We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite local in Kilburn”
Review of The Black Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Black Lion
Ranked #182 of 556 London B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My favourite local in Kilburn”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I live in the area so I frequently meet friends at the Black Lion pub for a catch up and maybe some food. So whilst I can't comment on the hotel, I can say that the pub is lovely. One of the nicest places to spend a relaxed evening or Sunday afternoon as it's rarely more that three quarters full. The ceiling is amazing and I love the decor in there, too.

Have eaten a roast and tapas-like dishes in there a couple of times - very nice, reasonably priced.

However, what prevents me giving the Black Lion 4 or even 5 stars is the drinks selection. I am sure that last year, they had beers and ales on tap and now it's not possible to get a drink from draught. They have Theakstons and a honey ale in a 500ml bottle - fine, but that is more expensive than draught and the selection is thus very limited. Similarly the wines are a bit overpriced for the quality.

However, I still think it's the best pub in the area - far better than the North London Tavern just across the road for ambience and a lovely interior.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcchEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    70
    51
    22
    31
See reviews for
51
70
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

My son and I needed accommodation close to Kilburn (visiting a college) and Wembley (gig at the arena). The Black Lion was ideally situated to tick both boxes.

Rooms are clean and airy (ceilings are really 14ft), and the facilities (tea/coffee, tv, wifi) are handy to have.

The toilet in the room we had was too small, contortionists would probably give it a 5!

Breakfast was perfect but the bar (restaurant) was so hot we had to bail out (would have preferred to relax as it is a really nice looking bar/library!)

Would definitely recommend and would return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rineanna_OSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed in a standard twin room for one night,the beds were uncomfortable,the "en suite" was tiny,you had t squeeze past the wash basin to use the toilet.The bar below looked amazing (it's grade 2 listed).However there was no draught beer,only small bottled brands at over £3 a time,think it's more of a cocktail bar.It's however good for access to the tube and bus network,but it's on a very busy Kilburn High Road.Worth noting is the bar doesn't open until 15.00.

Room Tip: Would avoid the standard room and pick a de luxe one.Also there is flights of stairs to cope with.Ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Booked an executive double. Definitely very good value for money. Huge room (double the size of usual London hotel rooms) freshly decorated, well furnished, very clean. High spec bathroom with large shower cubicle but shower head support bracket broken, nowhere to put the soap.
Lights over the bed poor, totally inadequate for reading. King size bed very comfortable but dreadful pillows
Reception excellent, escorted to room and details of breakfast etc explained.
Continental breakfast included in the price, adequate start to the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here with my 10 year old in twin room at side of the building.

Plus points: Well located for our needs, nice adjacent park, very clean room plenty big enough for the two beds with loads of room to spare, couple of kids channels on tv, really friendly knowledgeable staff, and lovely pub.

Minus points: Really noisy, not from the pub but from the traffic, the window didnt shut properly, shower room ridiculously small for such a large room, shower was actually ok but the cubicle needs some work, saniflow loo thing that made a hell of a noise when you flushed it, you also hear everyone else flushing theirs. Shampoo and soap come in sachets that are a complete waste of time. I'm not sure what the banging was but it started at 4.30am, it could have been someones loo, but it sounded more like someone working or moving stuff around and stopped around 7. The door into the guest house area wasn't working properly and this made me a little nervous as you came straight from the street into the hall, up the stairs and to the room. Might have been just because it was me and my son but i felt a little uneasy. Breakfast was of adequate choice, no fruit or yoghurt with continental which I thought was weird, but you could have as much as you wanted which my son did!

From my point of view there is better accomodation in the area for the price, if I had booked when I was supposed to I could have got something much nicer for the same money, this was a bad choice for us.

Room Tip: Dont choose number 1, its on the side, exceptionally noisy and everyone else walks past the creaky f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great for what we needed - big size bedroom, very small bathroom - it was pretty much in a cupboard. Nice breakfast each morning. Couldn't complain about the service - didn't need much. It was very close to our friends we were visiting in London so a great location. Tube station 5min walk away & only 30min into the city! Would recommend - cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jok419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during July 2013 as the location was convenient for O2 (straight trip from Kilburn to North Greenwich & only 36 mins).

Guest house was easy to find, clean, tidy and staff were pleasant and helpful. Will definitely stay again.

Highlight of our stay:
On arrival, we were told about the menu (they offer al a carte and bar menus) and we opted for a bar menu and received 15% discount as hotel guests. Pleasant surprise. As for the food it was excellent - tasty, hot and quick. Recommend the Cumberland sausages, mash and sweet onion gravy. Delicious!

Negatives:
Only things that could be changed to improve the experience are

1) more or better pillows - only had 1 each and they were a little flat. I dare say that if I had asked they would probably have provided more but was too tired to go downstairs once it was recognised as an issue.

2) towels in the room were too small.

Really minor issues and I would happily recommend as a short term stay location for central London.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndieLCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.9 mi away
Windmill Hotel
Windmill Hotel
#243 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Iverson B&B
#332 of 556 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.3 mi away
The William IV
The William IV
#314 of 556 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dawson House Hotel
Dawson House Hotel
#252 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Castle Bar
The Castle Bar
#141 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Croft Court Hotel
Croft Court Hotel
#72 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Lion

Property: The Black Lion
Address: 274 Kilburn High Road | Kilburn, London NW6 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lion Guesthouse is a beautiful period building based in Kilburn, North West London. We combine a bar and restaurant downstairs with stunning features and Grade II listed interior with 14 guesthouse rooms above. We are proud to offer affordable quality accommodation. The bar is friendly and popular and directly opposite London’s famous Tricycle Theatre. The bar also serves a range of premium dishes.Perfectly placed for your visit to London, we are very close to both Kilburn Tube Station and Brondesbury Stations. We are also well served by local buses that run from our door step to Marble Arch, Paddington & Victoria. The night bus from Central London also passes our guesthouse door, making travelling around London when staying with us very easy and your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Black Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Guesthouse Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing