We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of The Black Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Black Lion
Ranked #174 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

£49 for B&B in 0207 - what a bargain. Staff that do everything they can to help and a comfortable bed. Value for money? Oh yes! Would definitely stay here again no doubt. I guess it ain't the ritz but I paid £49 to stay in NW6. All good from my perspective.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jimmertee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for The Black Lion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here and the state of the building is terrible. The walls are peeling off and the bathroom smelled of smoke.

More importantly, the owners are highly unreliable. We asked them to call a taxi and the one that took us was an amateur who navigated using his phone and took the longest possible route to our destination. He did not have a taxometer either, but just told us a price.

After our stay, we started receiving spam email from the hotel's email account asking us for money for people who were supposedly stranded there.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone under its current management.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lndn_Traveller_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

We are very sorry that you were not happy with your stay at the Black Lion.

We wanted to address some of the points you made:

* All our room's are non smoking if you had suspected the previous guest had been smoking in the bathroom we would have apprecitaed it if we were informed at the time, we could have deep cleaned the bathroom for you and also made contact with the previous occupant who would have received a fine.
* We use the same mini cab firm for all our customers and this is the first time we have received a complaint, if you had wanted a taxi with a meter this should have been specified at the time and we could have booked you a black cab, when booking cars for our customers we always get a quote from the taxi firm and relay this to the customer, if this did not happen on this occasion i can only apologise as we do not your name or when you stayed I can not pursue this matter with the taxi company, however if you would like to get in touch with us I can most certainly do this.
* In the hallway's we are currently re-decorating and this should be the only area where the walls are peeling this is because we are in the process of re-decorating, our room's are checked on a daily basis and none of the internal room's have any peeling walls.
* Regrading the spam email our account was hacked over the weekend- we apologise to anyone who has received this email, we have tried to contact as many people as possible but as you can imagine this will take some time as we have 1000's of contacts, as soon as we realised we had been hacked we contacted our email provider.
We would appreciate it if at some point you would give us a call so we can discuss all the above matters and offer you some kind of compensation. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is quite a good location, it is 20 min. to central London on Jubilee line. Kilburn is sometimes a bit rough but otherwise convenient area for a short stay in LND. Pros: affordable rates for London, good location, nice park behind, big and clean rooms, wi-fi. Cons: noise from the street (although double glazing windows helped), what is a little disaster is breakfast - only a toast and a slice of ham/cheese (if you are faster than others) and perhaps tea if there is hot water in a pot?! this part was really disapointing considering you are paying for it, no eggs possible nothing... if there would be a choise of no breakfast, than go for it and eat better elsewhere. On the whole it is a good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stepan_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

What a disgraceful place.

So, I booked a deal with lastminute.com and it was all paid for and confirmed. Received the email. Sorted. Booked my trip and trains around it.

24 hours later Black Lion get in touch to say there was an error and the room's no longer available. It's evident what happened was they didn't like the deal I got and so they tried to bump me out. I complained to lastminute because it was all confirmed and I'd made my arrangements, who rang Sabrina the manager and hey presto it's all restored.

Only, it isn't. 24 hours later I get another email from lastminute to say I will now have to pay 10 times as much as the deal I originally got because it was an error.

Disgraceful scammers and hoodlums. Have nothing to do with this place.

Room Tip: Do not choose ANY room in this hotel: scammers
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RichardH267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bm202, Manager at The Black Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

This gentlemen Mr Hoskins misunderstood the room rate quoted and expected to pay £5 instead of the correct rate £55 per night.

When the misunderstanding was point out to Mr Hoskins he adopted an unreasonable approach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The staff is really helpfull and polite. Clean spacy rooms, bathroom very small .-(. Breakfast and food very good, nice and remarkable breakfast room. The street was a bit dirty and a lot of traffic. But the area is really intersting with theatre, cinema, restaurants and pubs. And !! the beautiful Kilburn Park right behind the hotel. Bus and tube are very very close, so the access to the city centre is easy and fast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ulrich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I live in the area so I frequently meet friends at the Black Lion pub for a catch up and maybe some food. So whilst I can't comment on the hotel, I can say that the pub is lovely. One of the nicest places to spend a relaxed evening or Sunday afternoon as it's rarely more that three quarters full. The ceiling is amazing and I love the decor in there, too.

Have eaten a roast and tapas-like dishes in there a couple of times - very nice, reasonably priced.

However, what prevents me giving the Black Lion 4 or even 5 stars is the drinks selection. I am sure that last year, they had beers and ales on tap and now it's not possible to get a drink from draught. They have Theakstons and a honey ale in a 500ml bottle - fine, but that is more expensive than draught and the selection is thus very limited. Similarly the wines are a bit overpriced for the quality.

However, I still think it's the best pub in the area - far better than the North London Tavern just across the road for ambience and a lovely interior.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AcchEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

My son and I needed accommodation close to Kilburn (visiting a college) and Wembley (gig at the arena). The Black Lion was ideally situated to tick both boxes.

Rooms are clean and airy (ceilings are really 14ft), and the facilities (tea/coffee, tv, wifi) are handy to have.

The toilet in the room we had was too small, contortionists would probably give it a 5!

Breakfast was perfect but the bar (restaurant) was so hot we had to bail out (would have preferred to relax as it is a really nice looking bar/library!)

Would definitely recommend and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rineanna_OSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.8 mi away
Cricklewood Lodge Hotel
Cricklewood Lodge Hotel
#642 of 1,072 in London
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windmill Hotel
Windmill Hotel
#254 of 563 in London
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charlotte Guest House
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 563 in London
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Brooklyn House
Brooklyn House
#175 of 563 in London
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dawson House Hotel
Dawson House Hotel
#283 of 563 in London
128 reviews
1.3 mi away
The William IV
The William IV
#349 of 563 in London
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Lion

Address: 274 Kilburn High Road | Kilburn, London NW6 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £49 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Lion Guesthouse is a beautiful period building based in Kilburn, North West London. We combine a bar and restaurant downstairs with stunning features and Grade II listed interior with 14 guesthouse rooms above. We are proud to offer affordable quality accommodation. The bar is friendly and popular and directly opposite London’s famous Tricycle Theatre. The bar also serves a range of premium dishes.Perfectly placed for your visit to London, we are very close to both Kilburn Tube Station and Brondesbury Stations. We are also well served by local buses that run from our door step to Marble Arch, Paddington & Victoria. The night bus from Central London also passes our guesthouse door, making travelling around London when staying with us very easy and your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Guesthouse Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing