We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic City Break”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #48 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Borup, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic City Break”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had 3 superb nights at Cafe Royal. The staff was very service orientated and especially towards our 9 year old daughter. It was great to have accommodation right in the middle of town (could not hear any traffice from the room). I can def. recommend to stay in this luxury hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwohlertlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Café Royal hotel and that the location and service were to your liking, I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the team.

I very much hope to welcome you and your daughter to Café Royal hotel again soon.

With kind regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    160
    52
    23
    9
See reviews for
265
442
53
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

“Located on Regent Street, it’s not in my usual preferred location (the area gets incredibly busy with tourists and shoppers), but I thought I’d give it a go to see if the new incarnation lived up to the old reputation. Inside, it is a world away from the central hustle bustle. For starters, I was surprised to find that the noise factor was none. Stayed on the second floor looking onto Regent – could see the city passing by – but never heard a sound. Interiors are stunning, a mix of original features and mid-century modernism. Rooms feel spacious and contemporary (apart from the six impressive and individual Historic Suites). My guestroom, though a double, felt like a suite with an extra vestibule before arriving at the bed and bathroom – which were extraordinarily designed (like the rest of the hotel, very minimalistic chic). For instance, the entire bathroom is marble – one piece simply flows throughout – it’s amazing. Even the sink stopper and bathtub were hand carved out of marble. I was concerned service wouldn’t match up to established classics like Claridge’s or The Dorchester, but the butlers are veterans of London’s top hotels and everything is quick, efficient and pre-emptive.”

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Café Royal hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in a location you wouldn't usually consider. As you note, we have sensitively restored many areas of historic interest, while ensuring comfort for the modern traveller, including triple glazing for complete quietness within the centre of London. Our guestrooms are some of the largest in London and we take pride that each feels almost like a suite or private apartment.

I am particularly thrilled to read that you found our service comparable to the traditional and established hotels in London, I will be happy to share this positive feedback with the team. I very much look forward to welcoming you again to Café Royal hotel soon.

With warmest regards,

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Sadly this great hotel is so great, that most People will be unable to afford it in the future.
The rooms are super spacious and "built to last", so that you do not get this feeling often encountered in London, that this carpeted floor has seen things. No here the floors are parquet and bathrooms all in marble!
Service is super, the team is international and very friendly. We even got a tour of the hotel before checking into our room - lovely to see all these old rooms restored to their former beauty.

It was definetely a stay to remenber and I am sure "Cafe Royale" will be there as a hotel for quite some time!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback and I am particularly glad to read that you enjoyed your tour of the hotel. The materials chosen for Café Royal hotel are of the highest quality, from the white Cararra marble bathrooms to the meticulously restored historic spaces and as you kindly observed “build to last”.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Café Royal hotel soon.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Along with my daughter and a friend, we were booked in for afternoon tea in the ten room. It was truly beautifull, and amazing experiance, the staff were very helpfull and smiling. We will be going back again, fully recommend it to anyone visiting London.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 154187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind words about our afternoon tea. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your experience and that the Ten Room team made you feel welcome. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ten Room at Café Royal hotel again soon.

With kind regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just came back from London, we can't say enough of Cafe Royal Hotel, superb 5 star Hotel.Justst opened in December 2012, used to be an events place, famous to host events celebrities, (like David Bowie) the hotel has a completely new/antique fusion, while they have a completely new wing where you find reception, restaurant and Bar, they have kept Luis XVI decor and detailing.
The rooms are spacious,(40sqm) (we were at the Portland room, the most basic option) we find it very comfortable, flat screen TV, 2 arm chairs,
Bathroom is spacious too, great shower, (rain featured) Small tv incorporated in the mirror, so you can still watch the news while doing your make up, and strong blow dryer.
There is a coffee machine to make yourself a latte or an espresso, along with a variety of tea.
Complimentary water when the room is turn down.
The service was great, the door guys are smartly dressed, very helpful with directions and running up and down to get us taxis, specially one of them "Grant" was very good.
Go to the 'Grillroom' you are transported to the past, beautifully restored to its old splendor, you feel like Oscar Wilde is going to show up at any time. We had martinis, (we are fussy) they were perfectly done, we were there twice, both times the chef sent complimentary canapes.
You are steps away from Picadilly's square on Regent street, which is great for shopping, and you have the subway at Picadillys, right behind the Hotel you have an awesome supermarket "whole foods", where you can buy almost anything freshly made.
Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nala1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for sharing such positive feedback and taking the time to pen your review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and the service throughout. I am particularly glad that our martini’s in the Grill Room were to your liking and that you were able to appreciate the spirit of this spectacular room.

We have taken great care to sensitively restore the historic features while ensuring comfort for the modern traveller and are happy to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms.

I very much look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the capital.

With warmest regards,

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you are looking for a luxury hotel,with great service,food and a super quite room in the centre of London,this hotel is for you,i can't fault it,its simply wonderful,nothing is too much trouble,great room service all night with great cakes:)

Room Tip: Ive stayed twice since the renovations and i dont think you need a tip as every room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Café Royal hotel with us. I am heartened by your kind comments regarding the service you received and am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to welcome you back to Café Royal hotel in the not too distant future.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
931 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A friend booked us at 'Cafe Royal'. As unbelievable as it sounds, it is a restored hotel right at Piccadilly Circus on Regent Street.

We were there for just a night, so we were not fussy about room location. However, the rooms are spacious for any big city, the bathroom facilities extremely well laid out and spacious. We fell in love with the place. The insulation of the windows is perfect. Not a sound of the roadsie.

The only sour point of our stay was that although we got there after 4:00 pm we had to wait 45 minutes for our room to be ready.

During the wait, we treated ourselves to wonderful English afternoon tea at the Ten Room, which is the main dining room.

Room Tip: If you want to see the merry go round of Piccadilly Circus, ask for a room over looking it. Might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mypace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review of Café Royal hotel. I was delighted to learn your friend booked your stay and you enjoyed it very much. As your review has highlighted, our triple-glazed whisper quiet guestrooms provide a total sanctuary from bustling Piccadilly Circus and I was delighted to read they didn't fail to impress.

I can only apologise for your initial delay upon check-in, but am glad to read you took full advantage of our wonderful afternoon tea in the Ten Room during this time. I do hope this delay hasn't deterred you from returning and I look forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#97 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#21 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Property: Hotel Cafe Royal
Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 5RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#47 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing