We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite hotels in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
Ranked #213 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels in London”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

For a relatively reasonable price I booked a one bedroom and was upgraded to a two bedroom apartment with River views. Fantastic views, lots of space. The bar downstairs is very nice, staff was extremely friendly. Will come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Thomas443,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments you had left. It is truly gratifying to read such wonderful praise, we really do our best to give all our guests the a perfect service.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    263
    87
    46
    32
See reviews for
553
395
68
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

One of the best experiences I have had in a hotel anywhere in the world. The location is a little remote but I cannot fault anything about the quality of the facilities or the staff. Usual London hotel bar prices apply, but otherwise a great experience and will be my favoured central London hotel in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayNTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear MurrayNTaylor,


Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about us on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read your kind remarks in relation to the staff and our apartments.

We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future, maybe on a Friday when our Bar is running a 2-4-1 promotion (Terms & Conditions applies).

Kind regards,


Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have stayed in this amazing hotel many times and I have always mentioned Gabriella Kolber and her staff, Justyna, Janeta, and Barbara. But this time I would like to mention Simon Rai in Concierge who is very professional and friendly. He always remembers us by name and is helpful with our masses of luggage we bring. He sorts out any problems we have and it is great to see him each time. All of the staff are great but Simon has been particularly helpful. Thanks Simon!
Also in the breakfast area, Valentina and Sara are always extremely helpful and friendly! Thanks for making our stay enjoyable!

Room Tip: The one bedroom looking across the Thames at Westminster Abbey is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Doctor1947,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor! I was thrilled to learn that you had such an amazing stay with us again.

It is amazing to see that not one, not two but seven members of staff from different departments are being mentioned personally. We are all happy to inspire our guests through individuality and passion.


I do hope we’ll be able to welcome you back again on your next visit to London.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I booked a 03 bedroom flat with river view. The flat itself was excellent with a gorgeous view of the river thames, clean although the dining room table was a bit wobbly. Late night arrival (22.00pm from Icelan), no doorman to assist and check-in was fast but not particularly welcoming as I have come to appreciate at other 5star hotels. The room service we ordered was awful on the first night...simply the worst burger ever and although they did make a big effort to make up for this with chocolates and wine they really need to improve and train some their staff to claim 5 star status. For six-people with family (4 adults + 02 yound kids) the reservation rate was reasonable value for money and the location is good for South Bank activities (just across from the Tate Britain) the Chino Latina restaurant was good and had much better service than the hotel. As my wife and I had just been at the Chicago Peninsula...a few weeks earlier, perhaps our expectations in terms of 5 start service were a bit high...I hope this constructive criticism is taken onboard...they have an excellent location and flats, but the service needs to improve.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunoBenevolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear BrunoBenevolo,


Thank you for taking the time to post you review on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of our entire staff at Park Plaza Hotels & Resorts we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience during your recent stay in October. I have forwarded your comments to the relevant departments and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.


We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Nice reception and helpful concierge. We booked a 2 bedroom with a river view. However, heaters did not work in living room and one of the 2 bedrooms and it was cold. Also had function onsite and the music was so loud it woke us up. Room service food was okay ... Took over an hour for them to pick up our dishes when we were done. Had a kitchen with no paper towels or napkins which was quite strange. I would not recommend it but I am sure if there was no loud function and if we had heat it would have been much better.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Denise V,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was disappointed to read some of your comments - you can rest assured that they will be taken on board and we will take appropriate actions.

Should you wish to share any more details regarding your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Yours sincerely,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Our apartment (room 351) had a connecting door to the next apartment. Sadly, the door was not sound isolated at all. We could hear every word our neighbours were saying, even in a low voice. If our neighbours were eating candy from a bag it sounded like they were in our room. I lay awake in 2.30 listening to their conversation after returning from a late night out. Naturally, we didn´t feel comfortable speaking at all in our room knowing our neighbours could hear us.

Apart from that, everything was great. The apartment was spacious and luxorious, the staff was friendly and they handled any issue efficently. But since the bedroom acoustically felt like a tent on a camping site, I can´t recommend this hotel to others. If you are planning to stay at Plaza on the River, make sure your room doesn´t have a connecting door.

Room Tip: Avoid connecting door
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArfH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear ArfH,

Thank you for your review and I’m pleased you found our room decent size and the staff helpful.

However, I’m sorry to note that you have been disturbed by the noise travelling between the connected doors.

My apologies that we did not meet your expectations and I hope we’ll be able to serve you better in the near future.


Please feel free to contact us prior to your arrival, to ensure a room with no connected door will be booked and assigned for you.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed with partner and another couple. Check-in was very personal and welcoming. Room was more than what we expected from the Thames view to champagne in the fridge!!!! We are onsite in the chino Latino restaurant and were all amazed and the taste of food! Breakfast was nice to be served or a change than buffet! Would highly recommend! Had a great night sleep in king bed and was so close to Big Ben! Pay the extra to spoil yourself!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River - Club and Residence, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear JustinH,


Thank you very much for your effort posting this beautiful comment about your recent stay.

I am glad to hear that you enjoy your stay and the apartment exceeded your expectation.

I will ensure a copy your comment will be passed on to the Chino Latino Restaurant & Kitchen staff as an appreciation of their hard work. The food indeed tastes amazing.

We are looking forward welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact us directly to book directly one of the river view rooms.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#385 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,934 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#130 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River - Club and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River - Club and Residence

Property: Plaza on the River - Club and Residence
Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#104 Family Hotel in London
#162 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River - Club and Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Plaza on the River - Club and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing