We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #54 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just came back from London, we can't say enough of Cafe Royal Hotel, superb 5 star Hotel.Justst opened in December 2012, used to be an events place, famous to host events celebrities, (like David Bowie) the hotel has a completely new/antique fusion, while they have a completely new wing where you find reception, restaurant and Bar, they have kept Luis XVI decor and detailing.
The rooms are spacious,(40sqm) (we were at the Portland room, the most basic option) we find it very comfortable, flat screen TV, 2 arm chairs,
Bathroom is spacious too, great shower, (rain featured) Small tv incorporated in the mirror, so you can still watch the news while doing your make up, and strong blow dryer.
There is a coffee machine to make yourself a latte or an espresso, along with a variety of tea.
Complimentary water when the room is turn down.
The service was great, the door guys are smartly dressed, very helpful with directions and running up and down to get us taxis, specially one of them "Grant" was very good.
Go to the 'Grillroom' you are transported to the past, beautifully restored to its old splendor, you feel like Oscar Wilde is going to show up at any time. We had martinis, (we are fussy) they were perfectly done, we were there twice, both times the chef sent complimentary canapes.
You are steps away from Picadilly's square on Regent street, which is great for shopping, and you have the subway at Picadillys, right behind the Hotel you have an awesome supermarket "whole foods", where you can buy almost anything freshly made.
Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nala1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback and taking the time to pen your review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and the service throughout. I am particularly glad that our martini’s in the Grill Room were to your liking and that you were able to appreciate the spirit of this spectacular room.

We have taken great care to sensitively restore the historic features while ensuring comfort for the modern traveller and are happy to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms.

I very much look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the capital.

With warmest regards,

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you are looking for a luxury hotel,with great service,food and a super quite room in the centre of London,this hotel is for you,i can't fault it,its simply wonderful,nothing is too much trouble,great room service all night with great cakes:)

Room Tip: Ive stayed twice since the renovations and i dont think you need a tip as every room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Café Royal hotel with us. I am heartened by your kind comments regarding the service you received and am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to welcome you back to Café Royal hotel in the not too distant future.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A friend booked us at 'Cafe Royal'. As unbelievable as it sounds, it is a restored hotel right at Piccadilly Circus on Regent Street.

We were there for just a night, so we were not fussy about room location. However, the rooms are spacious for any big city, the bathroom facilities extremely well laid out and spacious. We fell in love with the place. The insulation of the windows is perfect. Not a sound of the roadsie.

The only sour point of our stay was that although we got there after 4:00 pm we had to wait 45 minutes for our room to be ready.

During the wait, we treated ourselves to wonderful English afternoon tea at the Ten Room, which is the main dining room.

Room Tip: If you want to see the merry go round of Piccadilly Circus, ask for a room over looking it. Might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mypace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you very much for posting your review of Café Royal hotel. I was delighted to learn your friend booked your stay and you enjoyed it very much. As your review has highlighted, our triple-glazed whisper quiet guestrooms provide a total sanctuary from bustling Piccadilly Circus and I was delighted to read they didn't fail to impress.

I can only apologise for your initial delay upon check-in, but am glad to read you took full advantage of our wonderful afternoon tea in the Ten Room during this time. I do hope this delay hasn't deterred you from returning and I look forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

With limited options I chose to book into this recently renovated London hotel. From the moment I walked in to the moment I left I was enthralled. The service was unparalleled, the location (get to shopping streets and museums on foot and the tube in 2 minutes away for a quick trip to St Paul's Cathedral for example) ideal, the room had all the latest design and technology but was still warm and welcoming. The chic bar is a real gem and the afternoon tea was nice. If this fits your budget you will be overjoyed.

Room Tip: Just refurbished, you will enjoy any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaJoe889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind words regarding your stay at Café Royal hotel, especially the service you received from my team. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that our central London location was to your liking. I am also very pleased to read your enjoyed our guestrooms and took advantage of the modern technology they offer.

Please do come and stay again in the near future.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Cafe Royal Hotel in London is unbeatable by its peers in terms of location,service,food quality and room comfort. The hotel is on Regent Street and only two steps from Picadilly Circus tube station. The rooms are quiet however, due to their triple glazing glass. The staff are professional and yet homey, friendly and knowledgeable. The newly renovated rooms are designed with customer comfort and pleasure in mind. We had two junior suites in two reservations and both time we couldn't have been happier with our rooms. Everything works well. We especially appreciate separate areas for shower, sinks (ours comes with two sinks) and toilets. This is a must in any good hotels when everyone needs to be ready in a short time in the morrnings.
We ate at their Cafe several times and was always pleased with both service and the food. Morning baked goods are first class as they are famous for pastry and coffee.
This is our choice hotel when we visit London fome now.

Room Tip: All rooms are big by London standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EELSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you very much for leaving such a warm review after your recent stay at Café Royal hotel. I was so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that our central London location and Junior Suite accommodation was so much to your liking. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed all the little touches we provide to make our guests stay just that extra bit special.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please do come and stay with us again in the near future so we can again meet your expectations or even exceed them.

My kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed here with the wife on a weekend recently during a short stopover from Paris. The location is great as it is close to Regent Street, West End, Chinatown, Oxford Street, Mayfair, Soho etc. But we were absolutely blown away by the interior and service of the hotel. From the minute we stepped into the hotel, we were warmly greeted by staff at the restaurant, concierge, front desk etc. We stayed on the 5th floor in a Mansard Deluxe Guestroom. It seems if you get the adjacent guestroom the 2 rooms can be combined together with a main door. The bathroom marble is excellent and the bathroom mirror comes with a built in TV! It's fantastic for watching TV from the elegant marble bath tub. The room and decor of wood finishing is fantastic, beds are cosy and the B&O stand tv is cool and chic. It swivels also via the remote control so you can watch it from various angles. However the in-house tv system is not fantastic and slow in changing channels, could do with a software upgrade to make it run smoother. Bedside lamps are touch activated. Complimentary Nespresso machine is provided along with complimentary GLASS bottles of water, still and sparkling. The evening service supplements this with another mini glass bottle of water. The bar is ok and the grill is greatly decorated. Food is excellent and you can hop outside to Regent street to have pastries at the hotel's cafe. Everything is elegantly and stylishly done. The staff is excellent and especially the doormen in trying to help us get a cab on such a busy area, they crossed over Regent Street to get one with full confidence and aplomb. I am definitely coming back here when the spa, pool etc is fully up and running, I just hope the prices stay the same because you really get fantastic value for this first year promotion rate! Grab it while you can, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Select rooms on higher floors, there isn't much of a view but you can open the windows can the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benbecks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of Café Royal hotel. I was delighted to read your first stay with us was so enjoyable and that our contemporary luxurious guestrooms were so well received. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed all the little extras we provide.

I have passed on your very kind comments to the team about the service you received. I was delighted your stay met with your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With warmest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just had a four night stay in the Westminster suite. Great view, great size and extremely comfortable. We liked the decor, it gave the room an airy feel and added to the pleasure. Fantastically quiet and good blackout curtains. B&O tv didn't impress me too much, I've often thought of buying one! The Cafe Royal has saved me a lump of cash!
The housekeeping staff are excellent, often they do not get the praise they deserve as they are rarely seen but I am shouting Well Done to the girls. A clean room is more important than a perfectly poached egg!
Talking of eggs, the breakfast is as you would expect from a hotel looking to compete with London,s top hotels. It's fresh, tasty and made to order, none of the lukewarm buffet rubbish.
Breakfast staff are on the ball, polite, chatty and a great start to the day.
Location is ideal, right smack dab in the middle of the action. We never used a taxi, bus or tube in the four days. Some great pubs and restaurants within a brief walk and chemists and convenience stores all close by.
If the price remains competitive and they have vacancies this will be my first choice next time we go to London. London prices for suites are typically £800 plus per night so getting a deal or an upgrade always decides where I stay, let's hope the Cafe Royal gets my business.
A big thank you to all concerned.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxthewax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and your kind review of Café Royal hotel. We are delighted to know that you experienced one of our Westminster Suites and enjoyed the beautiful views of London and the décor. We also appreciate your recognition of our housekeeping team, which will be our pleasure to share with them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Café Royal hotel in the not too distant future when our beautiful Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is open.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,077 in London
2,610 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#50 of 1,077 in London
971 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,077 in London
4,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#16 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,830 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 4DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Spa Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#52 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £337 - £824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing