We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be perfect with a few minor adjustments”
Review of Plaza on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza on the River
Ranked #225 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could be perfect with a few minor adjustments”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed one night with my mum and sister for my mum's 60th birthday. I had asked for an upgrade to a river view as it was a special occasion and they obliged free of charge, so that was great. The room was fab apart from the strong smell of cigarette smoke (in a supposedly non-smoking room) which we complained about. Unfortunately the staff didn't seem too bothered - they just sent a girl up with an air freshener which didn't really help. There was also a delay of around 20 minutes on check in as our room wasn't ready at 2pm as it should have been. We were given free drinks in the bar as compensation though so it wasn't too much of a problem, although had it been any longer it would have made us late for our afternoon tea booking.

Apart from the smell, the room itself was great - spacious and clean with a lovely bathroom and all the amenities you could wish for - even a washing machine! They also left balloons and a card in the bedroom for my mum's birthday which was a nice touch. Shame about the view of the building site but that can't be helped. It was surprisingly quiet throught our stay (Sat-Sun) although this may not be the case during the week when the builders are around. The location was excellent: it was only a 5/10 min walk to Vauxhall tube station and within walking distance of the London Eye, Houses of Parliament etc.

The bar downstairs had a pleasant atmosphere and I can recommend the mojitos! It was expensive but you expect that in central London. The breakfast in the Chino Latino restaurant was also very good with a huge choice.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and liked the hotel; it's just a shame about the few minor problems we experienced. It wasn't a cheap break and for that kind of money you expect everything to be perfect. For the location and the size of the rooms I would go back given the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear HelenW,


Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased to have read that you enjoyed your time with us despite the slight delay with your room. I can see however that the inspiration service provided by our dedicated Housekeeping Team, the balloons, card etc were appreciated and worth the wait.

We are looking forward welcoming you back. Please feel free to contact me to arrange a reservation to one of our apartments with a view, where you enjoy a glass of Mojitos.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    277
    100
    54
    36
See reviews for
598
421
71
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked just an overnight stay, but I was treated as if I was staying for months and a very valued customer. I arrived late and had a fast check-in and also a very fast check-out the following morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear StephenJ,


Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our service and even though you had a fast check in/out, the team look after well and were professional.

At Plaza on the River we always strive to deliver 100% Guest Satisfaction and I am happy to see that the Team succeeded your expectations.

We are looking forward welcoming you back, hopefully for a bit longer that time.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed 8 days, the location was very good we had a great view over the river. We booked an apartment which was a good size, We did have a problem with the sink in the bathroom (slow drain), engineering came up and worked on it for 20 minutes but was still no better. Loved the amenities, washer/dryer was great, fridge worked really well and was a good size, could do with some non stick pans though for the kitchen. The exercise room was very good and well equipped. There was a funky smell in one of the VIP elevators and lobby on 6th floor.

A complimentary European breakfast would have been nice a nice touch.

Everyone was super friendly, Dean (doorman) was great and by far the nicest employee we met, on the other hand one of the VIP concierge employees stopped my wife taking the provided umbrella out of the hotel on a river trip we were taking, she stated "I promise it's not going to rain" but it did, was not happy about that. They did give us an umbrella to keep and a box of chocolates as a way of apologizing.

On the whole a great place to stay, it will be on my list of places to stay on my next trip to London.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Vince C,

Your lovely feedback is much appreciated, I am so glad we made such an impression! Thank you so much for your support. Be assured that we also noted you were not completely satisfied with our sink drainage and we are currently working closely with the engineering departmen to fix this according to your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


All the best,

Mohammed Aftab

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Modern clean rooms and nice, efficient staff. Depends on what you intend on doing, this might be a bit far away. There are construction works right by the hotel, so if you intend on sleeping in the morning, you might not be able to due to the noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarisita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Clarisita,

We truly appreciate your highly praising feedback regarding your stay at Plaza On the River. It was great to read that you had such a memorable visit and also rather little inconvenience for the location to your taste. Although we are only 7 minutes walk from Vauxhall underground station and 10 minutes walk from the Houses of Parliament. Our hotel also offers atrium view rooms which are preferred by many guests who like quieter rooms.

We are so lucky to have such guests like you who take their valuable time and post their praising comments and concerns on the Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Mohammed Aftab
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

we had booked this hotel online and were not sure what to expect, based on previous experiences of booking online. We had booked a 1 bedroom apartment as we were travelling with our 21 year old daughter. Before we arrived we were offered an upgrade to a room with a river view and balcony for an additional 30 Pounds per night, which we took. I was so glad that we did, as I can imagine that the rooms without a river view would not have been as amazing. The upgrade included an additional bedroom, so we had a 2 bedroom apartment with a balcony and river view. The hotel is conveniently located to most of the attractions (within walking distance) and the Vauxhall tube/ train station. When we arrived the washer/ drier was not working however the hotel offered to do our laundry free of charge. The staff were friendly and check in was a pleasure and although we arrived early (around 10am) our room was ready and we could go straight up. Overall this was a fantastic experience and I would highly recommend requesting the river view rooms (even if it costs a bit more)

Room Tip: Request a river view room, it may cost more but it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilibee243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Lilibee243,

It is great pleasure reading your review on Tripadvisor in relation to your recent visit to Plaza On The River. I appreciate your passionate words for the hotel and its location, the lovely gesture of complimentary laundry from the staff and especially the competence and helpfulness of our employees.

I am very happy to learn that our staff were true Park Plaza Hotels ambassadors who greatly contributed to your memorable experience in our hotel.

Please also be assured that we have taken a good note of your remarks regarding the difficulty of using our washing machine.

Thank you for recommending our Hotel to all Tripadvisor readers and travelers!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had five really nice days in this hotel:)) Two adults with a child of 12. Opportunities to use the kitchen in the room was fine.
The view from the room was amazing, balcony and good quality at all:)
When we had some problems with the Wifi the first day, the hotel fixed it quickley.
Service was very good - and the room service just great! Great prices on room service:))
We had a really nice stay, and we will use this hotel next time we are in London:))

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odd Horg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Odd Horg J,

Your overwhelming feedback is much appreciated, I am so glad we made such an impression! Thank you so much for your support. Be assured that we also noted you were not completely satisfied with our wifi connection.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mohammed Aftab
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I traveled to London with my wife and 4 kids (ages 14, 13, 10, 7). We loved the location of the hotel. And, the residence we stayed in had two rooms, a pull out couch and a kitchen. The kitchen with kids saves money and is very convenient for eating breakfast, taking a break during the day or having some ice cream before bed. It was a great family hotel. It is definitely on the edge of the are you want to be. But, with a 10 minute walk you are right in the heart of London! The room we had was on the ten floor and featured a balcony overlooking the Thames with views of Big Ben and Parliament. It was spectacular.

Room Tip: If you need two rooms consider upgrading to a two-bedroom suite....you get another room really with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasTellsAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear ThomasTellsAll,

What a fantastic review - thank you so much, on behalf of the Guest Relations Team at Plaza on the River Club and Residence.

Out Two bedroom apartments are mainly designed for families and with the kitchen facilities are extremely popular during the school breaks.

Please feel free to contact us in the future to book one of the Two bedroom apartments with balcony or to arrange an upgrade.

Thank you for your business, and I wish you another great weekend with us.


Kind regards,



Gabriella Kolber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#385 of 1,069 in London
5,234 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#175 of 1,069 in London
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River

Property: Plaza on the River
Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#104 Family Hotel in London
#168 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing