We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel on the South Bank”
Review of Plaza on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza on the River
Ranked #246 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were lucky enough to receive a complimentary upgrade to a suite, which was very impressive - our only regret was that we were staying just the one night!

Conveniently situated on the South Bank, easy to stroll along the river and across to the City with great views of Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and the London Eye, for example. Convenient also for the LGBT venues in Vauxhall.

The suite was luxuriously appointed with high quality bed and linen, likewise the bathroom was sumptuous.

Staff were efficient and extremely helpful. We didn't eat here so cannot comment.

There was some building work going on next door, we didn't have a good view, but the room itself made up for that.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear kevinfff,
.

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your stay in August.
I am pleased to hear that our facilities, apartments met your expectations and you were happy with our staff and their hospitality.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon, hopefully for a bit longer that time.

Please feel free to contact us to assist you with the reservations.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,526)
There are newer reviews for Plaza on the River
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a one bedroom apartment, which accommodated a family of 5 perfectly. The hotel was in a great location overlook the river…..away from the key tourist area….but they were in easy reach. There was a bus stop outside the hotel, which made the museums easy access. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Overall an excellent stay was had.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels
Thank 536lyndas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear 536lyndas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

I am thrilled to have read that we was able to meet your expectations. Indeed our location is ideal and the apartments are perfect for families.

W are looking forward welcoming the 536nyndas family back.

Kind regards,

Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The property is very nice inside - clean, spacious and very comfortable. Also close to the tube and walking distance to the Eye, aquarium, London Dungeon and boat toor docks. Big complaint, however, is that there is major construction going on in the lot directly next door. Our room felt like it was actually on the construction site - we literally opened our windows and looked onto about 5 different cranes and an entire work crew that started their workday each morning around 8 am. We complained and the hotel,clerk seemed put off by our concerns. She changed our room for the remainder of our stay, but we had to pay $80 pounds more per night bc the only other available room had a view. In my opinion, they should have comped us the upgrade because of the inconvenience and no forewarning about our room's location. It was not just a tractor or two, it was construction on a lot that will probably be another hotel. Why we weren't given a discount is inconceivable. The remainder of the stay was fine, however the air conditioning went out for one night and their solution was to provide a small fan. Poor customer service in our opinion!

Room Tip: Choose a river view room or else you will be looking at and listening to major construction and a tr...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Keri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Keri C,

Thank you very much for taking your time writing your comment. I feel sorry to hear that you haven’t been satisfied with our services with regards to the mentioned reason.
All customers feedback is valuable for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests needs to make sure that we are able to constantly improve our services.

If I may I would like to get some more information from you regarding your stay. At this stage I am unable to identify your reservation, therefore please contact me at gkolber@plazaontheriver.co.uk at your earliest convenience.

Rest assured I will be sharing your feedback with the relevant staff members the mean time.

Hopefully we get an opportunity to welcome you back to Plaza on the River in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,


Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here unfortunately very briefly. Got there late at night and left early in the morning. Well what can I say about the location! Absolutely fantastic. I would have loved a view of the river but we can't win them all. I stayed in a open plan studio and it was GORGEOUS! I took a picture of it and it got nearly 20 likes on facebook. The only thing I could complain about really was the taste of the water (but i'll just blame that on it being down south) and because I live in Manchester, I nearly had a heart attack at the mini bar prices! £3 for a can of coke and £5 for a bag of milky bar buttons! Needless to say I didn't touch it. The continental breakfast was lovely with good variety and I was glad it opened at 7am. I felt it was a bit pricey, but I expected that for a 5 star hotel. And I feel I ate enough babybels to cover the cost anyway.

There were some angry Asian people next door shouting a lot. In fact I think they were hitting each other. I was stood in the wardrobe for quite a while listening, where I found the dressing gowns and slippers. The slippers were lovely but the dressing gowns felt like crusty towels and didn't fit around my bust. But not many things do...

I had a shower and washed my hair and I really didn't want to get out. It was dreamy, as was the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. I was quite awake after my shower, but as soon as I made a cup of tea and got in the extremely comfy bed, I fell straight asleep and slept soundly all night.

10/10 would stay here again, but I would request a river facing room. I got a great deal through Hotels.com, my room was an absolute steal! I wish I was able to experience the restaurant and bar, but I just didn't have enough time. What a shame.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank FoodCritchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear FoodCritchic,


Thank you very much for your happy, well detailed Tripadvisor review about your recent stay at Plaza on the River. It certainly have a funny but true perspective view.

We are looking forward welcoming you back at Plaza on the River soon. Please feel free to contact us directly to pre-book your room, when we can discuss options to upgrade to a River view or River view & Balcony apartment. You can also pre-book your breakfast at the Guest Relations Desk from as little as £10.00/person/breakfast.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with family for a week. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is walking distance to the Tube and close enough to a lot if the sights that you can walk there. Big Ben, Parliament and they Eye are visible from the balcony. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank mrkmns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear mrkmns,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us here at Plaza on the River. Our location is indeed unique in London with Big Ben, Houses of Parliament just around the corner.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I'd like to recommend the hotel to my friends because of its service, good location to the centre, very good furnished appartments ( everything is in the appartments: dishwashing machine, laundry washer, stove, microwave, toaster, kitchen appliances, dishware, fridge - we use all). The staff is very attantive and obliging.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels
Thank Irina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear IrinaB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us all.

I am pleased to have read that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

Thank you kindly for highlighting the customer service of our teams.

Please feel free to message on your return visit.

Kind regards,

Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would highly recommend this accommodation for a romantic weekend; great location; only downside if you are sharing the apartment with another friend/couple, make sure a decent mattress is put on the sleeper couch in the lounge; works out much cheaper to stay in the apartment than booking a hotel room, as the kitchen is fully equipped for eating-in and saves on eating-out costs. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels
Thank Francine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear FrancineE,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us all.

I am pleased to have read that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

Please kindly note that we offer Two and Three bedroom apartments for families, where your friends can sleep on the same comfortable beds as yours in the master bedrooms. Please feel free to contact us in the future to arrange reservations as they are really popular.

Please feel free to message on your return visit.

Kind regards,

Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#386 of 1,072 in London
5,350 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#164 of 1,072 in London
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#104 Family Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
#185 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £178 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing