We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views clean and friendly!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
Ranked #220 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent views clean and friendly!!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very impressed with our stay at this hotel, me and my partner stayed for one night for birthday celebrations. on arrival were offered champagne and were upgraded to a river view room. We had a full mini bar and teas coffees, a lovely clean tidy room, and a huge comfy bed! . When we came back after going out there were chocolates and a happy birthday note left in the room for us. We had some drinks in the bar with table service although not impressed with the service charge of 12% . But we're also given free snacks with our drinks. Also free pastrys and juice were offered in the lobby in the morning! Overall a lovely stay would definitely go again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Chrystal1234,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I was thrilled to read such a perfect review of your stay and that we managed to surprise you on your birthday with little treats.

If you have a moment would like to hear more details about your comment of the optional charge of 12.5% service charge in the Bar. Please feel free to contact me if your would like to share any specifics on this with me and the Chino Team.


We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to Park Plaza Riverbank London.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    268
    94
    49
    34
See reviews for
574
406
68
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
275 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

First class accommodation conveniently located on the embankment close to Vauxhall station and just 15 minutes walk to the Houses of Parliament. Rooms are stylish and well appointed with a comfortable bed, spacious lounge, good kitchen facilities and a nice bathroom. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review for our hotel seanyg. We were who was delighted to hear that room was up to your expectation and that you had a lovely stay.


We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, great location and staff generally good. This is our 2 nd stay at this hotel. I was disappointed this time as I believe the hotel is not committed to servicing their number 1 priority which is customers staying in their hotel and what they expect. 2 things for us were: building construction happening on both sides of the hotel. Whilst this is generally outside of their control, there was nothing on their website to alert people who are booking their rooms. On arrival we were met with the sound of jack hammers and dirty windows from the dust at a hotel where their major asset is the view of the river Thames which of course comes with a hefty price tag. We asked to be moved but we were met with obstacles and a sense that we were being unreasonable, to the point that we received a comment that most guests would not be expected to be in their rooms during the day and should not notice. The second thing was a corporate function on a week night in the hotel function rooms. The DJ went until 1.30 am which is not something that should happen in a hotel where the primary income is from 5 star paying guests trying to sleep. This hotel seems to have been lured into the corporate dollar and is now watering down their commitment to a 5 star hotel. Good luck for the future if you don't decide what is important to you. We asked the manager to call us back twice and no one did. I am sorry to say we won't stay their again and we are club Carlson members, so I am not sure of what the advantage is to be members now.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tweedkirra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Tweedkirra,


I am truly sorry to hear of your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I have emailed you directly pertaining to your stay.

Sincerely,

Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Many times we use Pricelines bid system to get hotels. Never been done wrong yet. This time, the day before checking in (last minute trip) I put in for a 5 star hotel for $250 a night. I got The Plaza on the River. Checking their website I saw it was only a 4 star hotel. I figured finally my Priceline luck ran out. Then I arrived at the hotel. They explained there were two hotels in the one location...both a 4 star and 5 star. I was reserved at the 5 star. Couldn't believe it. London $250 a night , top floor, 3 room suite with giant windows in both the living room and bedroom overlooking the Thames River and Big Ben and Parliament.
I've been to London 20 times, always a 4 or 5 star hotel, including The Ritz a few times. This was absolutely the best. One more benefit...always a taxi available for night time theater going. No wait. Friendly folks. The greatest.

Room Tip: River side, up high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Ray L,

Thank you ever so much for a wonderful and honest review of our hotel.
I am really happy to read that you had enjoyed your stay and as you said we are your new favourite hotel in London.


Please feel free to contact us directly in the future when you travel bring you back to London, to ensure one of our lovely One-bedroom apartments is booked for you.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

They deserve 4 stars only for their huge rooms. Location too is great, in my opinion one of the best areas in London. Staff was very friendly and polite. I did not use any of the facilities at the hotel.
The main drawback is noise. In the room I could hear people talking, the room above me being cleaned, and just about everything else going on in my near environment. It is so noisy that I have been considering giving the hotel only 3 out of 5. Hmm..... No, let's go with a weak 4 score! But seriously, this must be a problem for them? I mean, when they went about with the vacuum cleaner in the room above I was really shocked by the level of noise in my room.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor maybe, to avoid all the high-heel steps in the room above you?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wgjedrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear wgjedrem,

Thank you very much for your honest review you had left to share with others. It is always a pleasure to hear such comments and also including wonderful comments about our staff.

Please accept my apologize for the noise issues incurred during your recent stay.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have been to this hotel on many occasion over the last 5 years. Still very good service, room are still very spacious. My family and I love coming back here and have has very good memories. A few changes the last couple of times we have visited. No more valet parking (drop your bags and drive to another hotel and walk back) and no more cocktail vouchers to use in the bar. Only 2 bottles of water in the room for 5 people. Little changes we have noticed and am sure many others also would notice. We are club members and would at least expect a drink in the bar.

Room Tip: Definately go for a river view or you could be looking at the railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear DonnaB,

Thank you very much for your comment left on Tripadvisor.

Unfortunately we have lost our parking facilities on site, and the nearest secured parking is in 5-10 minutes away.

Our Operations Management Team along with the Head Concierge are looking into options to have parking facilities again, which is one of our projects for the new year.

May I kindly ask you to contact me directly with more information about your reservation details in order to look into your concerns about the missing vouchers? Without the correct name or reservations details, I cannot comment freely.

I trust we can welcome you back in the near future, when I can perhaps meet you personally.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in the Residence side for the second time and we love the Plaza on the River! Beautiful, spacious, rooms with very helpful staff. Close to transportation and the little grocery right outside the door of the hotel comes in very handing for keeping our little kitchenette area stocked with snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6xinsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear 6xinsanity,


Wow, thank you for posting your amazing review on Tripadvisor.

Glad you enjoyed our hotel and our great location as a base for your visit to London.

Thank you for your recommendation and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#382 of 1,067 in London
5,037 reviews
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#141 of 1,067 in London
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River - Club and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Property: Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#104 Family Hotel in London
#166 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River - Club and Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza on the River - Club and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing