We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel”
Review of Plaza on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza on the River
Ranked #246 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Fair location for a great family holiday. Easy to access to most places by taxi. 10 min walking distance to Tube station. Friendly staff with excellent service. Highly recommend for family stay. Room equipped with induction kitchen, microwave, washing machine, dryer and refrigerator. 10 min walking to local supermarket.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels
Thank Chen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Chen K,


Thank you very much for your effort posting such a lovely comment on Tripadvisor.

Indeed our apartments are highly recommended for families, especially the Two bedroom apartments. The meantime we are welcoming business tourists who are staying with us for a longer period of time.

I hope we can welcome you and your family back soon whilst visiting London.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
There are newer reviews for Plaza on the River
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

everything was perfect! good location, comfortable room, helpful staff, free wifi, convenient area, that's why the most comfortable that i stay in europe country! in room facilities everything is good, large room, large bed, great view! i hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels
Thank ytxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear ytxxxx,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us all.

I am pleased to have read that your visit with us was without fault.


Please feel fire to message me upon your return visit.

Kind regards,

Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great welcome, good service, fabulous rooms, lovely cocktails, a perfect relaxing break. The boat bar across the road was the perfect contrast to the hotel bar, ideal for a summer day. Staff in the hotel work hard to make you welcome and you feel special

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels
1  Thank leisms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear leisms,


Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us all.

Thank you for choosing Plaza on the River Club & Residence to escape for your relaxing break and I am pleased to have read that your stay was flawless.


Please feel fire to message me upon your return visit.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It was very hard for me to decide on a hotel in London as there are so many choices, in various neighbourhoods, with different offerings. At one point, I had ten bookings on hold and I finally decided to stay at the Plaza on the River as it has a better rate and newer facilities. My family and I just left the hotel yesterday after spending 9 nights there for our first trip to London, and we are very happy with our stay.

The hotel looks very new. It's a North American style chain hotel. Guests for the "Residences" check in at a different desk than the regular hotel guests, and use a separate set of elevators. Vauxhall is the closest underground and train station - an easy 10-minute walk straight down the street. We also took the cab to a few places and the rates were not overly expensive compared to 3 adult fares for the underground (eg. £8 to Buckingham Palace, £18 to Tower of London, £10 to British Museum, £10 from Covent Garden to hotel). We like the fact that it's in a newer area of London and not as crowded and noisy as the city centre. The downside is there isn't much choice nearby for dining. I saw a nice pub two buildings away, and two restaurants on the way to Vauxhall station (although they look sketchy to me). We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one time and it was very good. There's a small convenience store next to the hotel where we bought groceries for making our own breakfasts.

Our 1-bedroom apartment is very spacious for our family of three. It's about 60 square meters with a King size bed in the bedroom and a double size sofa bed in the living room. There is a small dining table with 2 chairs. We used the additional chair from the desk. Even with the sofa bed opened up for our entire stay, there's still a lot of space to move around. The kitchen area is fully equipped with stove, exhaust fan, sink, dishwasher, microwave oven, fridge (with a small freezer compartment), washer/dryer combo unit, electric kettle, and a Nespresso coffee maker. There are cutleries, plates, bowls, glasses and mugs for 4 people, plus pots and pan and basic cooking utensils. London is a very expensive city. Having the option to prepare a few meals ourselves helped save some costs. The hotel provides dishwasher and laundry detergents free of charge. The bathroom has a bathtub and a walk-in shower. Storage space is ample in the apartment. The safe in the closet is big enough for my 14" laptop. The two TV's in the apartment offers dozens of channels. Internet connection (both wired and Wi-Fi free of charge) worked well during our stay. High speed connection is available at additional charge, but I found the free service good enough for checking emails and web browsing. There is only one international power outlet (for North American plugs) by the desk. If you have multiple devices that require charging every day, it's advisable to bring an international plug adapter with you. The apartment is centrally air conditioned (which is pretty rare with hotels in London) with individual temperature controls in the living room and the bedroom. You can also open the windows if you prefer fresh air. The washer was easy to use but it’s small, so we had to do small loads every day. The dryer component was a bit confusing. We ended up hanging our laundries in the room and with the air conditioning on, they all dried out overnight.

Some comments about the view and upgrade options:
When I booked on line, the confirmation was for a 1-bedroom apartment with restricted view, however I was offered a "standby upgrade" to river view with balcony overlooking the Parliament buildings and Big Ben, but these "standby upgrades" cannot be confirmed until day of arrival. Two days prior to my arrival, the hotel contacted me and asked if I wanted a “guaranteed upgrade” at the full rate (additional £35 per night for river view, or £55 for river view with balcony). I felt it was too expensive and decided to try my luck for the "standby upgrade" which would have only cost £23 for the river view with balcony. Upon check in, I was told that the "standby upgrade" was not available (not surprising to me since it's peak tourist season). Seeing that I am a Carlson Club Gold member, the staff offered me free access to the Executive Lounge instead. It was a nice gesture that we appreciated. We stayed at apartment 851 facing the construction site next door with side views to the railways and the Thames River facing Vauxhall Bridge. The construction was still at the ground level, so the obstruction wasn't that bad. (Check my photos) Paying for upgrades for 9 nights in our case wasn’t worth it. We could walk across the street and enjoy a nice view of the Thames and Big Ben for free. The construction starts at 8 am every weekday morning. The noise maybe bothersome to some guests, but it wasn't a concern for us as we were out most of the day. The windows have good insulation, but we could still hear the trains slightly although not at a disturbing level. If you prefer a quieter room, then you should definitely get an upgrade to river view or river view with balcony. As some tripadvisor members mentioned before, there are some rooms that face an interior atrium with no natural light (you're basically looking at other people's rooms). I am not sure whether those rooms belong to the hotel portion or the residence, but I would suggest avoiding those rooms unless there's a good deal.

To get to the hotel from the airport, we took the Heathrow Express to Paddington Station, and then spent £39 on a cab ride. For the return to the airport, the hotel arranged a private car (Mercedes E class sedan) for us at £75.

I highly recommend this property, and I will no doubt stay here again if I ever go back to London.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the interior atrium - they have no natural light
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JobeeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear JobeeMom,

Wow… what a comment. You have certainly covered all aspect of your stay and gave a thorough description of our apartments and location.

I am sure you gave lots of useful ideas and shared lots of useful information with our future guests.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon. Please feel free to contact us and we can arrange reservation for you for one of our One bedroom apartments with River view.


Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is very cozy, well located. I liked. The room they gave us was the inner courtyard. We announced that we would have excellent views and was not. For the rest we left satisfied with the stay at this hotel. For longer stays than ours is very well equipped.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels
Thank 182mirandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear 182mirandan,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your visit with us. Please accept my apologise not meeting your expectations regarding the room allocation. Please kindly note that we have several room categories at Plaza on the River and the ones with river view are really popular.
As a future reference, should you plan your next visit to London and to Plaza on the River look for room category called One bedroom apartment with River view to guarantee a view to the River Thames.

Alternately, please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Team to make the reservation with us directly.

I am looking forward welcoming you back with us.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

If you want a large room, or if you go with your big family, this apartment is a good choice of you. Just stand by the river Thames, you may walk to half of the must-to-see sightseeing spots in London.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels
Thank Yuan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Yuan J,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Plaza on the River Club and Residence for your stay in London.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a brilliant trip. It is lovely to hear that you liked your room and found the location convenient.

We hope to see your return again soon.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at Plaza On The River for 3 days. We loved our room (with washer/drier and full kitchen). The service is impeccable. Check in and out was very easy.
We had the most amazing meals at Chino Latino. We will come back

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelerFr0mMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella_Kolber, Front Office Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Yuan J,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Plaza on the River Club and Residence for your stay in London.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a brilliant trip. It is lovely to hear that you liked your room and found the location convenient.

We hope to see your return again soon.

Kind regards,
Gabriella Kolber
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#386 of 1,072 in London
5,340 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#163 of 1,072 in London
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#104 Family Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
#184 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £177 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing