We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch experience was not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Lion
Ranked #184 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lunch experience was not great”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This pub is undoubtably the grandest room ever , lovely high ceilings and spacious comfortable seating. I cannot comment on the b&b side of things.
Food is very over priced , small menu and small portions . What upset me most was , when the female bar staff , asked me to move my buggy as she was passing through with hot food , well im all for health and safety, but the very large room , with no shortage of space has only 5 other adults in , and they were not ordering food, and did not eat in all the time I was there. I feel she was just picking on us , and there is no need to make a fuss on a very quiet afternoon.
I would have had another glass of wine after lunch only for feeling un welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne11297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    70
    49
    22
    31
See reviews for
50
69
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I booked for me and 3 friends to stay here for the NFL at Wembley. I booked it in February, a good 8 months in advance to make sure I would get the room. I phoned the day before we were due to stay and they had the booking but only booked it as a double room despite the fact my reservation CLEARLY states 4 adults, family room. They were not interested in sorting the problem at all and basically told me it was tough luck. Absolute disgrace of a hotel, disgrace of customer service and disgrace of a booking system.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iddyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bm202, Administrator at The Black Lion, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
I am sorry you feel your reservation was not dealt with in a swift manner, However the error with your booking was down to a computer glitch, as your booking was made online and all online bookings are allocated to rooms according to the information guest give, except on this occasion the booking system allocated you into an inappropriate room. When you phoned the day before your booking and this error was bought to my attention personal attention, we did everything possible to rectify the situation. At no point as far as I am aware did anyone say they were not interested in sorting out the problem. I know as a customer it is not possible to see the work being done at the other end of the phone to sort out problems, however every solution possible was being sort in order to resolve the issue. A refund was made to one of your friends who had cancelled one of the guest due to stay, at which point made things a lot easier for us as we did not have to move beds around as much as we would have had to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

wantage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have just had a 4 night stay there and really liked it. As a woman on my own i felt safe. the room was very large, more like an apartment and was lovely and warm and clean. At night there is the hum of traffic which im used to and quite liked. I found the staff very helpful and friendly and i would definately stay there again. Its a nice down to earth place with the added bonus of being an historical building. i was pleasantly surprised to find i had a huge victorain range in my room, a beautiful antique original feature.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggm12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Malden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed here alone whilst working in London, in a single person double room for 3 nights, in May this year. After seeing very mixed reviews I was a little wary, however the room was really nice and most importantly - clean! Huge bed, huge wardrobe and drawers, good TV & tea and coffee making facilities. The ensuite was small but enough room for me. Shower was great and there was soap! Walking to and from the tube felt very safe. The pub downstairs was lovely. Great food and I loved the decor.
The only downside for me was the bathroom was a bit smelly! However I kept the door shut when sitting in the room and I was only there late evenings.
Overall I had a great stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed for 4 nights; the room-making quality was incredibly bad; sheets with stains, carpets were dirty, and they always forgot something such as changing towels / supplying shampoos or soaps.
We are sure they never changed the bedding linens during our stay.

However, the pub downstairs is nice and the location is convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonardsmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed here a number of times this Summer while I worked in West Hampstead; I wasn't looking for anything special, just a place to stay that was clean and convenient.

I stayed in a variety of different rooms. They were all clean enough, some had ensuite and others had shared bathrooms which wasn't an issue. The rooms differed vastly in size, I stayed in one very small room which was fine, others were large, one had a fridge and kitchen table with chairs, and a nice large bathroom. I didn't have any issues with cleanliness, the sheets were all clean and I slept well in all of the rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful.

In one of the rooms the television didn't work, which was annoying, it was all wired correctly but just wouldn't turn on, but I didn't ask for any help to get it working to I can't really complain.

I did have one experience which I found quite upsetting; I had 3 nights booked in a room, and when I returned from work in the evening for my 3rd and last night there I walked into my room to find other people staying in it, who insisted it was their room. I had left all of my things in there, so I was quite confused and shaken. Upon leaving the room I noticed a note on the door, basically because I had been staying in a 3 person room (I had made it clear I was 1 person but this was just the room I had been given) and 3 people had turned up that day wanting a room, so they packed up all my stuff into my suitcase (!) clothes, toiletries and all, and moved me to the 1 person room. They said they hadn't been able to get hold of me, and I did have some missed calls from a number I did not recognise but I hadn't been able to answer while at work. In my opinion, if this situation arises in a hotel or b&b I think it is inappropriate to ask someone to move rooms but perhaps forgivable, I think it is incredibly inappropriate, rude and a huge invasion of privacy to pack up someones things for them when they aren't present and move them out of their room while they are away. The staff were apologetic, but I was still very upset at the time.

That said, as a place to stay it is not that bad, I have stayed there since the incident. It's a cheap, bearable place to stay, I did have that one horrible experience but I don't feel I can mark it too low based on the fact I would stay again if I was working in the area.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANBURY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is not a hotel it is a B & B over a pub! If it was a hotel you would be paying a lot more.
Room was a good size, fairly basic but clean. There was a tiny en-suite. There is a little kettle in the room and tea and coffee. We had a twin room on the second floor. We stayed on a Saturday night and were not disturbed by any noise. Kilburn High Road was busy but we felt perfectly safe walking back from the tube late at night. Entrance to the B & B is via a side entrance with a security code and then a key to your room. The pub down stairs is really beautiful.
Breakfast was served in the bar, it was really good, cereals, toast, pastries, juice teas and coffees and a choice of cooked breakfast if you ordered it. I thought the breakfast was better than in a lot of more expensive hotels where it is self service and has been sitting around for hours so is barely warm. Ours was freshly cooked for us.
Overall I would say good value for London. Good location. Good breakfast and clean but basic room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.9 mi away
Windmill Hotel
Windmill Hotel
#201 of 573 in London
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Iverson B&B
#296 of 573 in London
1 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dawson House Hotel
Dawson House Hotel
#249 of 573 in London
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anchor House Hotel
Anchor House Hotel
#89 of 573 in London
190 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Castle Bar
The Castle Bar
#126 of 573 in London
132 reviews
1.3 mi away
The William IV
The William IV
#323 of 573 in London
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Lion

Property: The Black Lion
Address: 274 Kilburn High Road | Kilburn, London NW6 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lion Guesthouse is a beautiful period building based in Kilburn, North West London. We combine a bar and restaurant downstairs with stunning features and Grade II listed interior with 14 guesthouse rooms above. We are proud to offer affordable quality accommodation. The bar is friendly and popular and directly opposite London’s famous Tricycle Theatre. The bar also serves a range of premium dishes.Perfectly placed for your visit to London, we are very close to both Kilburn Tube Station and Brondesbury Stations. We are also well served by local buses that run from our door step to Marble Arch, Paddington & Victoria. The night bus from Central London also passes our guesthouse door, making travelling around London when staying with us very easy and your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Black Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Guesthouse Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing