We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaza on the River
Nearby Hotels
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,681)
Filter reviews
1,681 results
Traveller rating
1,133
310
124
68
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,133
310
124
68
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschino latinoriver viewbig benone bedroom suitelondon eyevauxhall stationpark plaza riverbankalbert embankmentwashing machinea small grocery storeroom servicefloor to ceiling windowsfull kitchenvictoria lineguest relationsstar hotelbuilding work
Filter
Updating list...
949 - 954 of 1,681 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Great night, fantastic view, I had dinner with my girlfriend on the balcony, by the end of the evening she was my fiancé. Special thanks to the reception team who helped with everything on the day, my fiancé didn't have a clue we had a plan.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear dwayne d,


Congratulations on your engagement.

Wishing you the very best as you begin to plan your lives together.

I hope we can welcome you back soon at Plaza on the River, maybe on your wedding night?

Please feel free to contact the Guest Relations Team, should you need any assistance to arrange yet another special night in one of our lovely apartments.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment at the Plaza on the River for a Saturday night in London and it was a truly fantastic stay. We felt it was an absolutely amazing and plush hotel, well worthy of its 5 stars and lofty tripadvisor rating.

The good things…

* Friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Check in and out was a speedy and efficient process.
* We found drinks vouchers for the bar and a 25% off voucher for the restaurant waiting for us in upon arrival :-)
* Oustanding facilities - The suite contained a microwave, washing machine, fridge with ice box, dishwasher, espresso machine and ceramic hob. All were well maintained and there was a full compliment of cutlery, glassware and utensils
* Wonderful beds. Also chocolates were left on our pillows as part of the turndown service
* Beautifully decorated and fitted room (and hotel in general). Flatscreen TVs in both the lounge and bedroom
* Lavish bathroom containing both a bath and walk in shower
* Relatively quiet area that's not too far from the bustle of sightseeing and London fun

The not so good things..

* Whilst the location is great, the closest tube (Vauxhall) is a 10 minute walk away
* Completely out of the hotel's control but there are developments under construction next door. However there is very little, if any, disruption as a result of this.

Useful stuff to know…

* Vauxhall is the closest tube station and is a 10 minute walk west along the river (left as you come out of the hotel).
* The 77 bus stops outside the hotel and will take you to and from Waterloo station in about 5 minutes.
* There is a small convinience shop around 2 minutes walk away - turn right as you walk out of the hotel. This is pricey so if you're planning on walking to Vauxhall Station stop off at the Sainsbury there which is cheaper and has a better selection.
* Westminster & the houses of parliament are around a 15 minute walk away.
* There's a quirky boat bar opposite the hotel that's well worth checking out

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tommo565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Tommo565,

I am so glad that you were fascinated by our beautiful hotel, especially with the Guest Relations Team and your apartment. I am happy to know that you will cherish this stay and the wonderful memories.

Our aim is to provide an unforgettable service for each and every one of our guests and I am happy to know that we succeeded in your case.

Thank you very much for highlighting many service elements, benefits of the hotel.

Unfortunately the construction site is out of our hand, however we have a good relationship with them and as you mentioned the disruption is minimum.

I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Plaza on the River Club & Residence should you travel to London any time in the future.

Best regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at Plaza on the River for two nights, the first night we were in a studio room with no real view, but the room was comfortable, the only issue was the sofa bed my daughter had to sleep on, it was pitched down a little where your head rests - nothing a couple of pillows under the mattress couldn't fix. We were in London during the heat wave and the air conditioning in our room wasn't working properly, we had a slight electrical issue in the bathroom which was fixed promptly, we had mentioned to the maintainence person about the air conditioning - he mentioned that they were having a few problems with some other rooms (probably due to high demand), at the end of the day they weren't able to fix the air conditioning in our room so we were offered an upgrade to a 1 bedroom with a view.

The staff were extremely attentive, requests and issues were dealt with immediately and always with a smile on their face. The location was excellent, we were close to many of the sites but we didn't have to deal with throngs of people around the hotel, so it was the best of both worlds, staying in the city but having the tranquil views of the south side of the river.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Mamaj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Mamaj B,


I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent visit at Plaza on the River Cub and Residence.

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you with regards to the room being too hot. London is experiencing one of the hottest summer within the last seven years.
I am glad to hear that you managed to offer alternative option to rectify this issue.

I have passed on your feedback to the Guest Relations and Engineering Team, all of whom strive to meet and exceed guests expectations.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, we stayed in a 2 bedroom river view which was given to us as a free upgrade due to my wives birthday which was very nice of them considering the upgrade cost!

Good location, about a 10 minute walk to Westminster, London Eye and south bank. Bar was great also and all service was first class

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pittsy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Pittsy84,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

We would like to wish your wife Happy Birthday once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence. Please feel free to contact us directly to book one of our Two bedroom apartments overlooking the river again.

Kindest regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked only a week or so before our stay as we were waiting for American Express points to transfer to Club Carlson points. We used 100,000 points for 2 free nights stay in a studio. This was a great deal as it was. We then paid for an extra night. No upgrades were available to pay for at the time of booking which was understandable at short notice but disappointing because it was my 40th. However my husband signed up for any upgrades that would become available which they did the day before our arrival. He paid to upgrade to a 1 bed suite and then on arrival we were upgraded to the most fabulous 2 bed suite with a huge balcony. It had a lovely view of Big Ben and the 2 bedrooms had river views too. Spectacular! Balloons and a card were delivered from housekeeping and some beautifully presented nibbles from Guest Relations. What a lovely touch. The suite was amazing. The best night's sleep I've ever had in London and wonderful to have the kitchen and so much space. Can't stop telling everyone. Thank you so much Plaza on the River.
(For those paying top price I don't think they would be impressed with the tatty robes, the noisy bathroom pipes or the music from the ballroom though it didn't go on late. If you need an acoustic consultant let us know as my husband would be happy to help). That aside, it's still a Wow!

Room Tip: There are building works going on in buildings either side of the hotel but that didn't disturb us at all as the glazing works very well with extra panels in front of the windows.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soraya37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Soraya37,

Happy birthday to your husband again.


Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your special stay.

We are glad you could enjoy one of our spacious rooms.


in a lighter note, please accept my sincere apoligize for the level of noise coming from one of the function rooms.

Thank you for your feedback on the housekeeping team’s inspirational customer service and I hope we can welcome you back soon for another celebration.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews