We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Irresponsible service, poor room-making” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Black Lion
Ranked #175 of 567 London B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Irresponsible service, poor room-making”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed for 4 nights; the room-making quality was incredibly bad; sheets with stains, carpets were dirty, and they always forgot something such as changing towels / supplying shampoos or soaps.
We are sure they never changed the bedding linens during our stay.

However, the pub downstairs is nice and the location is convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonardsmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    68
    49
    22
    30
See reviews for
50
68
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed here a number of times this Summer while I worked in West Hampstead; I wasn't looking for anything special, just a place to stay that was clean and convenient.

I stayed in a variety of different rooms. They were all clean enough, some had ensuite and others had shared bathrooms which wasn't an issue. The rooms differed vastly in size, I stayed in one very small room which was fine, others were large, one had a fridge and kitchen table with chairs, and a nice large bathroom. I didn't have any issues with cleanliness, the sheets were all clean and I slept well in all of the rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful.

In one of the rooms the television didn't work, which was annoying, it was all wired correctly but just wouldn't turn on, but I didn't ask for any help to get it working to I can't really complain.

I did have one experience which I found quite upsetting; I had 3 nights booked in a room, and when I returned from work in the evening for my 3rd and last night there I walked into my room to find other people staying in it, who insisted it was their room. I had left all of my things in there, so I was quite confused and shaken. Upon leaving the room I noticed a note on the door, basically because I had been staying in a 3 person room (I had made it clear I was 1 person but this was just the room I had been given) and 3 people had turned up that day wanting a room, so they packed up all my stuff into my suitcase (!) clothes, toiletries and all, and moved me to the 1 person room. They said they hadn't been able to get hold of me, and I did have some missed calls from a number I did not recognise but I hadn't been able to answer while at work. In my opinion, if this situation arises in a hotel or b&b I think it is inappropriate to ask someone to move rooms but perhaps forgivable, I think it is incredibly inappropriate, rude and a huge invasion of privacy to pack up someones things for them when they aren't present and move them out of their room while they are away. The staff were apologetic, but I was still very upset at the time.

That said, as a place to stay it is not that bad, I have stayed there since the incident. It's a cheap, bearable place to stay, I did have that one horrible experience but I don't feel I can mark it too low based on the fact I would stay again if I was working in the area.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANBURY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is not a hotel it is a B & B over a pub! If it was a hotel you would be paying a lot more.
Room was a good size, fairly basic but clean. There was a tiny en-suite. There is a little kettle in the room and tea and coffee. We had a twin room on the second floor. We stayed on a Saturday night and were not disturbed by any noise. Kilburn High Road was busy but we felt perfectly safe walking back from the tube late at night. Entrance to the B & B is via a side entrance with a security code and then a key to your room. The pub down stairs is really beautiful.
Breakfast was served in the bar, it was really good, cereals, toast, pastries, juice teas and coffees and a choice of cooked breakfast if you ordered it. I thought the breakfast was better than in a lot of more expensive hotels where it is self service and has been sitting around for hours so is barely warm. Ours was freshly cooked for us.
Overall I would say good value for London. Good location. Good breakfast and clean but basic room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The customer service was non existent, room was bare, there was hair in the shower and toilet wasn't flushed. there was so much noise from the pub below, and the streets were really unsafe. I asked them to help me and the staff were rude and snotty. The bed had yellow stains on the sheets and the air was musty.
Checked in another hotel that night and they didn't even let me change my booking. Don't waste your money!

Room Tip: Do not choose any rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jules v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Given unmade room at check in asked for it to be made up when we went into town returned at 10.30 pm to find room still unmade( someone had been in to pull up the sheets on the bed) had to make real fuss in pub downstairs to get anyone to help. Room tiny, noisy, cramped, smelly bathroom floor tiles which moved when you walked on them, breakfast appalling. Stayed here to be close to family , but never again, simply the worst place I have ever stayed could not get out of there quick enough. Quite sad that no one cares about this genuinely beautiful old London pub.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Porkieyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Cleaned room, very big space and a good toilet. The Pub/restaurant downstairs is fantastic! good kitchen and good beer. It is near the killburn underground station. nearest there is also the overground station. The killburn area is very preatty, there's a park behind the hotel too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giskard_Rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, near London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Clean room with comfortable bed. Somewhat tatty furniture in ours (room 8) but acceptable. No lift, so 2 flights of stairs a bit of drag. Friendly staff; the one on reception volunteered to carry up our suitcase. We were in the front but good double glazing adequately suppressed noise from the very busy main road. Main complaints about room were the lack of any hooks, especially in the shower room (although there was a generous built-in wardrobe with lots of hangers) and the mysterious absence of a plug in the washbasin -- even the attachment was missing! No soap was provided, but we are always prepared for this. The heating was just right, although the weather was quite mild for Christmas (which is when we were staying so we could share it with family nearby). Breakfast is at a cafe across the road and was quite satisfactory with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Probably best to have one at the back if available and on the first floor if stairs are a challenge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.9 mi away
Windmill Hotel
Windmill Hotel
#193 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.3 mi away
The William IV
The William IV
#308 of 567 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Castle Bar
The Castle Bar
#122 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dawson House Hotel
Dawson House Hotel
#236 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saint Gabriel's Road B&B
Saint Gabriel's Road B&B
#195 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anchor House Hotel
Anchor House Hotel
#73 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Lion

Property: The Black Lion
Address: 274 Kilburn High Road | Kilburn, London NW6 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lion Guesthouse is a beautiful period building based in Kilburn, North West London. We combine a bar and restaurant downstairs with stunning features and Grade II listed interior with 14 guesthouse rooms above. We are proud to offer affordable quality accommodation. The bar is friendly and popular and directly opposite London’s famous Tricycle Theatre. The bar also serves a range of premium dishes.Perfectly placed for your visit to London, we are very close to both Kilburn Tube Station and Brondesbury Stations. We are also well served by local buses that run from our door step to Marble Arch, Paddington & Victoria. The night bus from Central London also passes our guesthouse door, making travelling around London when staying with us very easy and your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Black Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Guesthouse Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing