everyone.

One thing i will say is that if you are travelling by train, as we were, then go to Vauxell station not waterloo. We thought we could walk from waterloo but 20 mins later with a very heavy suitcase, we got there to find Vauxell was so much more closer.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room. We did not have any Noise problems from level 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L-Dorling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear L-Dorling ,

Thank you very much for choosing Plaza on the River Club and Residence for such a special occasion. On behalf of the Guest Relations Team I would like to wish you all the best in the future.
Let me take the opportunity to thank you for your nice comments about the staff across different departments.

Please feel free to contact me directly in case you would like to celebrate your first anniversary with us, when perhaps we can pre-arrange car to pick you up from the airport to avoid the long and difficult journey from the airport.

Warm regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#388 of 1,077 in London
5,593 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#64 of 1,077 in London
3,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#74 Family Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
#193 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £138 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing