We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value. Good stay”
Review of Beaconsfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beaconsfield Hotel
Ranked #1,002 of 1,068 Hotels in London
em_20017
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value. Good stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews we were dreading staying here. We had booked 2 double ensuite rooms.

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. Considering this is a 2 star accommodation above a pub near central London value for money is excellent and the hotel doesn't promise to be any more than this.

Parking on the street outside hotel is free evenings and weekends and hotel is near manor house tube station which is zone 3 tube.

Rooms are small and basically furnished. Each had a double bed with 1 pillow per person, tv, fridge, kettle, small box of cerea,l a caprisun and long life milk p person. Bathroom squeezed in where possible, v small but don't need bigger. Free wifi is provided to guests included in room rate.

Access to rooms btwn 1am-12pm is thru back entrance of metal staircases outside building.

The only gripe with the hotel was there was a tea bag down the plug hole which stopped the sink draining properly and when the room was cleaned during stay toothbrushes were obviously not moved as they were full of cleaning products. Minor really.

All things considered, for the price paid we would stay here again without doubt.

Please remember when booking this, you are paying next to nothing for accommodation in London and free/cheap parking. You really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em_20017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    20
    14
    16
    51
See reviews for
14
32
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I booked a room in this hotel for one night- I had a job interview in London and wasn't after anything fancy. When I arrived there, I was told that they double booked me- it was late at this stage and I was on my own unsure what to do. They assured me they would put me up in a sister hotel nearby- they paid for my taxi and said there would be no problems. When I arrived at the "sister hotel" they didn't have a clue what I was talking about. I had to fork out another 50 pounds, for a shabby room near Manor house. Don't stay here!

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank aine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This was horrendous, when we got there we were given a room with two single beds that were top and tail to each other even though we had paid the extra money for a double room; we were also charged to have a room with its own bathroom otherwise we were to use a communal one, but when we got there every room there had its own bathroom anyway!! when we went to ask the man at the reception about the room (reception was a little sign in the pub next to the cash machine) he just told us basically its tough about the extra money we were charged and if it wasn't for us having the papers from when we first booked we wouldn't have even got the room we paid for either, as he just kept arguing with us and every time I reverted back to the printed booking receipt I had he pretended he didn't understand. after along time of arguing our case he finally give in and let us have a double room we paid for. we were only staying for one night and it said that it included breakfast in the money we paid, as soon as we got in the room we found that breakfast was nothing more than one of those small variety packs of cornflakes that you used to have when you were kids! and you had to buy your own milk for it! in the morning me and my fiancé were rushing to get dressed to leave for 11am (you have to leave down a spiral fire exit as the pub is still closed) we were just about to brush our teeth at 10:45 ready to leave when we found that they had cut the water off!! good job we had bottled water! thank god I wasn't there longer than one night, never again

Room Tip: choose somewhere else if you want to be treated like a normal paying customer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chelle-Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

I would return to this hotel if it's my last possible option only. Tiny room, no place to put your stuff, no table, just a tray with a plate, a cup, a kettle and your small breakfast cereal box. To be short, a bad hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank nt-rus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We arrived in London during Christmas period. The owners were kind and helpful but the quality of the rooms are low (spartan): smelly carpet and dusty, uncomfortable; room is bright and warm, the bathroom normal. The metro is close enough and quickly joins the center. Breakfast is always and only with beans and eggs (no bacon), toast and yogurt.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShieldAgents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

room was smaller than a prison cell.one box of corn flakes one box of bran flakes,nothing for 3rd morning of stay. bed sheets looked used on arrival had to spend 3 nights getting drunk just to get asleep. no bbc on tv. if your thinking of staying think really hard

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Disgusting. All the communal bathrooms have a vile smell of sewerage. When I complained of this to the landlord I was told that this is a problem with the London sewerage system.
The room was gloomy and mouldy. The noise from the traffic all night was serious. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pembury Hotel
#897 of 1,068 in London
391 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#388 of 1,068 in London
209 reviews
Queens Hotel
#661 of 1,068 in London
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Bowden Court
Bowden Court
#796 of 1,068 in London
69 reviews
Venture Hostels
#703 of 1,068 in London
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaconsfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconsfield Hotel

Property: Beaconsfield Hotel
Address: 357-359 Green Lanes, London N4 1DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,002 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaconsfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes' walk from Finsbury Park, this hotel offers budget rooms, a cosy pub and free Wi-Fi. Manor House Tube Station and Harringay Rail Station are a 5-minute walk away. The traditional rooms at Beaconsfield Hotel have a TV, DVD player, biscuits and tea and coffee facilities. All rooms also have an en suite and a fridge. Housed in an attractive Victorian building, the on-site pub and restaurant offers traditional British cuisine and a wide range of drinks and snacks. Complimentary light breakfasts are available daily, and include cereal, orange juice, milk and tea/coffee. The Emirates Stadium, home to Arsenal FC, is a 5-minute drive from Beaconsfield. Islington is just 10 minutes' drive from the building. Airport transfers can be arranged by Golden Cars taxis, located next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beaconsfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing