We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect....”
Review of Hotel Cafe Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Royal
Ranked #53 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We recently stayed in a Portland Room at the Cafe Royal for 7 nights for our honeymoon. It was absolutely perfect - from the location, size and layout of the room, food, the staff and their attention to detail. They gave us a champagne to celebrate the start of our honeymoon and throughout the whole week were very helpful in directing us and helping us plan our stay in London.

We would definitely stay here if we visit London again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your honeymoon stay at Café Royal hotel. I was delighted that you chose us for this very special occasion and to read of your satisfaction about our facilities and services from the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to Café Royal hotel on many more occasions.

With warmest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

My sister treated me to a night here before the Chelsea Flower Show and we both loved every minute. Our room was quiet, comfortable and extremely well thought out. The pool was not open but we were offered an alternative at a nearby hotel. All the staff (without exception) went out of their way to look after us and within our sanctuary it was hard to believe Regent Street was outside the lobby. Don't miss the opportunity to have a drink in the refurbished grill room...it has to be seen to be believed.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank sfd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Café Royal hotel with us. I am heartened by your kind comments regarding the service you received and am delighted you enjoyed the serene quietness of our guestrooms and our exceptionally central London location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future, when the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is open and extend our heartfelt thanks to your sister for choosing Café Royal hotel.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had 3 superb nights at Cafe Royal. The staff was very service orientated and especially towards our 9 year old daughter. It was great to have accommodation right in the middle of town (could not hear any traffice from the room). I can def. recommend to stay in this luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwohlertlarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Café Royal hotel and that the location and service were to your liking, I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the team.

I very much hope to welcome you and your daughter to Café Royal hotel again soon.

With kind regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

“Located on Regent Street, it’s not in my usual preferred location (the area gets incredibly busy with tourists and shoppers), but I thought I’d give it a go to see if the new incarnation lived up to the old reputation. Inside, it is a world away from the central hustle bustle. For starters, I was surprised to find that the noise factor was none. Stayed on the second floor looking onto Regent – could see the city passing by – but never heard a sound. Interiors are stunning, a mix of original features and mid-century modernism. Rooms feel spacious and contemporary (apart from the six impressive and individual Historic Suites). My guestroom, though a double, felt like a suite with an extra vestibule before arriving at the bed and bathroom – which were extraordinarily designed (like the rest of the hotel, very minimalistic chic). For instance, the entire bathroom is marble – one piece simply flows throughout – it’s amazing. Even the sink stopper and bathtub were hand carved out of marble. I was concerned service wouldn’t match up to established classics like Claridge’s or The Dorchester, but the butlers are veterans of London’s top hotels and everything is quick, efficient and pre-emptive.”

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Café Royal hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in a location you wouldn't usually consider. As you note, we have sensitively restored many areas of historic interest, while ensuring comfort for the modern traveller, including triple glazing for complete quietness within the centre of London. Our guestrooms are some of the largest in London and we take pride that each feels almost like a suite or private apartment.

I am particularly thrilled to read that you found our service comparable to the traditional and established hotels in London, I will be happy to share this positive feedback with the team. I very much look forward to welcoming you again to Café Royal hotel soon.

With warmest regards,

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Sadly this great hotel is so great, that most People will be unable to afford it in the future.
The rooms are super spacious and "built to last", so that you do not get this feeling often encountered in London, that this carpeted floor has seen things. No here the floors are parquet and bathrooms all in marble!
Service is super, the team is international and very friendly. We even got a tour of the hotel before checking into our room - lovely to see all these old rooms restored to their former beauty.

It was definetely a stay to remenber and I am sure "Cafe Royale" will be there as a hotel for quite some time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback and I am particularly glad to read that you enjoyed your tour of the hotel. The materials chosen for Café Royal hotel are of the highest quality, from the white Cararra marble bathrooms to the meticulously restored historic spaces and as you kindly observed “build to last”.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Café Royal hotel soon.

With kindest regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Along with my daughter and a friend, we were booked in for afternoon tea in the ten room. It was truly beautifull, and amazing experiance, the staff were very helpfull and smiling. We will be going back again, fully recommend it to anyone visiting London.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 154,187,048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your kind words about our afternoon tea. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your experience and that the Ten Room team made you feel welcome. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ten Room at Café Royal hotel again soon.

With kind regards

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just came back from London, we can't say enough of Cafe Royal Hotel, superb 5 star Hotel.Justst opened in December 2012, used to be an events place, famous to host events celebrities, (like David Bowie) the hotel has a completely new/antique fusion, while they have a completely new wing where you find reception, restaurant and Bar, they have kept Luis XVI decor and detailing.
The rooms are spacious,(40sqm) (we were at the Portland room, the most basic option) we find it very comfortable, flat screen TV, 2 arm chairs,
Bathroom is spacious too, great shower, (rain featured) Small tv incorporated in the mirror, so you can still watch the news while doing your make up, and strong blow dryer.
There is a coffee machine to make yourself a latte or an espresso, along with a variety of tea.
Complimentary water when the room is turn down.
The service was great, the door guys are smartly dressed, very helpful with directions and running up and down to get us taxis, specially one of them "Grant" was very good.
Go to the 'Grillroom' you are transported to the past, beautifully restored to its old splendor, you feel like Oscar Wilde is going to show up at any time. We had martinis, (we are fussy) they were perfectly done, we were there twice, both times the chef sent complimentary canapes.
You are steps away from Picadilly's square on Regent street, which is great for shopping, and you have the subway at Picadillys, right behind the Hotel you have an awesome supermarket "whole foods", where you can buy almost anything freshly made.
Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nala1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisSailer, General Manager at Hotel Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback and taking the time to pen your review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and the service throughout. I am particularly glad that our martini’s in the Grill Room were to your liking and that you were able to appreciate the spirit of this spectacular room.

We have taken great care to sensitively restore the historic features while ensuring comfort for the modern traveller and are happy to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms.

I very much look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the capital.

With warmest regards,

Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#48 of 1,076 in London
935 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,076 in London
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,076 in London
820 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,076 in London
4,119 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,076 in London
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Royal

Address: 68 Regent Street, London W1B 4DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Family Hotel in London
#23 Spa Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
#51 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £331 - £672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cafe Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining architectural heritage with contemporary design, Cafe Royal has been reincarnated as a luxury hotel in the heart of London's West End with the elegance of Mayfair to the west and the creativity of Soho to the east. Grand historic areas have been sensitively restored while 160 guestrooms, including 49 suites and six signature suites have been created in a contemporary yet refined style. Our guestrooms start from approximately 35 sq m / 377 sq ft to 212 sq m / 2,281sq ft with every room presenting itself as a suite. Continuing its celebrated legacy, Hotel Cafe Royal offers a selection of restaurants and bars for guests to enjoy. At the heart of the hotel, the Ten Room offers British informal dining all-day, while the Green Bar is the perfect place to relax and unwind with a cocktail. Restored to revive the ornate Louis XVI decor and detailing, the iconic Oscar Wilde Bar (formerly the legendary Grill Room, originally established in 1865), is now the place to enjoy Champagne, cocktails and a light menu of British dishes and live entertainment on select evenings. The Cafe, on Regent Street, revives the European tradition of cafe culture. To complete the experience, the Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Centre is an urban retreat in the centre of the capital spanning over 1,200 sq m / 13,000 sq ft featuring a large lap pool, sauna and Hammam/steam room and offering a range of signature treatments. Reflecting a core vision to harmoniously unite the four natural elements of nature, Akasha features four corresponding spaces; lounge/earth, spa/water, gym/fire, yoga/air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cafe Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Royal Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing